Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
3,709개의 평가
1,053개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
하이라이트
Applicable teachings
(121개의 검토)
Creatively designed course
(270개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

NZ

Jun 11, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

MG

Sep 06, 2018

This was an entertaining way to learn the theories. Theories can be very dry and through the videos, I had a good visual of the different considerations when designing language learning experiences.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition의 1,014개 리뷰 중 926~950

교육 기관: Nadia S

Oct 15, 2016

This course provides me opportunity to teach my kids in effective way that is proved to be in line with research on learning second language. I rate it the best course in this regard and would like to say special thanks to Dr Shane Dixon and all his team. I felt my teaching skills are improved after completing this course but there is still space for improvement in final assessment, in my opinion, there should be a thorough understanding for the participants of the course on how this final assessment could be beneficial for them. However the overall impact can be expressed in a big Thanks.

교육 기관: Aaron D

Apr 10, 2016

Good overview of the last 150 years of language teaching philosophy. The back-in-time and angel-and-devil skits were a little cheesy sometimes, but they helped to keep things interesting. More detail on some of the information presented would be nice, but it seems to be aimed at inexperienced teachers or people with native languages other than English, and so the level is kept fairly low.

Overall, a good introduction to the subject and enough information provided to launch into your own independent study of some of the concepts introduced.

교육 기관: Frederick W M

Aug 07, 2019

The videos convey content clearly and in an engaging manner, equal to the Foundation class that I rated higher. But there are noticeably more errors in the English video transcripts, and PDFs cannot be uploaded when submitting work for peer review. I also felt there were too many questions requiring multiple answers, some of which were a bit of a stretch for me to include, although I appreciated that those tests would give partial credit when some of the multiple answers chosen were correct and others weren't.

교육 기관: Kristine W

Apr 04, 2020

I thought the second course attempted to get a bit more creative with the videos. Yes, they're silly, but silly is more memorable, and it's a good example of how we as teachers can make the classroom more fun. The quizzes were actually challenging and the content was interesting. Some things that need to be fixed: when you miss a question on the quiz, it doesn't tell you the correct answer. And the peer graded assignments are still lacking rigor. Looking forward to the rest of the certificate.

교육 기관: Bruce R

May 26, 2016

i found it entertaining and informative. It leaves room for discussion but has given me a non ESL teacher an interesting insight into the theories of Language Acquisition.

I am interested in the way one Teaching Discipline takes knowledge from another, repacks it and sells it under their School of Teaching in almost the same way the despicable H.R. industry relaunches every few years.

In summary a good section of the course well presented but i hate "Tests or Exams" :-(

교육 기관: Kseniia S

Oct 03, 2016

to me as a total newby in the topic the content was really interesting

however, its presentation. well. I truly thank the teachers for bringing together the review of all the approaches. but the manner of presentation was so artificial I couldn't help thinking just - when will the real learning begin? without all the silly role plays?

again, thanks, I tearned a lot from the course. but I did also struggle through it because of the teachers' manner of presentation

교육 기관: Natalia G

Dec 10, 2016

Much more useful than the first course. It was very interesting to see that methodology has a different approaach according to the purpose of the class that is not necessarily communication. Great experience Although I think that the questions for peer revision are so general aand vague that one is almost forced to give a good grade even if the assignment is just a re-telling of what was presented on the video, sometimes even word by word.

교육 기관: Toyia B

Aug 28, 2019

Outside of all the technological issues I have been experiencing when trying to view the videos, I have still been able to thoroughly enjoy my course. I do not have a formal background in ESL, but I am definitely acquiring the technical skills that will enhance my skill set. Keep doing what you are doing. Oh and I love how you incorporated your dreams into your profession. You never gave up! Commendable!

교육 기관: noura_albudaiwi@yahoo.com

Jan 16, 2016

It would really been helpful if you provided some readings for each approach. I could do outside readings but as you know you can find lots of readings which might be not useful for a beginner.

The final test was not close by to being easy even though I did study. Thank you for that and that's a good job giving us a challenge to look forward to.

교육 기관: Michael J S

Jan 28, 2016

It seems staff do not monitor, or address, issues posted repeatedly to the forum, especially in regards to the final test (part 2 of the specialty). The content of the course is great, and if someone with the authority to make changes when errors are detected and reported did care for the course I would have have rated the course higher.

교육 기관: Fatina

Mar 05, 2017

amazing course.

Thank you.

Now I each time I want to remember any of the approaches, I will remember the video attached to it and quickly remember the main features of each approach. This was quite challenging to me over the years. Thank you for making it possible.

교육 기관: Dimitris K

Feb 10, 2016

Dr. Dixon really knows how to teach stuff. Excellent.

The reason I give it 4 stars is because it could give us some real examples of in-class applications of all the useful techniques taught. It would really help us enrich our inventory of teaching techniques.

교육 기관: Sergio J B

Apr 04, 2016

As non-education major, presenting the approaches using a historical timeline is helpful. This way, it was easier to see the weakness of each approach although it could get quite confusing at times because a few approaches have significant overlaps.

교육 기관: Johan H

Jan 24, 2019

Thank you for the insights - it will certainly make me a better English language teacher. This is also foundational and a requirement before we are "let loose" on students.

(And some fine acting there Dr Dixon - I thoroughly enjoyed your work! :)

교육 기관: Erick L

Sep 28, 2016

The course is well done and will definitely serve many teachers who would want to draw from history and gain some tested approaches to teaching English. The teaching method can be not so academic but for many people, this perhaps serves best.

교육 기관: Nelson A R A

Sep 14, 2016

Great for new teachers as it gives them the fundamentals of langauge learning theory. Also very good memory refresher and knowledge connector for experience teachers as it is well summarized and integrated presentation of such theories .

교육 기관: Susan D

Jun 07, 2017

Loved it!

Although the characterizations really helped me to retain a lot of the information easily, I personally found that they went on for a bit too long sometimes. However, great course and method of teaching all around.

교육 기관: Eugenia V

Feb 11, 2016

Very informative course. It helped me to get a systematic view on SLE theories. Yet I wish the course was a bit longer and less dense, for the lack of a better word. Too much information was squeezed into very short modules.

교육 기관: Paul J M

Jun 12, 2016

Lot's of interesting background to language teaching and learning. The material is presented clearly although the instructor may not be to all students' taste. Keep going, however, as the later courses are even better!

교육 기관: Sigfried T

Jun 08, 2018

While there was a lot of good content, sometimes the dramatizations were long on performance and short on good information. As an avid debater the Devil and Angel "arguments" were cringe worthy most of the time.

교육 기관: Robby

Aug 27, 2019

Great content, reviews, and quizes. Dr. Dixon was ridiculous in the videos, which helped me retain the information, for which I'm not angry, but it made me cringe! Ha! I need to meet him in real life.

교육 기관: Sarah u s c

May 20, 2019

There's some unconfortable sexism in some of the lessons. They are dramatizations but still it's not welcoming or funny for female students and would not be considered ok if it was "jokes" about race.

교육 기관: Ana M C

Nov 04, 2019

The course is well prepared, however, you could include more material to read and more examples about the activities some teachers have already done applying the techniques learned.

교육 기관: Victor H

Mar 18, 2017

I was never a good learner of theories...they presented these lessons well. They use many American idioms. If you can get past that, the course is a good learning experience.

교육 기관: Daniela W

Aug 24, 2017

I liked this course and learning about the history of all the different approaches. On a side-note, there are some typos in the quizzes as well as in the English subtitles.