Chevron Left
Learn to Program: The Fundamentals(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Learn to Program: The Fundamentals 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
5,123개의 평가
1,520개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

최상위 리뷰

PC
2021년 6월 4일

Well taught, assignemnts are just right in complexity, its hard enough to no be easy and but not to be frustrating and tests challange your knowledge enough for it to be rewarding to complete with 80%

AG
2020년 12월 15일

Great course for refreshing your python basics, and any beginner looking to pick up Python basics will be in a comfortable spot after completing this course and a bit of practice with the assignments.

필터링 기준:

Learn to Program: The Fundamentals의 1,507개 리뷰 중 1226~1250

교육 기관: Adrianne R B

2020년 6월 9일

This is a great place to start with python coding without any experience. I have a small comment for the organizers. It is very difficult to improve learning by way of the review of quizzes as they stand. It only says if it was right or wrong; you can't even see the available answers, or what input was provided. Understanding that it is undesirable to simply give the answer as the question may be recycled in subsequent attempts, if feedback were to be provided explaining why an answer was wrong, it would be far more meaningful. This would be particularly helpful with the written answers where one is left to wonder if it is a simple syntax error, or something grosser. For the multi-answer questions that are wrong, giving partial credit would also be better guidance so you know that you answer is incomplete, rather than wrong.

교육 기관: Walid Y C

2020년 12월 2일

This course is complete and ideal, if not mandatory to be taken, for anybody who wishes to learn Python and the fundamentals of programmings. I've learnt python before from video tutorials on other social media and yet I discovered a lot off new things thanks to this course. What I also loved about it is the exams, they are not so simple and they are not the sort of exams where you are asked to reevaluate the same examples given in the lectures, no they are harder and force you to think and rethink. however, there was one little detail that should be improved: the docstrings of some functions in the programming assignments are to be revisited for sometimes they do not explain what the function does.

I'm looking forward to seeing more courses on advanced programming with python from these two guys.

교육 기관: Benedict A

2019년 9월 18일

I am a beginner to programming. I took longer than the stated time to complete all the assignments and quizzes. On the second and third attempts i came closer to the stated time. Some of the questions in the assignment, quizzes and exam are not clear. This led to more or unnecessary time to complete these sections.

Overall I learned a lot and my speed started to increase as I grasped the fundamentals of programming and data structures. It would be great if their are additional or optional assignments that are available to do. I find that learning is greatly enhance and reinforced when I am able to apply the knowledge and skills.

Also, I purchased the book. It would be great if there were suggestions for the next steps to continue in reading the book.

Thank you

교육 기관: Dana T

2020년 9월 27일

The instructors are great and I liked having the option to slow down/speed up videos and work at my own pace. While it is possible to take this course as a beginner, it might be challenging.

Expect studying time to be much longer than suggested (I multiplied suggested studying time by 4 and still sometimes didn't make it). A handful of the videos have terrible audio quality, so those will require extra effort to understand the concepts. Quizzes and assignments take MUCH longer than it says, leading to feelings of inadequacy.

Despite all of my complaints though, I would highly recommend this course. Aside from feeling lost a lot of the time, I did end up learning so much and I feel ready and excited to take on more Python courses in the future.

교육 기관: Niall D

2020년 6월 28일

I feel that this course was a great benefit to me in my understanding of the new language I am learning in Python. I would say that the first 4-5 weeks I was able to follow everything to a good degree, and weeks after that I seemed to not be applying some of the ideas and it was taking me a few attempts to pass the assessments. Is this course suited for beginners? I would say yes, this is because the early weeks are achievable and I picked the ideas up having no previous experience with the language. The later weeks you need to apply and combine various things you see in the readings and videos for that week, but they are all there, keep IDLE open and test what you can, it is the only way that you will find out.

