Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

맥마스터대학교의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
stars
49,847개의 평가
13,803개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

최상위 리뷰

AA

Sep 14, 2015

It is great learning course brought me clear understanding strong structure of how to learn more effective. I regret only about one, that I didn't passed this course when I started learning at school.

EA

Apr 29, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Bolat

Jul 01, 2019

This was the first only course I've completed ever.

And actually with high grades. The lowest grade I've got is 83%.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to improve their learning, or want to try to experience what online course is, as there is a high probability that you will complete it and get a confidence that you can complete something that requires a systematic approach.

One of the reasons that this course is easy to complete and learn, because it's not overloaded by heavy readings or so.

If you decided to take this course, I would recommend to chunk your learning, for example, I did 2 videos each day, so you're not bored or overloaded. Also, it was effective to analyse the script first, make notes and then watch a video of this script.

Good luck!

And huge thanks to Barbara! Looking forward to see you in Kazakhstan this September!

교육 기관: Paolo V

Jun 16, 2016

Very well prepared material: videos, interviews, further reading, quizzes, tests, with many opportunities to dig deeper into the topic. Professor Barbara Oakley has an easy going, but always professional approach, with a great care for details and a tremendous ability to put them into the big picture and make learning fun and easy! Everything was really well curated and of high quality. Big contributions also come from Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, which talks more about the neurological aspects related to learning. I have learned quite a lot of interesting techniques that I can use to improve the way I study, even if I am at the end of my Ph.D. ! And not only techniques, but also insights on how the brain works and how to relate this to the process of learning. Absolutely suggested to anyone interested in learning deeper and probably faster than before!

교육 기관: Jose G M

Aug 28, 2019

Dr. Barb Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski are two inviduals who have come very far in life regarding academia. They are experts in their fields of study as well as two people who pushed their cognitive abilities to a considerable length.

It is with this knowledge that I can surely recommend anyone to take their course Learning How to Learn. They went through the length of making an easy to follow program capable of teaching anyone in any language more about the process of learning and how to become better at it via practice.

Do away with all preconceived notions of not being smart enough or believing someone is simply born gifted. This course will break those ideas in order to expose the truth - that our brain's intelligence and cognitive abilities are much like any other muscle, thus, it can be strengthened via disciplined training and practice.

교육 기관: Shivam Y

Jul 02, 2017

I loved the course. Until now, I was learning not knowing how things are working, how to retain better. As Dr. Terrence Sejnowski said "Using most efficient machine in the known universe without instruction manual". I learned about different modes of thinking and how to use them efficiently, different types of memory and how to learn better and for long term, Chunking, Illusion of competence, and ways to be more productive and learned about procrastination as a habit to deal with it efficiently, test taking techinques and what not!. If you are reading this review and have not joined the course. I would highly recommend you to enroll in this course, its life changing. Without exaggerating, It is the best course i have ever done. Thank you Dr. Barbara Oakley, Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, LHTL team and coursera for this wonderful learning experience.

교육 기관: Dan M

Feb 06, 2018

While procrastinating preparation for the Series 7, I somehow ended up on the signup page for the course. It sounded interesting and since I was already having difficulty studying, I figured I'd give it a try.

It was not at all what I expected... to say that 'I learned how to learn' from this course is an understatement.

Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr.Terry Snejowski (and team) integrate current information, sophisticated concepts, and effective techniques into a simple educational message for a broad audience to understand.

The tools to gain from this class are universally applicable and will always be useful . The time commitment is light, convenient, and flexible- it works with anyone's schedule.

As instructors, Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski are warm, welcoming, and motivating about their coursework.

There is something for everyone to learn.

교육 기관: Gwen C

Feb 14, 2018

I highly recommend this informative course for anyone pursuing educational courses or interested in life-long learning. I became interested in this course, and coursera, through reading Dr. Oakley’s Mindshift book. I’ve gained many valuable insights which I’ve started applying to projects at home and work, and plan to put the techniques to work in upcoming MOOCs.

The tips on overcoming procrastination are helping me make significant progress in home organization efforts I have been putting off for months - all while listening to the encouraging course lectures online.

