Chevron Left
Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
498개의 평가
160개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

A challenging but fascinating topic on the way to achieving self-knowledge is the unconscious. For well over a century, psychologists, philosophers, and many others have posited a level of mentality that is not immediately open to introspection; some would even say that certain unconscious elements cannot be known through introspection. This course will examine some of the most influential ideas about the unconscious starting with the work of Sigmund Freud, and follow the development of theories of the unconscious all the way to present research in experimental psychology. But be warned: some of the things you may learn about your unconscious mind may be surprising, and possibly even disturbing! --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

최상위 리뷰

DB
2020년 10월 5일

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

IH
2019년 5월 18일

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

필터링 기준:

Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Unconscious의 162개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Eldon T

2019년 2월 17일

I would give this course a five star review but for the subtle mind manipulation technique employed when conflating Trump's immigration policy with mass genocide. There is a difference between locking your doors at night, fencing your property, and intentionally attacking and brutalizing fellow human beings. America is a country of laws and there are many opportunities that arise as a result of justice for all. As a country of laws, America has a right and even a duty to both welcome those in need and those who wish to improve their lives while at the same time insisting they do so legally. America welcomes immigrants that come through the door. If you think this is wrong, then open up your home to anyone and everyone who wishes to share whatever you have including your spouse. If you have an opinion, express it as an opinion--don't just sneak it into a collection of photos and quotes that are repugnant as though it is equally and factually immoral!

교육 기관: Imjad H

2019년 5월 19일

Amazing experience of blended learning. I think this course is a must do for anyone with a penchant for Neuroscience, Behavioral medicine and Phiolosophy. What are we; but rational beings.

교육 기관: Arya K

2020년 8월 18일

Very insightful course, I really enjoyed it. It also gave a lot of extra source material that was very helpful in getting a better understanding of concepts.

교육 기관: Rachel M C

2019년 6월 6일

I found this course to be helpful personally and the information a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to -being knowledgable, humble and humorous- and the video editing highlighted his points as effective visual learning tools. I hope to take the other two courses in the near future.

교육 기관: Dave H

2019년 4월 8일

Excellent course! Dr. Mitchell Green's discussion of how somatic markers can be used as a practical and rational guide to decision making is highly informative. According to Green, somatically marked objects or events elicit physical-emotional responses that may reveal deep seated needs and desires. Such self knowledge is sometimes difficult to access through direct introspection. Combining individualized responses from somatic markers within the framework of subjective expected utility theory provides a novel approach to gaining self knowledge and potentially improving personal decision making. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Kathleen R

2019년 2월 10일

Professor Green has once again put together a well-structured, well-delivered, and highly interesting and relevant course that I enthusiastically recommend to all learners and not just those with a fascination with philosophy. By offering this course in three depth levels, Professor Green appeals to divergent learner interests and styles and he infuses fresh life into topics that for non-philosophers can easily become tedious.

교육 기관: Lynn D

2020년 10월 27일

Great course. Clearly presented and enjoyable. Professor Green was easy to understand and had a good presentation style. I enjoyed his Meditative Moments and found them relaxing (I'm a daily meditator). The extra material provided was very interesting and rounded out the lecture material nicely, helping me solidify understanding of the concepts. I'll be taking the other courses in this series. Thanks, Professor Green!

교육 기관: Eva R

2020년 4월 20일

very very interesting, and very clear, I had a great pleasure studying with you, thank you ! Maybe I would just have liked a bit more link between the Freudian concept of unconscious (week 1-2) and the more recent one developped (by Damasio, Wilson...) according to neurology (week 3-4)

교육 기관: Viktoriia

2020년 5월 7일

I am very grateful for Mitchell Green and for all who gave life to this course. It was a great adventure, I enjoyed! I was surprised by meditation moments, it is a really good idea!

I've learned a lot and I will not dwell on it ;)

교육 기관: DeVante B

2020년 10월 6일

Wonderfully tied together, and certainly a lot more reading material provided - which I suspect will further enhance my understanding of the topic. Definitely a class that could help anyone.

교육 기관: Bronte W S

2020년 5월 4일

Know Thyself is suitable for beginner. Well explained in the lecture and good in depth if you have extra time in reading materials. The information is practical and useful for daily life.

교육 기관: Tvisha G

2021년 7월 6일

Very knowledgeable and insightful.

