Chevron Left
Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation(으)로 돌아가기

일리노이대학교 어버너-섐페인캠퍼스의 Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
678개의 평가
152개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

최상위 리뷰

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

필터링 기준:

Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation의 146개 리뷰 중 126~146

교육 기관: Claudia S

Feb 05, 2019

I would have preferred to be slightly shorter and to the point. For me was a little difficult to comprehend all the words at the beginning.

교육 기관: Dawnae S

Jul 12, 2019

I enjoyed the teaching and breaking down of answers to understand some investments

교육 기관: Muhammad S K

Nov 07, 2017

Too long to grasp understanding of material presented. Prof is top notch though

교육 기관: Giulio P

Feb 16, 2020

Really usefull and really clear!

교육 기관: Francis D

Oct 07, 2018

Very good class. Thank you

교육 기관: Mahmoud E A

Nov 16, 2018

too long.

교육 기관: COLLIN M

Apr 22, 2017

Not what I was expecting as part of the program at all. Being more a visual learner I had a very hard time with how the math was covered in this in the course, I need a slide that is specifically V is XXXX, R is XXXX so I have a reference point and I found with most examples given I was having to go back and forth between multiple items and transcripts to gt what I needed. The other thing that I think would have helped me would have been less presenting and maybe a couple of quizzes for knowledge checks vs the pause and think items that were included. I did like Scott's humor, or at least humor attempts overall and I think a live class with him would be better than video. Additionally I felt that the course was a bit out date already, it was recorded in 2015 and I think I would have liked it more if had only been a year behind vs. a year and a half.

교육 기관: Rohit M

Jul 18, 2020

Too much content in a single course. Some topics are off the track and not explained properly as discussed before.

교육 기관: Michail V

Nov 11, 2016

Ok up to Module 3. Module 4 very convoluted.

교육 기관: Nistha C

Jul 18, 2017

very long

교육 기관: Shahid N

Nov 17, 2019

The professor needs to use more examples with illustrations. I thought I could get more from the videos. There were so many places where I felt he just read the slide without explaining the formula or concept with numbers of figures etc.

교육 기관: Terng Z W

Aug 15, 2020

It is way too long. Things can be summarize further to get the learning objectives across. Please.

교육 기관: Vinícius S C

May 07, 2018

The professor could be more straight to the po

교육 기관: Emi K

Aug 04, 2019

Course lectures are too long between quizzes

교육 기관: Remco B

Feb 12, 2018

Good content, overly talkative instructor.

교육 기관: Murtaza P

Nov 14, 2017

W

a

y

t

o

o

l

e

n

g

t

h

y

a

n

d

d

r

y

!

교육 기관: Manohar A

Dec 03, 2018

I did not like the course. I am a visual learner and learn by reading and seeing. Most of the times important material (like formula, conclusions etc.) were left out from the course material. Formulas are given without explanations of individual components. It means that you have to go back to lectures and listen really hard to understand. Maybe the teachers should have given a text book instead.

I don't understand the concept of peer graded assignments - seems to me an absolute waste of everyones time

교육 기관: Jason D

Feb 05, 2019

Instructor know's his stuff, but there are sooooo many "ahh" and "umm". It is impossible to follow. I expect better from U of I. Really ashamed. I counted it up and on average in one video he says it about every 10-12 seconds.

교육 기관: Svitlana N

Jul 21, 2020

Poorly taught and overcomplicated, I have been in finance for 6 years and this stuff is much more simple in real life. If you just want to stick to academia, this is a perfect course.

교육 기관: Tarek B

Jul 30, 2017

Professor goes off-topic very often and is not concise. Poor quality in general.

교육 기관: Natalie C

Oct 30, 2018

This course is a shameful mess.