Chevron Left
The Kennedy Half Century(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Kennedy Half Century 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
466개의 평가

강좌 소개

When John F. Kennedy entered the presidential limousine at Love Field in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963, he began his ride into history. That journey continues even today and we call it the Kennedy legacy. This course will explore the Presidency, assassination, and lasting legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Students will learn how JFK’s life, administration, and tragic death have influenced the general public, the media, and each of the nine U.S. presidents who followed. Understanding the Kennedy legacy and being able to identify elements of his legacy within the context of modern politics helps understand many of the vexing problems that developed over the last half century as well as many of the challenges that confront us today. November 22, 1963 was so powerful a moment that in the fifty years since the assassination, every U.S. President that followed JFK has used Kennedy’s words and actions in an effort to craft their own political image. Why does Kennedy’s influence persist, and will it continue? What are the effects? We’ll address these questions and more as we explore The Kennedy Half Century. Follow on Twitter: @JFKclass....

최상위 리뷰

JN

2017년 7월 4일

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

KB

2015년 10월 21일

I really loved this class! Professor Sabato taught this class so eloquently and so well. I have studied the JFK Presidency and Assassination for years, and I loved learning more from this course.

필터링 기준:

The Kennedy Half Century의 133개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Kleber L d S

2020년 6월 15일

Ótimo.

교육 기관: Poliane m a

2020년 9월 23일

Great

교육 기관: Syed M Z T

2020년 5월 19일

Good

교육 기관: mansi g

2018년 10월 2일

easy

교육 기관: li w

2016년 6월 26일

well

교육 기관: Jonny J

2017년 1월 25일

Mm

교육 기관: Daniel B

2017년 3월 24일

i

교육 기관: Todd D F

2015년 11월 16일

V

교육 기관: Windye B

2021년 2월 13일

I think that from the outset it should have been made clearer that most of the course content is based on the instructor's book so that the student could decide between the options of reading the book either before/during the course for a more in-depth analysis or selecting a different option of learning about JFK from another more unbiased source of information.

With that said, the course was still very informative, and the author presented the information from an angle that combined both personal observation and secondary research, which in my opinion made the presentation of material more interesting and memorable than if the instructor had instead served as a narrator who was simply reading off lists of facts about JFK.

Overall, I would recommend this course as a good introduction to the overall history of JFK's life and lasting legacy.

교육 기관: laura k

2020년 8월 3일

I very much enjoyed the course. It was very informative especially in how Kennedy's legacy has affected those Presidents who came after him. My only complaint about the course was that every once in a while I felt it was more of an advertisement for the Kennedy Half Century Book and Website. I have the book and have visited the cite, but I don't think the course needs so many references to getting the book. What I think would be best is that maybe parts of the book become essential readings within the course. I don't like to be pushed to buy something and so many references to the book made me feel like I was being pushed to buy. I did really enjoy everything else. Thanks so much for the hard work that went into putting this together.

교육 기관: Thomas J

2020년 5월 22일

The subject matter and the presentation was very good. However, I agree with others that the course was really just a collection of videos that all together make up an interesting documentary. Not really what I would expect from a Coursera course especially if you pay for the certificate. Additionally, the constant reminder to buy the book makes the course much like an informercial at times.

교육 기관: Gareth H

2021년 12월 15일

E​xcellent content. I would agree with other reviewers that it is a bit of a selling job for the presenter's book, but the content is interesting. However, given the recent biography (pt 1) of Kennedy by Frederik Logevall, which is excellent, there is now more up-to-date analysis.

교육 기관: Maria G

2020년 7월 12일

It was a well organised and excellently delivered course.Professor Sabato was extremely engaging and he provides a wide range of historical sources which help make the topic come alive. You just want to keep going on with the next lesson

교육 기관: Muhammad M A

2015년 9월 3일

Nice course, it's content is highly tied to it's title. It gives you an overview over the US presidents since JFK not only him, also some information before he took the leadership.

You can finish it in 5 days or less !

교육 기관: MARGARET H

2020년 7월 21일

The instructor said Obama lived in the Philippines. It was Indonesia. So this makes me wonder about the veracity of his book. However, he does seem to have a deep love of Kennedy, and this was fun to hear.

교육 기관: Tamsin B

2020년 8월 29일

A little heavy on the sales pitch for the prof's book but nice to see video footage etc used. A little skippy on the more recent presidents but I guess that is fairly likely as time goes on

교육 기관: Craig P

2020년 6월 30일

I loved the course and learnt so much! It would get a 5-star review, if not for the completely over-the-top marketing of the book in the obvious search for additional sales.

교육 기관: Abdulrahman H

2017년 1월 21일

The course is really really great, the reason that i gave it 4 stars not 5 is only because the professor has been frequently promoting for his personal book!

교육 기관: salamades

2016년 8월 22일

A nice course about Kennedy. I didn't know much about him and this course make me able a little more to understand his qualities and his drawbacks.

교육 기관: Robert D

2020년 8월 22일

Excellent and thorough detail from beginning to end. Would have given 5 if not for the constant sales 'plugs' for the book.

교육 기관: Valentina B

2016년 1월 24일

History made easy, helps understanding a lot of the things going on now in the scenario of politics in America

교육 기관: Tom D

2019년 6월 14일

No other students took the course with me, so there was no interaction with students o professor.

교육 기관: Maria K

2018년 1월 3일

It was interesting to learn about the influence of Kennedy.

교육 기관: Joan E F

2015년 8월 31일

E

교육 기관: Vicky

2017년 10월 31일

Professor Sabato explains everything in a really nice manner, slowly enough to not get confused and fast enough to not get bored. The course in itself is well organised and the material provided (videos, photos, recordings etc) is a "nice touch". I am really glad I followed the course and I would recommend it to anyone, since the topic is important not just for humanities students. Also the workload is so little that allows even the busiest of you to follow it, I promise! I had fun and I cannot wait to buy the book. Thank you!