Dr’s Oakley and Sejnowski use gentle humor, fun illustrations, and an engaging manner to communicate valuable tips. I’m looking forward to joining the other courses that they have developed. A big thank you to both of them for helping me jump-start a new journey in learning!

교육 기관: Barton C

Nov 15, 2015

This course is extremely interesting and useful, regardless of age, profession or future prospects.

I already knew about most of what is covered in it regarding the brain, the techniques and everything, but only superficially. This course goes in-depth on a lot of known things about the brain, procrastination, time management etc. and summarizes it very well, in addition to dispelling false knowledge in the same domains.

The course itself is very well structured and comprises regular quizzes and tests that, although seemingly silly, help a lot in memorizing the contents and realizing how true what is explained is.

It also offers a very wide range of additional material, be it video interviews or further reading, for anyone wanting to dig even deeper on one particular subject.

I personally enjoyed it from the beginning to the end :)

교육 기관: e s

Mar 31, 2017

I absolutely loved this course--it's fun, a confidence-booster, and it has completely changed the way I study and think about the world around me. I love that it takes concepts that would normally be intimidating, such as 'neural pathways', and 'diffuse and focus modes', and puts into them simple terms, like "pin ball paths" and "zombies". I've learned why certain chemicals in the brain react the way they do, and what stimulates them, and how to better plan and learn the subjects I'm taking. This course also has special tips for those learning science, algebra, and languages, as well as how to better prepare for tests, and how to take breaks efficiently. This course works for all ages and levels; middle school to college, and all subjects, from music theory to chemistry. Do yourself a favor and enroll. You will not regret it.

교육 기관: Tree T

May 08, 2019

Learning how to learn is a fundamental subject. I would recommend it to everyone who considers themselves a scholar/academic/student of life, take this course if you're pondering about it. Becoming a better learner improves everything you're studying. I wish this course was around when I was in high school/university.

The intro didn't hook me right away like an award winning TV series but it quickly became very interesting.

The course is sectioned into four parts: Introduction, procrastination, memory and renaissance learning (more tips and advice). As a procrastinator, I benefited from this course tremendously. But I enjoyed the entire course not just that section.

I can say with confidence it's helping me with my TAFE studies right now.

Thank you to Barbara, Terrance and Coursera for creating this MOOC.

Ancora imparo, Tri Tran

교육 기관: Ir R

Oct 31, 2015

Very clear, crisp teaching. One can see that much effort of thinking and design went into constructing the course. I especially appreciated the use of illustrations (the zombies, vampire, and such) to illustrate the ideas while creating a powerful (humorous) visual associations with the material covered. The sections were short and concise, making it less threatening to engage, as well as a feeling of accomplishment and progress. I also liked that the quiz questions weren't about tricking the student; rather, the testing were part of the teaching process. In short, the teaching method put into practice what is being taught. It was the first Coursera class I've taken, which has been a true positive experience which inspires me to take additional classes, using, of course, the tips and skills I learned in this course.

교육 기관: Sheila B

Nov 12, 2018

This was a fantastic course--one that I wish I had taken years ago. The nuns always told me I shouldn't cram for a test, but they never really told me why. Not waiting till the last minute was an admonition right up there with "Eat everything off your plate" and "be nice to your sister." If I had know that that I would actually learn more, probably study less in the long run and do far better in school if I studied at regular intervals and actually tried to recall the material--as opposed to highlighting text and re-reading chapters--I would be less inclined to put homework and studying off till the last minute. And I would have done far better in school and remembered much more from my classes. This course is a must for anyone who wants to be a better learner, whether it be in math and science or in the humanities.

교육 기관: Ari P

Nov 18, 2016

Superb course, simply exceptional.

This course has hit home in many of the problems I've faced throughout my life not only in studying and learning, but in doing the very tasks I consider important on a daily basis.

The material is fun, engaging, intuitive, and above all interesting.

Professor Oakely and Dr. Sejnowski have done a marvelous job producing such a great course, and presented the material in exceptional grace and compassion.