교육 기관: Mingrui P

2019년 2월 14일

I like how this course provides examples and online textbook for each concept of fundamental coding or python. Also, love the female instructor's explanation, the speed is relative slow and easy to comprehend. However, I do not think is course is an easy or very approachable course for people who have zero coding experience to begin with. Comparing this course with U of Michigan's PY4E, this course this more difficult, especially for the design of homework. The week 2's homework is already hard enough for people who never use code to start with. Therefore, I think if anyone is looking for start for programming or python, PY4E is a better course to consider with.

교육 기관: Eivind F

2019년 9월 15일

I started learning programming two years ago and are constantly looking for ways to improve my skills. In my search to good resources, this is one of them.

I found this course good because it focused on the building blocks for learning to code. It thoroughly explains the different datatypes, loops, functions/definitions, how the interpreter works and how to build a functional program.

This said, I believe that there exists better courses / books / tutorials if you have absolutely no experience in programming. If you have some experience in python or from another language, than this is a good course.

Cheers and enjoy learningl

교육 기관: Will C

2018년 5월 20일

Course was really great, I highly recommend it. I would give it five stars, but I had two technical issues. 1: On mobile devices, the short quizzes that pop up during lectures don't function correctly - instead of just asking the questions that relate to the topic that was just discussed and then moving on with the lecture, the quiz asks ALL the questions (including those on topics not yet discussed). 2: there is a formatting problem in the quizzes that shows the unicode hex for the apostrophe (') instead of ' - which is very distracting when working with strings. These seem like easy fixes.

교육 기관: Omar

2020년 3월 20일

Thank you for your efforts in creating and maintaining this course and its material; I have no comments per se but if I must then I will mention that I have been following other courses as well (I am a beginner) and they cover subjects that are not covered in here (eg. Classes). I understand that this course if for the learning the fundamentals of Python only, but it would have been great to learn about Classes, among other subjects, within this course, I believe it would have made a bigger impact on me as a beginner student. Thank you again.

교육 기관: Amit G

2017년 8월 28일

Overall it's a great course for anyone who's new to programming and wants to start with Python. I wish they would include more complex examples in the lecture videos vs. spending a lot of time on repetitive commands. The assignments were the best way to learn, much better than the quizzes, hence I'd recommend adding another assignment, perhaps a final assignment. Finally it's really great the lecture summaries are provided after every video. Using the python colors instead of simple black and white would make them even greater.

교육 기관: Anuj N

2021년 8월 30일

Was intuitive, educational course. Definitely learned a lot, and am motivated to learn further! Do be warned that the course is a little old, so some parts about the file systems are no longer relevant (Pycharm has taken over , much larger than the base Python software) but it's fairly simple so no worries there. The course can be a little slow at times, but for good reason - to be more explanatory. Honestly aside from the confusing file system, most middle school students should be able to handle this course.

교육 기관: Thompson M

2020년 11월 26일

The course is very engaging and keeps the learn on their feet. I love it. The deadlines helped me focus and complete my assignments so that I completely forget about my programming commitment. As a self-taught programmer it is very hard to keep up with University Engineering classes as well as computer programming. But I was able to keep myself going and I know I will reach an intersection point for both in Electrical-Electronics Engineering as well as Software Engineering.

교육 기관: Pi-Hsing C

2017년 2월 13일

Pro : 1. Instructors explained the fundamentals in details.

2. The lessons are concise and with just enough information.

Con : 1. This course is not updated to the latest Python 3.5 (even in 2016).

2. Many solutions of the quizzes should be explained afterward.

3. The lack of interactions between students due to the "design limit" of Coursera.org

Overall : A decent fundamental course to help step into Python 3 programming and computer science.

교육 기관: Jaroslaw M

2020년 6월 22일

I like this course very much because of practical approach. As I had some programming experiences in the past this course was an opportunity for me to recall some knowledge. I think this course could be difficult task for real beginners. There were some questions or excursuses which I think require better and precise explanation. Time I spend was worth it and now I am planning to go into next courses - Data Science with Python i.e.

