Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

맥마스터대학교의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
69,034개의 평가
19,605개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera.org/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

LL
2020년 5월 17일

This class really focused on the process of learning. It taught me so much. I even shared ideas with my college and high school student. They were surprised as some concepts were helpful to them also.

OM
2016년 4월 28일

Great course. Took it since it was the most popular MOOC on coursera,. Have started using a few of the techniques and they are very effective. Highly recommended no matter who you are and what you do.

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Anna S

2020년 6월 3일

This course provides excellent strategies to improve memory when learning and to increase understanding without spending hours studying material. In addition, the course instructors do not waffle - they get to the point fast and so, this course does not feel heavy or boring to learn, but a large amount of valuable material IS covered! There are a tonne of eclectic resources provided and learners can go as deep as they want into improving or developing their own learning techniques with guidance from this course. I highly recommend this for educators as well as learners.

교육 기관: Valentin L

2020년 2월 9일

A very comprehensive course on the subject of learning. I have used the research-backed methods taught in this course to improve my learning and not only did I gain a better understanding of the material I was studying but as an adult/lifelong learner, I use the techniques in this course to retain a lot more of my daily reading on various subjects.

I also strongly recommend (to everyone not just Math/Science majors) reading Dr. Barbara Oakley's "A Mind for Numbers" - which is a very useful complementary text for the course.

교육 기관: Browneyes B

2020년 4월 17일

I really loved this course. It wasn't love at first sight, of course, and the first date didn't catch me at all. But as I progressed, I became more and more interested, until I finally loved it.

It is a course that I recommend for people of all ages, as we are constantly learning throughout life. But I recommend it above all to parents, as this way they can guide their children much better in the learning process.

I would have loved to know this material long before, but it's never too late :) I learned a lot,

Thank you!

교육 기관: Swan L

2020년 6월 3일

Thank you for this course. I've been out of the structured learning environment for a while now, and this course not only instilled some good learning habits (anybody can do one or two Pomodoro), knowing the why behind these habits helped. So now, when my brain gets foggy, I step away from my books / computer and go do something else that allows me to switch my brain to a different mode.

교육 기관: Tatsiana S

2019년 1월 27일

This course is really beneficial! I am so amazed that every statement here is based on proven scientific facts. And we can use every piece of knowledge from this course in our real life. I could not stop to return to this video day by day until I finished. It is really the first course on Coursera I have completed. I appreciate authors amazing work and look forward to Part II.

교육 기관: OMAR C

2020년 6월 16일

This is by far one of the best personal development courses I've completed. I hope I would have found this course earlier in my career.This is highly recommended to anyone, especially students who are in the path of learning so they can 'Learn how to Learn'.I'm going to ask my daughter to take this course as well.Thanks to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski for design this course.

교육 기관: Kenneth A L

2020년 2월 8일

This is a brilliant course. It has taught me so much. Sometimes I was skeptical as when it was suggested that switching from focused to diffused mode of thinking can solve problems: but I tried it out and it really works! Chunking, memory, testing, procrastination avoidance etc.; all are covered and the techniques used allow you to really learn and master a subject.

교육 기관: Stevenson I

2020년 6월 9일

This is THE BEST mooc course I have taken EVER. I congratulate Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski for putting it together. I learnt so so much about my brain, how we learn as humans, overcoming the procrastination monster and helpful tips to pass tests and interviews. I rate it 10 Stars (Ok ok, There's no 10 star rating, so I'm giving it a FIVE)

교육 기관: KAVYA M

2020년 5월 3일

This course was amazing!! Would recommend it to anyone. The professors Barbara Ma'am and Terry Sir were very engaging and really friendly. The tips given by them to avoid Illusion of Competence and Procrastination really proved to be helpful. If you are looking for some better ways to learn and to make most out of our study time, this course is for you.

교육 기관: LOPEZ R T E

2020년 6월 29일

The course was great, i see why it´s one of the most important on the web, i learned more about myself with the help of the videos and lectures that were very interesting and well planned, i will used the new knowledge on my day to day like in my university career and more on, hope to be a better person while achieving my objectives and goals.

교육 기관: Ermelinda M

2020년 4월 18일

As a lifelong learner I found this course extremely useful.It was worthy of investing my time in learning how to learn.I gained noteworthy takeaways from this course.Grateful to Dr,Oakley and Dr,Sejnovski for their excellent teaching.Much appreciated the interviews that associated the course.Highly recommended to everyo

교육 기관: Monica J

2019년 1월 16일

Wonderful course to understand how to build sessions for different learners, what to incorporate in learning for maximising learning. From a student perspective I think a lot of what we have done in school but forget to do as adult learners, that we still need to be the child when it comes to learning

교육 기관: Massy R R

2020년 4월 30일

I think as human we constantly learning, but sometimes we learn hard but may not necessarily effective. Through this course, I learned the scientific reasons why some techniques are effective and some are not. I also learned simple techniques that I can apply in my learning process.

교육 기관: Thomas C

2020년 6월 23일

I wish I had known all these study techniques back in high school and college. It is not too late. With what I know now, I am looking forward to share what I learned. I am also confident that I can still learn new thing. Thanks for sharing learning how to learn.

교육 기관: Karen F

2020년 6월 8일

Course illustrated very effectively many enhanced approaches for successful learning processes based on neuroscience and proven methodologies. Recommend this course for others who find their usual approaches to studying and learning to be less than satisfactory.

교육 기관: A. F M M H B

2020년 6월 9일

This course is really very helpful course. I suggest everyone to go through this course before enrolling any course. Because before learning we have to know properly how to learn. This course will help you to achieve this skill.

교육 기관: Mohammad T R

2020년 6월 9일

The course was amazing! Now I do know about my brain and how to control it. Looking forward to learn new amazing stuffs using the techniques I have learned through this course. Thank you very much to make a course like this.

교육 기관: Stephanie S M P

2020년 6월 9일

This course opened my mind to understand me better, the ways I learn and respect my process learning, not focused in the product. I love it. Thank's Barbara to share this knowledge for free! I really appreciate it. <3

교육 기관: eduardo t

2019년 3월 21일

I wish this would be taught in schools at early age and through out. Many fail because many don't have a frame of study to rely on. This is a course that has help me have a more grounded study habit that works.

교육 기관: Daniela D

2019년 1월 15일

This course gave me a new perspective on how to approach learning anything new from now on. Would have loved to have been aware of the concepts and ideas discussed in these chapters while I was still in school!

교육 기관: Kenrick S T

2020년 4월 10일

Practical and simple - 1) outlines relatable misconceptions and 2) provides clear solutions that I'll surely apply to my own learning goals ASAP. Very few "filler" videos, which were interesting anyway.

교육 기관: Constantine D

2020년 8월 2일

This course accumulates a clear and valuable set of thoughts that structure knowledge about learning principles and tactics. Also, it was interesting to know some new things about how the brain works.

교육 기관: Abdul H

2020년 6월 9일

This course give me a new perspective about learning. give new spirit and motivation to start learning again, after 5 years i get graduated from college which i feel don't master my study material.

교육 기관: Natalia B

2020년 7월 21일

This was an amazing course! I've been doing so many of these techniques presented without ever knowing much about them! I'm so glad I took this class, it's very insightful, and helpful too.

교육 기관: Tyler

2020년 6월 9일

Terrific - great overview of the basics of learning and memory complemented with practical tips for beating procrastination, effective studying, and test taking. Great course.