Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
5,417개의 평가
1,645개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
하이라이트
Applicable teachings
(121개의 검토)
Creatively designed course
(270개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

AA
2021년 6월 21일

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
2018년 6월 10일

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition의 1,625개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Angie J

2016년 12월 3일

Great presentations on what language instruction approaches have looked like in the past and present. Each approach is discussed and evaluated so the "best of's" can be applied in your own teaching.

교육 기관: Marie G

2018년 9월 5일

This was an entertaining way to learn the theories. Theories can be very dry and through the videos, I had a good visual of the different considerations when designing language learning experiences.

교육 기관: Weisi Z

2016년 2월 27일

The course content is perfect, however the rating system is kind of disappointing. First, the rating is very subjective, thus I might pay great efforts to my submission but get a grade below my expectation. Second, sometimes I can be busy on weekends thus I want to finish the peer review earlier on Friday, however, there might often be not enough submission to be reviewed, thus I am very pressured to do this with a exhausted mind and body in the evening on Sundays. Could I just pass if there's no other submission to review?

교육 기관: Bernabé N G

2018년 12월 7일

Awesome and simply amazing content. I learned so much! This course even made me a better RLA (English to Native Language English speakers) teacher! I am a sub at Rio Salado College Adult Basic Education (GED students) and the last three times I have subbed each class had students that wanted to know what days I taught so that they could switch to my class! Thank you!

교육 기관: Nan Z

2018년 6월 10일

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

교육 기관: Ibtihal A B A Y A

2018년 11월 27일

A highly informative, applicable& easy to follow course by absolutely knowledgeable professors. The thorough, well-organized& engaging course content reflects the the professionalism & the extensive knowledge of the professors in this field. Really looking forward to enrolling in other courses by the same professors & Arizona State University . Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn from you.

교육 기관: Ana P R

2019년 1월 27일

I've learned so much about the various theories, philosophies, and approaches. My teaching skills definitely need polishing, and this course have broaden my knowledge. It's an excellent course with amazing teachers and overall teaching style. The information is fun, and it sticks. Thank you.

교육 기관: Ioannis T

2017년 8월 5일

Awesome! Now, this IS a great course on Theories of Second Language Acquisition! Definitely totally recommended; especially to those who are not familiar with or very keen on theories and histories!

교육 기관: YUN S L

2018년 12월 20일

I like this course very much!

교육 기관: Manyee W

2016년 7월 23일

Very enjoyable course. A big thank to all the teachers! Especially the humorous and charming Dr Dixon. I never thought American teachers could be so humorous as I have some bad experience with an American teacher when I was young.

When I started my Form 1 secondary education at the age of 13, an American male teacher marched into our classroom and ordered us to have an English name each. He said that our Chinese names sounded silly to him and they were difficult to pronoun. I said to him as I came from a village and my mother was illiterate, could he recommend a name. He said that he didn't care, i could call myself Barbara, Mary, anything I like. I felt so insulted and that put me off from learning English for a long time.

I guess he was using Direct approach at that time because he did not speak Chinese, and none of the students understood English then. We did not understand what he said throughout the whole year.

I am proud of the name my father gave me and I still only use my Chinese name.

교육 기관: Richard D R

2020년 1월 25일

The class provides a clear and relatively concise overview of the various teaching approaches over the years.

However some of the points that are brought up during tests are barely glanced over and student are expected to recall things that are mentioned once and then moved on from.

Many terms are changed. This is to make things easier to understand for non-native English speakers I believe but this can make things confusing. Is this a new concept or the same one previously mentioned?

Finally, the course discusses pros and cons of various teaching approaches. To do this a "devil" and "angel" character is used. I found this to inappropriate as there may be many who do not understand this reference due it being a western cultural concept as well as a religious one. The characters also go on tangents and behave in a cartoon-like fashion. It can be somewhat distracting.

A better way to present this characters would be to have a Mr. Yes and a Mr. No. It is culturally and religiously neutral. It could be presented as a news panel where they are being interviewed for their thoughts and would allow for idle banter to be cut from the segments as well.

교육 기관: Eric S F

2019년 7월 31일

I liked the use of the time machine to visit the people who came up with the methods of teaching English!