To say I've enjoyed the journey this course has taken me would be an understatement - it is one of the most important experiences I've ever had.

I cannot thank you enough, and I will be recommending this course to as many people as I can - I believe this course can be timely for anyone, at any age, at any level of education.

A 6 stars out of 5 possible ones for you,

Thank you so very much.

교육 기관: Doruk D

Jun 15, 2017

Learning How to Learn is a beginner level study skills course. Its content can be compared to all sorts of text books written for junior year college students to help them put things in order from the beginning. However, this course is informed by most recent neuroscience. What you will hear in the videos is not only practical, but also the simple truth about how your brain works and how you can learn. As a beginner level course, it doesn't take you to the roots of things they teach or any technicality. If you are curious about why and how, you won't find the answers here. But that makes you a specialist, not one of the target audience of the course. In general, Learning How to Learn does an excellent job for its purpose. The course and Barbara Oakley's 2016 book with more elaborate content, are highly recommended.

교육 기관: Valli G

Nov 01, 2018

This is the most useful course I have taken in my life.

The lessons are practical and useful.

I see much improvement in my learning abilities & I am more confident now, than before taking this course.

By adopting the techniques I learned in this class, I am learning new subjects to advance my career.

I had been working for years and out of college, I had many doubts about my learning abilities, in particular of new subjects. This course cleared my doubts, dusted off my core abilities.

Great collaboration of the instructors, Dr. Barbara Oakley & Dr. Terrence Sejnowski.

I am very inspired by Dr. Barbara Oakley. I have Bachelor's and Master's degrees in Engineering.

This is the BEST value for my money.

Grateful to Dr. Barbara Oakley & Dr. Terrence Sejnowski for putting this invaluable course. Best Regards.

교육 기관: Nghia N

Dec 04, 2019

I first heard about this course through others learning to program. I finally decided to start it, and I'm very glad I did. Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski both clearly know what they're talking about and their lessons and information opened my eyes to how to efficiently learn. I will likely have to pour over my notes again and again to make sure I am learning correctly.What I found the most interesting was how sleep rids our brain of metabolic toxins and that there was two modes of thinking: focused and diffused. I believe these will have the most impact in my studies. If anyone is on the fence about taking this course, as long as you are interested in improving then I would suggest taking it. It's free after all!Thank you for making this course, and I'm interested in reading the book as well.Best Regards

교육 기관: David D

Feb 07, 2019

The course was absolutely brilliant. It opened my eyes to the problems I had recently encountered with making a career change and learning the subject matter as easily I was used to. The course also provided both easy to implement strategies for learning any type of subject matter as well as backing up those recommended strategies with scientific fact and relatable examples from their personal experiences with learning or by sharing stories about accomplished scholars and scientists who experienced failure and self-doubt on their journey to success. Dr. Oakley and Dr. Senjowski presented the material in a very down to earth but fun and professional manner. I would highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone wanting to learn something new or deepen their learning on topics they are already familiar with .

교육 기관: akash g

Aug 24, 2017

I found myself lucky that i found this course on coursera, attended it and completed it. Its not just a course but more than that. Given by professor Barbara Oakley, this course not only helped me to improve my learning method but also taught me various things, like various techniques to increase my learning power, memory power, etc. Apart from the course curriculum, what i found most informative were those interview sessions with people, professors from different places. You can gain a whole bucket full of information by watching those interviews and going through the supplement material that Prof. Oakley has included in this course.

I will suggest this course to everyone who are having a problem while learning new things. Great Course by Great Professor. Thanks Prof. Oakley for teaching "Learning How to Learn".

교육 기관: Arifa S

Apr 01, 2016

This course is a brilliant, succinct and scientific illustration of the proverb- " the learning period for human is actually from cradle to grave"!!!!!

I have just completed this amazing course and I highly recommend this course to each and every human being who is willing to learn!!!!!! The most wonderful thing about this course is it makes you confident of the learning journey by familiarizing you with the hiccups of the journey and also the necessary ammunition to overcome those . I, a career banker for 15 years and mother of two, sort of gave up the idea of formal education/online degree mostly due to time constraint. After doing this course, I figured that time is not a constraint- the real constraint was my attitude. I'll remain grateful to Barb, Tery and the whole team forever- I am simply overwhelmed.

