Chevron Left
Java Programming: Principles of Software Design(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Java Programming: Principles of Software Design 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,404개의 평가

강좌 소개

Solve real world problems with Java using multiple classes. Learn how to create programming solutions that scale using Java interfaces. Recognize that software engineering is more than writing code - it also involves logical thinking and design. By the end of this course you will have written a program that analyzes and sorts earthquake data, and developed a predictive text generator. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use sorting appropriately in solving problems; 2. Develop classes that implement the Comparable interface; 3. Use timing data to analyze empirical performance; 4. Break problems into multiple classes, each with their own methods; 5. Determine if a class from the Java API can be used in solving a particular problem; 6. Implement programming solutions using multiple approaches and recognize tradeoffs; 7. Use object-oriented concepts including interfaces and abstract classes when developing programs; 8. Appropriately hide implementation decisions so they are not visible in public methods; and 9. Recognize the limitations of algorithms and Java programs in solving problems. 10. Recognize standard Java classes and idioms including exception-handling, static methods, java.net, and java.io packages....

최상위 리뷰

OI

2019년 8월 7일

My confidence level in Java programming has grown significantly since completing this specialisation. It gave me the necessary knowledge and practice I need to take up a role as a software engineer.

VS

2020년 5월 3일

Well designed and well structured with the packages, resources, programming exercises and practice quiz. I appreciate the team's hard work in delivering good knowledge on the subject efficiently.

필터링 기준:

Java Programming: Principles of Software Design의 239개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Abdelrhman B

2019년 11월 26일

1

교육 기관: Bryan Y

2017년 1월 17일

Pacing of this course was all over.

Interface and Abstract classes were introduced and the material and lessons were easy to follow. Sorting using bubble sort, caparable, and comparator operators were also easy to follow. The final week presented topics on exception and try/catch/finally, but provided no practical programs for a student to write to ensure the topics were understood.

The problem was in week 3. N-Grams meant to teach some very important concepts about Markov and predictive text, but failed somewhat since the quizes were not clear and the grading a bit harsh. In the quizes, problems were presented and you either had the right output or you did not. There was no checks available that allowed a student to figure out why code produced the wrong output. In other modules (and courses in this series), input was provided and expected out based on the input was provided to verify code was working correctly. Not in section 3 - you wrote the code, took the quiz, and if you got the answer wrong were left scratching your head as to why, since there were really no means to check.

Don't mistake this feedback as saying the course was bad - it was actually quite good. If the course material for week 3 is updated to include clearer instructions and some better checks to ensure code is working correctly then I will change my review from a four star (it's more 3.5 than 4) to a five star.

교육 기관: Четверухин А А

2019년 1월 10일

Nice course which logically ends the series of four. Finally explains why different duke.edu libraries were used as well as BlueJ, which seemed to be strange choise at the beginning. I've finally understood why interfaces and abstract classes are important and how to use it. I decrease the mark to 4 only due to week 3 tests unclarity around hashmap - I've never worked it out how to get to the test results on hashmap size - it was working fine on small samples, but not matching the answers which were in the quiz for the big files which took a lot of time from me and didn't bring satisfaction.

교육 기관: Will C

2020년 7월 16일

I really enjoyed this course and learned a ton. However, I felt like there were a few things that could have been covered in the lectures that were expected in the assignments. I had to dig through many years of forum posts to find help and while I understand that it's helpful to do my own research, it felt like a lot of wasted time sometimes. Finally, in week 3, the module on WordGrams was really difficult and extremely rewarding to complete. And then it wasn't even on the graded quiz!! That was disappointing.

교육 기관: ANDRII L

2019년 12월 26일

Generally, I like this course. The tasks are very interesting and require to spend some time on them. But what I don't like is IDE that teachers use in this course. I also think that whole week 3 should be redesigned, especially requirements, they are not very readable. You should add some testing utility or some cases to test and verify student output with teachers.

