Chevron Left
Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
65개의 평가
23개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course provides an introduction to the Java language and object-oriented programming, including an overview of Java syntax and how it differs from a language like Python. Students will learn how to write custom Java classes and methods, and how to test their code using unit testing and test-driven development. Topics include basic data structures like Arrays and ArrayLists and overloading methods....

최상위 리뷰

DD
2021년 10월 24일

This course has enlightened me on how to write and program tasks using JavaScript software. Of course, I had to learn certain methods mentioned in the homework assignments using external sources.

VK
2021년 5월 11일

The course is very good, however it would be really nice to have at least one lecture about Object-Oriented Design in it.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming의 24개 리뷰 중 1~24

교육 기관: Yingying G

2021년 4월 10일

There are so many inconsistencies that require extra student efforts but not to the benefits of the course. For example, a concept or syntax is introduced in a homework but will only be introduced in the chapter after this homework. There are also some minor errors in the homework, e.g. in HW4, the given method is 'public int get(index)' but when you run it in Codio, it will only pass if you realize the element in 'arr' is an Integer and change the method name to 'public Integer get(index)'. This might not be a big deal for an experienced SDE, but costs too much meaningless time for Java beginners which are who this course is aimed at.

교육 기관: Patrick R

2021년 3월 30일

Course is not yet ready for prime time. The autograders have several bugs, and too few students have taken this course series for it to be fixed, making for a frustrating learning experience. Recommend another Java class until Penn gets this sorted.

교육 기관: Sepideh A

2021년 5월 21일

It is a great practical introduction course with challenging assignments.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2021년 4월 6일

Cool course, a lot of pain through one of the homeworks!

교육 기관: Андрей П

2021년 3월 29일

Good for beginners. Despite the fact that this is the third course in specialization, the initial assignments are quite simple, which makes it easy to get familiar with syntax of language before you dive into OOP.

교육 기관: Veronika K

2021년 5월 12일

The course is very good, however it would be really nice to have at least one lecture about Object-Oriented Design in it.

교육 기관: Maxwell F

2021년 9월 6일

Fantastic course that teaches quite a bit about object oriented programming. Learn about how Java handles variables, arrays, casting, polymorphism, and more.

My only gripe was the final homework on week 3 had a few problems that made it extremely annoying to complete. You must fix the public static void main function in the homework download, as it's messed up. Also when handling packages the compiler doesn't see the package – so I got a class not found error. Lastly though the program tests perfectly on Eclipse, you must cast your variable in assertEquals which was annoying.

교육 기관: Gabriel T

2021년 11월 24일

As is the case with all of the Penn Engineering courses that I have tried thus far, there is an exceptional level of polish in the way that this course was constructed. The assignments have all been very helpful in furthering my understanding of the Java programming language. While the course can be initially very daunting if you are coming from a Python background, the material becomes increasingly intuitive as you go through the course. If you get stuck with anything, the Discussion Forums always have a plethora of helpful staff and student answers that can help point you in the right direction.

교육 기관: Vahid U

2021년 11월 29일

Such a helpful course, definitely recommended. The instructor knows what he is talking about and demonstrate the material in detail. Also, I would like to appreciate tutor's willingness to answer the questions via the "Discussion Forums". Best of luck!

교육 기관: Daniel D

2021년 10월 24일

This course has enlightened me on how to write and program tasks using JavaScript software. Of course, I had to learn certain methods mentioned in the homework assignments using external sources.

교육 기관: Ina P

2021년 11월 21일

Amazing course with great examples, and wasn't too easy. Learned Java Basics and happy with the new knowledge.

교육 기관: Jay D

2021년 10월 23일

very good for beginners and great level of assignments

교육 기관: Kenta N

2021년 8월 23일

Very clear explanation! The best Java intro!

교육 기관: Himanshu G

2021년 7월 12일

Very good to start Java with!

교육 기관: Dr G S

2021년 6월 12일

The course content is good. But instead of codio, if you implement Peer Review system it will be very useful to all. In case, instead of codio, if the students are assigned Java program and asked to submit with in the dead line, it will be a Good opportunity for learning Java for all. Because codio system will reduce number of passing students. Simple Quiz and Peer Review process is enough. This is my humble suggestion.

Dr.G.Srinivasan

교육 기관: Cecilia P T

2021년 2월 5일

Codio gave me a lot of issues with saying I had errors on lines of codes that were provided in the assignment - lines that I didn't touch. It was frustrating to deal with. This course was definitely more challenging than the previous two. I wish the Staff were able to explain our errors to us or a fellow classmate in the forum. It was lonely and I spent hours on the internet trying to teach myself Java.

교육 기관: Laura M

2021년 4월 26일

A lot of people are complaining about issues with Codio - but I really didn't have any of that. There was a glitch in my codio that I asked to get corrected, but it was corrected right away. If anything, having to struggle with codio was a learning process for me. Now I feel like I understand debugging much better.

The programming HW assignments were SUPER helpful. I learned a lot! Thanks!

교육 기관: Yu L

2021년 7월 24일

The course is a very practical introduction to Java - especially when you're already familiar with OOP in Python. The coding demonstration videos are extremely helpful and I learned the most by coding alongside the professor. The course assignments are engaging, despite some minor discrepancies of my local environment and the grading environment which took some debugging time.

교육 기관: Anne L

2021년 4월 5일

Great course to learn object oriented programming in Java. It was nice that testing was included. Could probably go a little deeper into casting and collections.

교육 기관: Karthikeya E

2021년 12월 3일

Explanation about Object Oriented Programming concepts is Awesome.

교육 기관: Dhruv M

2021년 4월 5일

Course videos and lecture slides were easy to follow.

교육 기관: Angelie X

2021년 10월 17일

Although this is a supposed to be an intro course to Java and I like how concise it is, I personally feel like the fast pace doesn't help laying a strong foundation and I felt confused about concepts while doing the exercises and had to do additional research. The code demonstration makes everything look easy and I feel like I need a more in-depth course to really understand Java and be good at it.

교육 기관: alex Z

2021년 7월 28일

hard

교육 기관: Ziyao C

2021년 6월 1일

If you did 200 + Leetcode, the week 1 and week 2 classes will be too simple for you. I did not learn much. I hope it explains concepts deeper