Chevron Left
Learn to Program: The Fundamentals(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Learn to Program: The Fundamentals 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
3,247개의 평가
971개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Behind every mouse click and touch-screen tap, there is a computer program that makes things happen. This course introduces the fundamental building blocks of programming and teaches you how to write fun and useful programs using the Python language....

최상위 리뷰

HA

Aug 18, 2019

Great for a fundamental course. I have to admit that I had learnt python a few years back and was using this as a practice and revision course. But I learnt a lot more which I can add to my knowledge.

CV

Nov 17, 2017

This is a introductory course i would recommend. I especially liked that the instructors took the time to go through the python visualizer and try to unveil some of the background workings in python.

필터링 기준:

Learn to Program: The Fundamentals의 954개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Harish S

Jan 14, 2018

Lots to like about this course as an introductory course to programming. I have been a student of programming for 7 years, but still this course helped me relearn the familiar topics as well as introduce me to new concepts that are indigenous to python. Python makes life a lot easier when it comes to programming. About the tutors of this course, their videos were really engaging and they never presumed that the viewer knows the programming vocabulary and traversed every concept step by step leading to the unveiling of the overall lesson. Looking forward learning the second part of this course.

PS: Paul, you look a lot like Mark Hamill

교육 기관: Matthew G

Aug 29, 2017

I enjoyed the course and did learn a lot. Thank you to the teachers.

The material in the first few weeks was presented at a slow pace, perfect for beginners. Additionally, there was enough difficulty in the quizzes to make some questions a challenge which kept things interesting.

The only small negative to the course is that it is quite theoretical. Additional simple practice exercises would be beneficial to actually provide coding practice on each concept. However, I was able to find these kind of exercises on other websites to supplement my learning.

I will be continuing on with other Python courses on Coursera.

교육 기관: James C

Feb 21, 2017

This is a great course for someone just getting started with programming in python. It covers the essential fundamentals for learning the language and does so in a captivating manner. There is material for reading and later review. The videos are also great because the topics of the videos are explained in a simple and easy to understand way. You feel like you a being guided by a teacher. Also the quizzes during the videos really help with reinforcing the learning by forcing you to do active learning instead of just passively watching the video and going: "I remember all that and understood everything."

10 / 10

교육 기관: 曾田

Feb 24, 2018

It really helps me to have a preliminary understanding of Python,and now I know how to write a simple program by myself, in the future I will continue to learn Python and hope to make a great progress in this field,even though I major in Civil Engineering, I like computer programing,so I do really appreciate the University of Toronto for their selfish share and the teachers for the hard work they have done. And I know Jordan Peterson is a psychological professor in the U of T, I have seen his public debate with a host, I really admire his rationality.Hah~~ That's all!

교육 기관: Marjana S

Dec 30, 2017

I loved this course! It wasn't too easy, the assignments made me cry, break my head, workout, pray a little bit. But the joy of finally getting it right is worth it all. I learnt a lot from this course and would recommend it to people just getting started. I had no experience with Python at all (just basic HTML and CSS) but just stick with it and get the textbook. Also, the discussion forums are amazing and everyone should use them. The mentors always get back in time and are helpful in the way they explain without giving away the answer. On to the next course for me!

교육 기관: Thuan M

Oct 17, 2017

Great class on fundamental programming. This course teaches the student programming even if one does not have a background at all in programming, let alone Python. The instructors try to drive home the process of a programmer and how important it is to understand, not only what an expression or operation does, but also why and how Python computes lines of code the way it does. The quizzes are fair and balanced and the assessments apply the week's materials effectively. Highly recommended for a beginner in Python even with some programming experience.

교육 기관: Artem D

Jul 31, 2018

Very good course!

Very usefull from fundamental point of knowledge. You'll build basics of 'how to create BEAUTIFUL code'.

I've took it after having some practice in python. So I've completed it really fast. 100% wort it!

Thank you a lot! Will join the second part tomorrow.

P.S. Before entering this course I've already passed another one (Russian course on Stepik by Bioinformatics Institute) + completed additional practice excersises (pythontutor.ru).

Highly recommed to take these for further or advance practice for Russian students.

교육 기관: Steve H

Jan 25, 2019

This course was amazing. The instructors did a great job of introducing new facts in a clear and very understandable way. The in-video questions were a great addition and ensured you were following the concepts they had just presented. As well, the quizzes and assignments consolidated what you had just learned - it was great to get immediate feedback on how you were doing. I knew nothing about Python before and took this course as an intro to going deeper into machine learning. This was definitely a great step.

교육 기관: Alex Y

May 07, 2017

This course is excellent for beginner. The concepts in the video is clearly delivered and the quiz and assignments are very well created to make you think and fill in the gaps which the videos intentionally left out. I particularly like this arrangement, because it actually make us think more and reinforce what we have learnt in the lecture. Everytime I think I have learnt it all through the lecture, I found myself still learn ing a lot more after the assignment. Thanks for making this amazing course.

교육 기관: Michał B

May 17, 2018

Everything clearly explained, the assignments are strong advantage of this course. After watching a video it's possible to read everything once again, as almost every lecture (besides only 2 of them) is also prepared in the written form. I recommend to attend this course along with their book, marked as "optional reading" - then it'll take a bit longer to complete this course, but this book covers also another aspects (17 sections with excercises for each). Wish they'd do something for Java and SQL!