교육 기관: Clarence L

2020년 6월 1일

I think that this course is fantastic for newcomers and that the moderators and lecturers are very patient and kind to go through all the queries raised by the student. Lessons are short and sweet so it is easy to pick up. However, quizzes should be designed with a lesser steep curve and give students more chances to practice rather than throwing us into the fray. An overall enjoyable experience to cap off after a long working day.

교육 기관: Renato S M L

2018년 12월 16일

Estoy entusiasmado y viendo la planificacion curricular del curso me motiva aun mas en aprender contenidos apropiados para desempeñarme con las habilidades competentes en este nuevo y bonito futuro trabajo. No le dí de momento las 5 estrellas ya que no puedo pagar por otro medio que no sea paypal con tarjeta de credito. Yo cuento con saldo suficiente en paypal para pagar el certificado.

Gracias y a estudiar. Renato Salvatore

교육 기관: Leandro C

2017년 8월 25일

Excellent introductory course to Python Programming. If I could suggest one upgrade, it would be to set more challenging tests and assignments. Also to include explained solutions to tests and quizzes, because sometimes one is left wondering about it and, although is great to figure it out by yourself, sometimes it takes too long while you need to go on with videos (and worst of all, sometimes it was just a typing error!).

교육 기관: Donato L P

2019년 8월 9일

I wish the course offered more scripting assignments. The videos were very informative, but I would have like to have more hands on scripting practice. I thought the course was a very well structured introduction. I learned so much about the basics of python, and I think that my understanding of how to write scripts in python execute has grown tremendously. Also, the python visualizer is a great tool! Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Michael P

2020년 9월 20일

I have received my certificate before I was able to improve my marks in the last quiz and final exam! I thought this part would be treated like the parts before with the possibility to improve...

The certificate does not say in which language I have learned the fundamentals to program. For 40 Euros I think I can expect that.

Apart from that I was very satisfied with the course itself and the help I got.

Michael Peters

교육 기관: Mohsen H

2019년 7월 21일

Design of the assignments could use some improvements. If you fail assignments the first time, I suggest only the parts that you made errors in be re-evaluated not the whole assignment from the beginning.

Also instructors should put more time in getting ready so that they don't make so many errors while teaching the course.

Also, sometimes, the audio has problems and it's hard to understand.

But overall a good course.

교육 기관: Warren H

2018년 4월 22일

This course was great for me as a beginner. It started fairly easy and then became more challenging, which was nice as I was not too familiar with Python. When needed, feedback in forums was there and the instructors were great at responding within a day. I did find that I got lost on some problems since the path of least resistance was trial and error but instructors always guided me back to the fundamentals!

교육 기관: Abhishek B

2018년 1월 28일

Great teaching! Lectures were very well delivered. Loved the short quizzes in the middle of lectures plus the ones at the end.

Assignments were challenging but doable. Following the discussions on the Forum was extremely rewarding, thanks to good contributions by students and prompt replies from Patric (mentor). Came to the program with no background in programming and completed the course well in time.

교육 기관: Conrad U

2016년 11월 11일

Great course! This course deep dives into the Python and provided me immediate hands on coding. I enjoyed experiments with this language. The quizzes and final exam were tough but fair. The only complaint I have is that the python visualization tool quiz questions were confusing. I like the visualization tool; it allows one to view code execution which was a must for this course.

교육 기관: AGGELIS K

2017년 4월 14일

It was a really helpful course! I had previous experience in programming (I have written scripts in Fortran), but having the opportunity to learn a much modern language such as Python was really entertaining.

The assignments were made so that I could utilize each lesson and so did each quiz.

I would firmly recommend this course to people with little to none programming knowledge!

교육 기관: Mau B

2020년 5월 21일

Useful course but in my opinion very basic. I expected basic but thought it would take me at least double the time. Still I'd recommend it if you know nothing about programming and want something to start with. It kind of let me thinking I know very little about programming with Python and thinking I want to expand upon what I learned if I really want to make something useful.