Chevron Left
Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition(으)로 돌아가기

애리조나주립대학교의 Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
3,595개의 평가
1,012개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
하이라이트
Creatively designed course
(270개의 검토)
Applicable teachings
(121개의 검토)

최상위 리뷰

NZ

Jun 11, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. I'm about half way through. I'm looking forrward to how the various courses in this series take me farther and farther into language learning theories and techniques.

AJ

Dec 04, 2016

Great presentations on what language instruction approaches have looked like in the past and present. Each approach is discussed and evaluated so the "best of's" can be applied in your own teaching.

필터링 기준:

Teach English Now! Theories of Second Language Acquisition의 974개 리뷰 중 951~974

교육 기관: Mariette R

Sep 05, 2018

very fast paced !

교육 기관: nop1

Jan 25, 2018

good jfor newer/

교육 기관: Mohammad I K

Jan 08, 2017

great that was

교육 기관: Sharon E L

Apr 16, 2019

Great course!

교육 기관: Mehmet S T

Jun 14, 2017

It was nice.

교육 기관: Carmen

Mar 14, 2016

V

교육 기관: Corinne M

Dec 20, 2015

L

교육 기관: Richard D R

Jan 26, 2020

The class provides a clear and relatively concise overview of the various teaching approaches over the years.

However some of the points that are brought up during tests are barely glanced over and student are expected to recall things that are mentioned once and then moved on from.

Many terms are changed. This is to make things easier to understand for non-native English speakers I believe but this can make things confusing. Is this a new concept or the same one previously mentioned?

Finally, the course discusses pros and cons of various teaching approaches. To do this a "devil" and "angel" character is used. I found this to inappropriate as there may be many who do not understand this reference due it being a western cultural concept as well as a religious one. The characters also go on tangents and behave in a cartoon-like fashion. It can be somewhat distracting.

A better way to present this characters would be to have a Mr. Yes and a Mr. No. It is culturally and religiously neutral. It could be presented as a news panel where they are being interviewed for their thoughts and would allow for idle banter to be cut from the segments as well.

교육 기관: Armindo G F G

Jul 31, 2017

I had taken this course with a serious mind set, to go all the way till de end; it was very unfortunate that I travelled last year for treatment, due to my health condition; this happened on late March 2016. Later on, by the time I came back home, some unfortunate robbers had stolen my computer, as well as my tablet and other documents, all of them in a brief case. Since last year I could not do anything at all. I am working now with a borrowed computer form a friend of mine. I hope this time I will make up for lost time and move forward with faith, as far as I can. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Rodrigo M B S

Feb 10, 2016

A great course and fully packed with interesting information about different methodologies thought time. Wouldn't give it 5 stars because most part during the video lectures are just silly and although I know the professor is trying his best to convey an idea, it seems like there are moments it just drifts away from the point. Also, the "angel x devil" debates are equally silly, opposite to the following overview video which is excellent. I'd recommend everybody to take this course but I certainly wouldn't do it again and neither dowload the videos for future reference.

교육 기관: Mariia N

Dec 02, 2019

Really annoying and unfunny, but I learned something through completing the table. Had to read transcripts because videos (especially angel and devil debates) were unbearable. The teacher is a bad actor and he could have explained it normally. So the contents are good, but the way of presenting material is just embarrassing.

교육 기관: Joelle H

Dec 01, 2016

Some of the videos weren't as clear as the previous course's videos. I suggest less gimmicks and more focus on learning the history. I will admit there were times I was lost on the quizzes because the videos weren't clear enough.

교육 기관: alba l

Jul 17, 2019

In my opinion, it's too much content, and the tasks are very repetitive. The information and the way the professor explains is excellent, as well as the examples he gives to the teachers.

교육 기관: Reem K

Feb 27, 2016

i dont want to know the history of language and the pendulum swing i just want a list short and simple in a single 20 min video and move one. this was so boring

교육 기관: Ahmed W A

Jul 13, 2018

Actually, I was not always interested in studying history of teaching. This course helped me a lot to know what style I'm following, though.

교육 기관: David L

Dec 20, 2016

Less is more. Not always, but it would be in this case. A lot of the lectures are unwatchable for me.

교육 기관: Saif A J A

Feb 13, 2019

The course has lost a lot of its value due to overacting!

교육 기관: W.arina

May 02, 2016

the content should be presented more interesting.

교육 기관: Rocio

Feb 14, 2016

Really good organized

교육 기관: AHEMD A H B

Nov 10, 2019

I Like it so much

교육 기관: David R B

Jun 06, 2016

These themes felt very surface-level and redundant. The material could likely have been covered more quickly and allowed for more time to be spent on more tangible, every day information that might help those that are not already teachers.

교육 기관: Vanessa R

Jan 20, 2020

I took this class because I thought it would give me a good introduction to online teaching. It also looked tempting because it offered the option to take the practicum; however, when it's being offered at $1,000, I expect this class to be worth the cost. It's not. The first quiz is ridiculously hard (it took me three or four days to pass it), then you get to module 3 and the quizzes are way too easy. There is very little content, and a lot of contrived scenarios with foreign teachers (there is no effort to pretend they're overseas, as the dialogues basically repeat what's already been introduced except for one or two instances where we get additional information that's useful, but the backdrops are clearly fake). The whole thing with Brandon isn't informative (it could be any person), and the clips from the voxy are basically all the same thing. I really do not recommend this class if you're looking for something substantial; there's just very little worthwhile information. If this is an indication of the quality of the vox, then the voxy is very poor and not worth it unless it were free which it isn't - and the price for an educational experience that looks like this class is just not worth it.

교육 기관: Rafael E M C

Oct 18, 2018

I think the childish approach to the theories was time-wasteful and inadequate for the audience

교육 기관: Mark T

Nov 06, 2016

Patronising and very poor in content.