교육 기관: Joshua H

Apr 10, 2019

I really enjoyed the forum help with Dr. Patrick, and the video lessons and the professors are great. I like how they explained everything, and how you could follow along. I also like the way it's laid out, as it made it easy to learn. I am glad you can do the quizzes and assignments multiple times, as it allows you to learn from your own mistakes, which makes the lessons better understood. Thank you, I am glad I was able to take this course, especially from my computer located in Michigan.

교육 기관: Hugo E J R

Sep 02, 2019

A very good course

I think it accomplishes with its purpose and covers the most important elements about Python and programming.

All the information and modules have clear and neat organization and it's really easy to follow the lessons and complete the assigments and tests.

The assigments themselves are very challenging and push the students to use the knowledge aquired in the lessons and lectures.

Overall, I am very happy with this course and I would defintely recommend it.

교육 기관: Robert F

Oct 18, 2017

Amazing course. I had no experience in coding and haven't used real maths in 10 years. The first 2-3 weeks were a bit more frustrating than the rest of the course with the expected steeper learning curve, but the satisfaction for completing feels amazing. They way they teach, along with the platform itself is incredible, I'm genuinely shocked how much I was able to pick up in the time that I did - feels like a perfect intro to programming concepts and practical experience.

교육 기관: Daniel G T

Mar 02, 2018

El curso proporciona una base fundamental para programar en python. Lo que mas valoro del mismo es su perfecta dificultad, ya que los exámenes y prácticas resultan dificiles y retadoras pero no frustrantes. Además el presente curso también enseña la dinámica fundamental de lo que consiste la programación teniendo que encontrar soluciones creativas a los diferentes ejercicios planteados partiendo una gran cantidad de recursos suministrados por el mismo.

교육 기관: Zhenqian Z

Aug 20, 2019

Perfect for those who had some programming background but not used for 10+ years like me. The course has a reasonable increase in difficulty and the quiz during the lectures were very helpful in understanding the contents. The HW enhances your learning of the lectures and has lots of similar options so please be very careful. I would recommend the lecture of read and write to add more examples in distinguishing similar functions.

교육 기관: Nada A

Jan 22, 2018

Amazing helpful course that took me step by step to learn Python. The videos, explanations, pop-up quizzes, weekly quizzes and assignments were helpful and encourage learning.

If you already know Python, you might find this course too basic but it was fine for me.

The discussions are informative and the mentors and other students are helpful creating a good learning experience.

I truly enjoyed it and learned a lot ! Thank You ^_^

교육 기관: Sarah P

Jul 27, 2019

I LOVED this course! Not only did I learn so much, but the walkthrough of the code was so helpful. I also really liked the mini quizzes during the video lectures. I will continue to use the visualize tool as I continue my journey into this new skill. I would like to extend a very big thanks to the fantastic instructors and moderators. I will be on the lookout for more programming courses from the University of Toronto!

교육 기관: Akala

Jul 02, 2017

Thank you Jennifer and Paul for making such a wonderful course and making all the material available for all. I have manage not only to code but also to build my own first game in Python. The learning journey with you are both fun and challenging. I am truly grateful for all the hard work you have dedicated into this course and looking forward to explore more coding courses with you. Thank you very much! Xie Xie!

교육 기관: Guilherme H C

Feb 15, 2017

Awesome! I already had a very good idea about programming, so it was kind of fast to go through this course. As always, I learned a lot by listening to all the basic principles of programming again. Different people have different approaches when teaching, which makes sometimes easier to understand things that haven't been much clear yet. Special thanks to UoT and Coursera, you've made learning easy and fast!

교육 기관: Garry C

Nov 09, 2017

As someone who needed a refresher in Python (having first taken this in university, many years ago), this was a great course with many useful tutorials and examples. It taught me how to think through problems a lot better than Code Academy, and I felt that the material was at a good level. I will be taking the follow on course and hopefully this provides a good foundation for my learning into data science.

교육 기관: bhavan p

Jun 09, 2018

Jen and Paul are one of the best professors that I have seen so far. They have explained concepts in a very organized and interesting manner. They have designed this course with great excellence and have developed a best way of testing our learning by grading quizzes and assignments online within a matter of seconds. I will feel lucky to get a chance to learn personally under the guidance of Jen and Paul.

교육 기관: Nick R

Jan 21, 2019

This was a great introductory programming course. I've tried other courses on different sites before and have given up due to lack of solid examples and explanation. This course kept me interested due to its format and pace. The use of video lectures with questions throughout, quizzes at the end of units, and challenging assignments led to an engaging course and a solid understanding of the material.

교육 기관: Adrienne M

Oct 11, 2017

The course is an excellent intro to Python and programming languages in general. The teachers were precise and clear in their language, and taught at a pace that made it very easy to follow along. I appreciated their efforts to encourage best practices early on, particularly teaching the debugger tool and python visualization tool so that we really understood what was happening in computer memory.

교육 기관: James M

Apr 07, 2017

This is the first MOOC that I've done and it couldn't have gone much better. The presentation is good, the examples are useful and the pacing was just right for me. You could probably get through the material in a lot less than seven weeks if you wanted to, but I found that the pacing allowed me time to experiment with the various concepts discussed in the videos and to improve my understanding.

교육 기관: Piotr M

Dec 10, 2017

Very good introductional course. I strongly recommend to pause videos and try implement code before instructors (especially during later weeks, when you have enough knowledge to figure solutions out on your own). The course was delivered in a very understandable and consistent way. After this course I have an impression that I managed to think in a programmer way (of course on a basic level)