교육 기관: Itai E

2019년 7월 21일

This course really increased the difficulty in Week 3 and gave poorly written instructions to go along with it. Overall, the course was very interesting and I learned a lot from it. Anyone who is interested in expanding their Java programming skills and write "neater" or "better code, this course is for you.

교육 기관: Nicholas B

2018년 4월 12일

Great course in general, but some of the exercises / quizzes could be a bit more precise in what they are looking for. Lots of time debugging, lots of time in forums trying to figure out what was wrong, only to find that we were using the wrong project / class because it wasn't clear which one they required.

교육 기관: William G

2020년 10월 28일

There are some super cool concepts in here, but one of the modules in this course (module 3) was messy. Even the instructors have agreed that some lectures should be improved upon. That module was so messy that although I managed to finish, I felt like I need to relearn the concepts entirely somewhere else.

교육 기관: Aarya P

2020년 8월 15일

A really nice experience learning the exact use of the object oriented style of programming. Different concepts like abstraction and interface are well taught. A little bit improvement can be done in the assignment section otherwise its great and also week 4 could be a little more interesting.

교육 기관: Mary S

2018년 9월 24일

Decent. Moved kinda slowly, but it's for beginners, so what did I expect? This is a nice progression of classes for someone with no previous programming experience; if you have previous experience, in another language, you may wish to start with an intermediate course.

교육 기관: Michael C

2016년 9월 12일

Good examples -- good basic instruction in videos, but most of the value is in working the exercises which use some fairly interesting real world scenarios. And some of the direction is as vague as specs you might encounter as well.

교육 기관: Muhammad F B J

2020년 5월 21일

The idea of using interfaces and abstract classes were not covered sufficiently in my opinion. That said, I was still satisfied with the content being covered. Instructions on some of the exercises could have been better explained

교육 기관: Gianluca B

2020년 7월 8일

It is a good course, but I believe it needs to be updated and that some quiz need reviewing. Sometimes it's really hard to understand what an exercise is asking you to do and there isn't much support.

교육 기관: Goodwill T K

2020년 1월 1일

I could not get the Answers to the practice quiz of week 3

as my first line differed from the question first line.

the first two words were correct but the rest differed. MarkovWordOne.java

교육 기관: Devul N

2017년 9월 1일

A very challenging course with a lot of assignments, great professors and discussion forum. But I feel like the instructors could have given the instructions more clearly on the assignment

교육 기관: Ridesh R

2020년 8월 23일

The Course is Good. But Week 3 is so hard to understand and the assignments are frustrating and it took long time to complete. Week 3 must be made easier......

교육 기관: Sergio R

2021년 7월 7일

I would like to get more help with the markov and wordgrams excercises, they are very complicate and you are not given the necessary time to explain them

교육 기관: Aistis R

2016년 1월 27일

i liked everything except some of the quizzes since some questions were unclear or wrong (but still, I was a beta tester, so all great) - thank you!

교육 기관: Anik S

2020년 8월 3일

In week 3, the Markov theorem should be explained more clearly. It was not clear enough to understand by only listening to the explanation.

교육 기관: Mr W

2020년 7월 28일

This was really a tough course. It made me to learn clean coding by implementing blocks of codes in an organized way without redundancy.

교육 기관: Shaun R

2019년 2월 19일

The third week was a great challenge and, while frustrating at times, gave me more to think about as I'm developing as a programmer.

교육 기관: Shridhar S

2017년 8월 18일

The assignments get really cluttered sometimes and week 4's final quiz can certainly improve. Other than that, awesome course! :D

교육 기관: Anna M

2020년 4월 24일

A great, challenging course for a beginner. I graded 4 stars as there are no programming exercises in the last week.

교육 기관: Jeff M

2019년 3월 19일

Good class and good education. My only objection is that some of the practice tests seemed unusually difficult.

교육 기관: 廖灿

2017년 10월 12일

not suitable for new beginners without any programming basis; teaching is good though.