The case studies and the real-life examples along with the meditativce moments, definitely deserve an extra star rating.

교육 기관: Sobhia K

2020년 4월 13일

Excellent course, I learned a lot. However I wish the quizzes were a little tougher to ensure more effective learning.

교육 기관: Emma T

2020년 4월 26일

Really interesting. Hope to do the third course in the series once it becomes available on Coursera.

교육 기관: Nicholas P

2019년 4월 19일

Very interesting, well put together course.

교육 기관: Ritesh K

2019년 4월 30일

All I say... "a BIG THANKS...!"

교육 기관: DEBORAH M

2020년 10월 28일

Meditations were great. The course material did not engage me as I expected it to translate to a more personal level of self knowledge. The course is more relevant for someone who seeks a deeper knowledge of the history of this discipline.

교육 기관: Elena G

2020년 7월 9일

A wonderful course combining psychanalytic thery and practical skills l of everyday life. ! The lecturer has the carisma of making complicated psychological theries about the unconsious, easy to cmprehend and digest. Apart from an basic education in psychoanalitic concepts as also on more contemporary reasearch about the unconsious, the course provides tools to practicaly come more in contact with ones own unconsious. Also the course is helpfull in raising awareness in how we make descisions in our daily life, and thus offers a fantastic connection between psychological theories of the unconsious and awareness in decission making and skills on a practical level of ones everyday life. I so look forward and expect the next course in Know Thyself to start ''Losing Oneself''. Thank you !

교육 기관: Liliane K

2021년 2월 20일

Knowing myself - and knowing others through this self-knowledge has always been important to me. In the region I was brought up, people always said (in those days): "Know thyself so as to know others. One might not say this as easily anymore nowadays, building on all the discoveries since then. But inferring from one's own behaviour to that of others can still give you some clues, at least to begin with.

I hope that you will not "forget" informing me when the follow-up course starts, for which I very would like to enrol!

UP WITH MOOCs! THEY ARE GREAT!

교육 기관: Airida Z

2020년 11월 22일

I expected this course to be quite easy and was pleasantly surprised to be challenged every week. I enjoyed variety of formats - lectures, video and reading assignments, self analysis tasks and meditative moments. Very good part of this course - that it provides lots of additional information (links to articles etc.) if a student is willing to explore more, but does not require to complete all of them. That allows flexibility and makes a student to share responsibility to depth of the course.

교육 기관: Aedrian A

2021년 1월 19일

This is a great, albeit more challenging, follow-up to KT-TVLSK: The Examined Life. In this course, neuroscience and psychology take a bigger role as significant overlaps to philosophy in understanding the self - particularly that aspect which is thought to not be accessible to introspection. Professor Green seamlessly integrates these fields in the material. I strongly recommend devoting more time than you normally would in a MOOC for this course to get the most of it.

교육 기관: Gabriel M

2021년 3월 26일

This course makes an excellent job at summarizing the main points about psychoanalysis and the Unconscious, especially considering how short it is. After each lesson, I was left trying to apply each concept to my daily life: finding defense mechanisms in my own or other people's actions, finding meaning in apparently meaningless elements of my day, paying close attention to my emotional response to each situation… It was a wonderful experience.

교육 기관: Nicole K

2020년 9월 6일

There wasn't a moment in this course where I felt disengaged - the structure was very professional and relatable/understandable, the meditations really helped me focus on the tasks at hand, and the subject was incredibly interesting! I learned so much about myself and others and this knowledge is truly valuable for self-development and is very interesting to say the least. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for anyone and everyone to take this course.

교육 기관: Widiasatria U

2020년 10월 28일

I found this course is so insightful to develop my self-knowledge as the way to gaining more positive mindset and the information is a valuable tool for assisting others. The presentation was engaging and packed with fascinating facts. Dr Green is easy to listen to-being knowledgable and the learning materials are excellent to guide me through this course. I hope that I can take other course related with this topic in near future

교육 기관: Fatima B

2020년 10월 24일

The first course at coursera that I actually finished, and in just two weeks instead of four. All because it was really interesting and not too challenging (for me, a person without any psychological background). I didn't learn anything groundbreaking, but a lot of things were nice to note, and the material was well delivered (even had some jokes - highly appreciated) and easy to follow. Thank you for the good work on the course!