Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
5,490개의 평가
1,666개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
하이라이트
Applicable teachings
(121개의 검토)
Creatively designed course
(270개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

AA
2021년 6월 21일

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

NZ
2018년 6월 10일

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition의 1,640개 리뷰 중 1526~1550

교육 기관: Kseniia S

2016년 10월 3일

to me as a total newby in the topic the content was really interesting

however, its presentation. well. I truly thank the teachers for bringing together the review of all the approaches. but the manner of presentation was so artificial I couldn't help thinking just - when will the real learning begin? without all the silly role plays?

again, thanks, I tearned a lot from the course. but I did also struggle through it because of the teachers' manner of presentation

교육 기관: Natalia G

2016년 12월 10일

Much more useful than the first course. It was very interesting to see that methodology has a different approaach according to the purpose of the class that is not necessarily communication. Great experience Although I think that the questions for peer revision are so general aand vague that one is almost forced to give a good grade even if the assignment is just a re-telling of what was presented on the video, sometimes even word by word.

교육 기관: Daniel Z

2021년 3월 29일

The transcripts for each video should be corrected and rewritten. There are misspelled words and incomplete sentences. The transcriber misheard many of the words.

All in all, I enjoyed the classes, videos and effort each instructor invested in the preparation of the material. I would like to mentor students and had submitted an application. I am waiting for a reply.

My plan is to complete the TESOL Certificate Course.

Thank you.

Dan Zimmerman

교육 기관: Toyia B

2019년 8월 27일

Outside of all the technological issues I have been experiencing when trying to view the videos, I have still been able to thoroughly enjoy my course. I do not have a formal background in ESL, but I am definitely acquiring the technical skills that will enhance my skill set. Keep doing what you are doing. Oh and I love how you incorporated your dreams into your profession. You never gave up! Commendable!

교육 기관: noura_albudaiwi@yahoo.com

2016년 1월 16일

It would really been helpful if you provided some readings for each approach. I could do outside readings but as you know you can find lots of readings which might be not useful for a beginner.

The final test was not close by to being easy even though I did study. Thank you for that and that's a good job giving us a challenge to look forward to.

교육 기관: Michael J S

2016년 1월 28일

It seems staff do not monitor, or address, issues posted repeatedly to the forum, especially in regards to the final test (part 2 of the specialty). The content of the course is great, and if someone with the authority to make changes when errors are detected and reported did care for the course I would have have rated the course higher.

교육 기관: Huế N

2021년 8월 12일

Thank profressionals and modarators for designing this course. I appreciate your time and determination. Thanks for your help, I can gain the deep insight into 8 teaching approach in different periods. Therefore, I know how to address my main students and the purpose of teaching in order to pick up suitable methods to conduct classroom!

교육 기관: Alex A J

2021년 3월 4일

It is an easy overview of the different approaches to teaching language. But it is just an overview with a very superficial breakdown of the techniques used in each approach. For future courses in this specialization, I would love to see how to apply all relevant techniques, individually and in tandem. Dr Dixon is a very good presenter.

교육 기관: Victor N

2020년 7월 5일

Dr. Dixon and his side-kick Cinco delivered a full history of Second Language Acquisition. I learned a lot more than at my previous university courses. I feel now better prepared for teaching second languages. There is room though to improve the student submissions at the end of each lesson.

교육 기관: jiyoung J

2020년 6월 15일

I really like the professor Shane, and I was into his action. I can feel passion to teach well and convey the theory well to students.

However, it was sorry that I can't upload Video or audio file when I submit the assignment.

The first part of this course, I could upload Video file.

교육 기관: Gehad M

2020년 7월 26일

I would love to thank the content creators of this course. it helped me alot to know how the teachers before us dealt with their students, and how they look at the language teaching. It also gave me ideas for classroom activities that i can apply from each approach.

교육 기관: Fatina

2017년 3월 5일

amazing course.

Thank you.

Now I each time I want to remember any of the approaches, I will remember the video attached to it and quickly remember the main features of each approach. This was quite challenging to me over the years. Thank you for making it possible.

교육 기관: Dimitris K

2016년 2월 10일

Dr. Dixon really knows how to teach stuff. Excellent.

The reason I give it 4 stars is because it could give us some real examples of in-class applications of all the useful techniques taught. It would really help us enrich our inventory of teaching techniques.

교육 기관: Sergio J B

2016년 4월 4일

As non-education major, presenting the approaches using a historical timeline is helpful. This way, it was easier to see the weakness of each approach although it could get quite confusing at times because a few approaches have significant overlaps.

교육 기관: Johan H

2019년 1월 24일

Thank you for the insights - it will certainly make me a better English language teacher. This is also foundational and a requirement before we are "let loose" on students.

(And some fine acting there Dr Dixon - I thoroughly enjoyed your work! :)

교육 기관: Megan E C

2020년 7월 17일

I would have liked more readings from peer-reviewed publications, and the videos were a bit annoying. However, I read the transcripts instead of listening, and this was solid information that I will apply to my teaching. Fascinating material!

교육 기관: Erick L

2016년 9월 28일

The course is well done and will definitely serve many teachers who would want to draw from history and gain some tested approaches to teaching English. The teaching method can be not so academic but for many people, this perhaps serves best.

교육 기관: Nelson A R A

2016년 9월 14일

Great for new teachers as it gives them the fundamentals of langauge learning theory. Also very good memory refresher and knowledge connector for experience teachers as it is well summarized and integrated presentation of such theories .

교육 기관: Susan D

2017년 6월 7일

Loved it!

Although the characterizations really helped me to retain a lot of the information easily, I personally found that they went on for a bit too long sometimes. However, great course and method of teaching all around.

교육 기관: Eugenia V

2016년 2월 10일

Very informative course. It helped me to get a systematic view on SLE theories. Yet I wish the course was a bit longer and less dense, for the lack of a better word. Too much information was squeezed into very short modules.

교육 기관: Paul J M

2016년 6월 12일

Lot's of interesting background to language teaching and learning. The material is presented clearly although the instructor may not be to all students' taste. Keep going, however, as the later courses are even better!

교육 기관: Sigfried T

2018년 6월 8일

While there was a lot of good content, sometimes the dramatizations were long on performance and short on good information. As an avid debater the Devil and Angel "arguments" were cringe worthy most of the time.

교육 기관: Robby

2019년 8월 27일

Great content, reviews, and quizes. Dr. Dixon was ridiculous in the videos, which helped me retain the information, for which I'm not angry, but it made me cringe! Ha! I need to meet him in real life.

교육 기관: Sarah C

2019년 5월 20일

There's some unconfortable sexism in some of the lessons. They are dramatizations but still it's not welcoming or funny for female students and would not be considered ok if it was "jokes" about race.

교육 기관: Ana M C

2019년 11월 4일

The course is well prepared, however, you could include more material to read and more examples about the activities some teachers have already done applying the techniques learned.