교육 기관: Linute J

2018년 12월 17일

Great and enganging course

교육 기관: Maria I

2018년 11월 29일

excellent and interesting

교육 기관: Nguyễn V T

2018년 12월 13일

very good

교육 기관: Francisca R R

2017년 9월 21일

Este curso ofrece una excelente oportunidad para adquirir importantes conocimientos sobre las teorías y técnicas de enseñanza de idiomas utilizadas durante la historia, esta información es clave para tomar una decisión informada sobre cómo dirigir, organizar y seleccionar nuestros materiales y métodos según las necesidades y características de nuestros alumnos.

La excelente organización de los contenidos, la información en sí, el carisma de los profesores y sus caracterizaciones, hacen que el estudio sea un proceso muy agradable y divertido. Realmente disfruté cada lección de este curso y siento que adquirí conocimientos de gran relevancia para mi formación profesional.

Recomiendo este curso, sin duda alguna es uno de los mejores cursos que he realizado.

교육 기관: Aly C

2019년 10월 19일

This was a comprehensive look at the historical development of learning theories over the last 140+ years. You have to get on board with the goofy presentation of each through a generalized personification of the theory in a teaching character. At first this felt a bit juvenile, but after going through the whole course, I think was actually a very effective, creative, and fun way to present theory, which can sometimes be so dry or heavy. I learned a lot from this course, and really enjoyed comparing my own teaching styles back to each era. It helped me identify the roots of many of my values in teaching. Great course!

교육 기관: Suzete M D

2016년 6월 27일

O curso proporciona uma visão geral de todas as teorias sobre aquisição de línguas. A abordagem é dinâmica, criativa e envolvente. Não tem como não se apaixonar pelas performances dos presenters.

A troca de experiência e o insight que proporciona, são impagáveis.

Para o professor, é como um revisiting ao passado mas ao mesmo tempo traz sua conexão com o presente, explicando porque fazemos o que fazemos, porque ensinamos com esta ou aquela abordagem e como é possível andar por todas os métodos e escolher o que melhor se aplica em sala.

Curso imperdível!

교육 기관: Malak H

2018년 12월 6일

For my instructors big respect and love for this just most amazing and exciting course I've ever attended. I really owe you BIG thanks for your efforts and genuine giving spirit that I learned a lot ..You were actually following the precise and precious values you teach through this course. I highly recommend teachers to have this course in order to maintain a broad view on teaching methods and grasp the useful themes and techniques that enrich their teaching process.

교육 기관: Antoine K A

2021년 6월 22일

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

교육 기관: Z. A Y

2018년 10월 11일

Teachers are great. The course is fun and informative. I love this specialization. I look forward to completing all the courses as soon as possible. I highly recommend this course and specialization.

교육 기관: Sena N

2019년 2월 5일

This course was really so insightful and beneficial. Thanks for all Dear Shane & Jessica, I'm really so pleased to be part of this great this. I learned and remembered a lot with your great support.

교육 기관: Daniel R - C

2019년 2월 17일

Great course.

교육 기관: Vanessa R

2020년 1월 20일

I took this class because I thought it would give me a good introduction to online teaching. It also looked tempting because it offered the option to take the practicum; however, when it's being offered at $1,000, I expect this class to be worth the cost. It's not. The first quiz is ridiculously hard (it took me three or four days to pass it), then you get to module 3 and the quizzes are way too easy. There is very little content, and a lot of contrived scenarios with foreign teachers (there is no effort to pretend they're overseas, as the dialogues basically repeat what's already been introduced except for one or two instances where we get additional information that's useful, but the backdrops are clearly fake). The whole thing with Brandon isn't informative (it could be any person), and the clips from the voxy are basically all the same thing. I really do not recommend this class if you're looking for something substantial; there's just very little worthwhile information. If this is an indication of the quality of the vox, then the voxy is very poor and not worth it unless it were free which it isn't - and the price for an educational experience that looks like this class is just not worth it.

교육 기관: Rafael E M C

2018년 10월 17일

I think the childish approach to the theories was time-wasteful and inadequate for the audience