교육 기관: Liuginsa R

Nov 03, 2015

I am fully in love with this course. OMG! If I just would have found this course years ago, I would have saved so much stress and questions about why I am not learning anything from the bunch of text books and articles I read. Now I know I didn't have the right approach and I was just letting information in but it was all lost in the jungle because I wasn't taking the time to form any chunk. Another problems I had, illusions of competence and not taking brakes. Of course, after LH2L, I take brakes and repeat material more frequently to myself. I try to use my diffused mode to recall important information and stick them on my long term memory. Thank you so much to Barabara Oakley for all the interviews to different personalities and for her fresh demeanor while explaining concepts and facts. I just love it!

교육 기관: Wenjie Z

Sep 15, 2017

I was so surprised that I totally covered the courses independently. finally I finished it by my efforts. actually ,during in the period of learning courses online , I thought I just had a try to learn it , but at last I REALLY kept on learning the courses after everyday's work. I did it .Thanks a million for your high-quality courses which inspired me to challenge myself and build up my own learning style, especially I shared my knowledge ang stories with my students in my class. last but at least learning here online realised my dreams of receiving education in the United States ,Although I never went to the US ,I still learned such amazing courses online of the the US. Tahnks so much for offering chance for the people like me to broaden our horizen,build up our confidence and expland our life !

교육 기관: Susanne M

Nov 03, 2015

Dear Dr. Oakley, Dr. Sejnowski and the dedicated team in your back, who certainly were part of making this wonderful MOOC possible. As you mentioned repeatedly during the course, learning is a life-long quest and can be one of the most enriching endeavours if one has the right tools to not only know how and where to acquire knowledge but how to make the learning process fun and memorable. The MOOC and the book offer these tools. I have already sent out links - especially to my son, who loves learning but is at the same time a genius in procrastination :) -, to teachers, friends and students and hope that some of them will get inspired by you, the way you have inspired me. I will definitely follow you on Facebook! All the best and once again: Thank you very much for this wonderful learning experience!

교육 기관: Janet B

Feb 24, 2017

Interesting, engaging and educational! This course is taught in a motivating, fun style that will keep you glued to the screen. Learning How to Learn gives a solid understanding of how our brain retains and recalls information. The videos will help you to beat procrastination, use your time most efficiently when learning new material, and memorize information in different ways. There are lots of super test-taking tips too! Though not required reading, Barbara Oakley's excellent book, "A Mind For Numbers", is a well-written companion for this course. The suggested articles for each week's studies are enlightening and so interesting that you'll read many more than you expected, and come out all the wiser. If want to create a strong foundation for learning new material, this course is a perfect choice.

교육 기관: Sebastian S

Feb 12, 2019

This course is absolutely fantastic for anyone dealing with learning difficulties, or even trying to find ways to be more efficient at the essential task of learning new things. It tackles the science behind our minds capabilities to retain information. It also focuses on the cognitive and behavioural sides of compelling ourselves to keep learning from the age of 1 to 100. The chapter on procrastination and motivation was extremely useful to me. After decades of struggling with school and career related courses I finally feel that I can recognize the symptoms and correct the negative behaviours that held me back. The video lectures are very informative. Sometimes the subjects are presented with a touch of humour, which helped me remember more then usual. Beware of the Zombies and Vampire bats.

교육 기관: Amy S

Oct 06, 2019

This course is one of the best, if not THE best, MOOC I've taken so far. Dr. Oakley presented the material in a very thoughtful and clear manner. I understood the material easily because of her approach to teaching. Just as she suggests that learners use analogies or metaphors, for example, as a method to better understand and remember a concept, she also uses these methods to present the course material. These methods allowed me to do very well on all the quizzes (which was difficult for me in the past). I thought I knew a lot about how to learn before taking this course, but I was mistaken and had what the course refers to as "illusions of competency." I now know what to do to be most effective in my future learning endeavors. It was well worth my time and effort to take this course.