Chevron Left
Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects(으)로 돌아가기

맥마스터대학교의 Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
52,320개의 평가
14,505개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

최상위 리뷰

AK

Aug 18, 2017

It was a wonderful journey of learning how to learn. Simple and effective. Wish i had come across something like this a little early in life. But better late than never. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

EA

Apr 29, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

필터링 기준:

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects의 10,000개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Jakub P

Oct 23, 2017

Couldn't imagine better introduction into MOOCs and strongly believe this course should be included into formal education curriculum as obligatory and one of the most important ones. That's because it deals with the very basics of education - what learning is, how do the brain do it, what processes are involved and how to use them properly. Understanding this in the first place would make huge improvement to any further learning no matter the skill.

Course could be valuable either for those starting their education (giving them proper tools, changing perspective, etc.) and more advanced learners (backing some of their intuitions with scientific data, dealing with some misconceptions, consolidating and presenting knowledge in well structured way). It's all done in layman terms and thanks to dr. Oakley in a very kind, fun and supportive atmosphere.

Another good indicator that creators practice what they preach is the design of the course itself - videos served in digestible "chunks", funny and attention keeping quizzes, little reviews, etc. Overall - highly recommended.

교육 기관: BIKOUTA-MENGA

May 29, 2017

Hello,

I am an NLP Master from France. I have developped differents skills in learning or life coaching ( Erickson Hypnosis, Neuro Semantics...) Your course is just a very good one. And for free ???? No excuse for anyone who wants to improve its skills about learning how to learn. If You are interested about the functionnal of the Brain that even the best scientist as never talked about until today, I strongly recommand you to read The Hidden Face Of The Brain written By Dominique AUBIER. You have never read something like that. I sware because she reveald what the Brain is for the Traditions and compare the Crown knowledge and the Scientist Knowledge reuniting those both approach that are usually describe as opposite. This books is probably the best TOP interleaving learning you have never read. Thank you so much for what you did. Maybe once a day we will meet. But if we don't you will shall say to all the people you know Cyrille BIKOUTA-MENGA aka WALLO11.37.04 has followed our course. THANK YOU SO MUCH Mrs OAKLEY. Keep going smiling and sharing all your knowledge.

교육 기관: Enyu L

Apr 29, 2018

This is by far one of the most rewarding courses I have ever taken! As a psychology major, I really love the way how Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski not only discussed the many useful learning techniques but carefully explained how those methods work neurologically, and I believe understanding the underline neural networks could definitely help us make better use of what we have learned from this course.

My favorite part of this program were actually the optional interviews Dr. Oakley did with many other very accomplished scientists and learners. It was always inspiring getting to know how they learned and what they though would be the best way to learn effectively. Also, I have to admit that the way how this class was presented -- one several-minute video for one small topic -- was in effect quite convenient when I felt the need to review a few concepts. I could simply look at the title of video and recall the points involved in the lecture.

In short, this class was surprisingly rewarding, and I would recommend to anyone who wants to learn better.

교육 기관: Gregory G

Sep 05, 2019

This is a great course, I wish I had learned it before or during my university studies and not many years later.

When I started university I had a lot of misconceptions about how to learn in a smart way. High school was pretty easy for me so I never learned how to study hard material, and subsequently I struggled through my years in university. This course is for people who lack the correct learning techniques and habits. Not everyone can force their way through university by sheer brain power - some have more and some have less of it. Understanding how your brain works and how to feed it information the right way, when to give it a rest and which kind of rest, how to leverage your diffused mode of thinking and even how to approach an exam - these are all skills that will help you achieve more, while staying focused and energized.

Even if you're busy, this course is well worth your time, and pretty much all of it can be learned without even looking at the screen, so just download the course and listen to it during your commute or your jogging. Thanks Barbara!

교육 기관: Mary V

Jul 11, 2016

This course ought to be given in Freshman year of High School and again in Freshman Year of College. Dr. Oakley is a wonderful conduit for this information. In week 4 the ADD brain is discussed with examples of what the world considers brilliant men. Amazing to learn why my learning as well as my daughter's has a "delay". I noticed her brain development when she was a baby. Day after day I'd try and teach her a new word or sign language or body shape in play. Days later after I thought okay, I'll wait and try something new, she'd do the thing I was teaching her days before. I did not understand this at all. For me now, I see how and why when information comes into my mind, it scatters and then days later, I feel a knowledge chunk forming. wow. This is something I wish I knew many years before. But it is good now that I learned so much about learning and how to feel positive about how best to use what I have to learn new things. Great course. I believe everyone should be required to take this course early in life... and then refresher later on.

교육 기관: Sonja L

Jan 02, 2019

As a chronic procrastinator, I usually get work done in the most stressful way possible because I've never found the motivation to get past all the excuses I make for not starting earlier, even after researching so many study techniques and hacks. This course has been amazing in explaining the reasons that commonly praised techniques work in terms of how our brain actually functions. For example, I have heard that revising at longer intervals will help you remember more information. In contrast, Barbara Oakley explains that spaced repetition will consolidate information from your short-term memory into your long-term memory, as the information won't be considered unimportant and erased from your neural networks. Knowing why these techniques work really motivates me to actually use them.I learnt so many new approaches to studying and life in general in LHTL. I highly recommend it as a way to boost productivity, minimise stress and feel better about the process of studying as something to look forward to, now that there's a framework behind it!

교육 기관: Gabriel G

Sep 16, 2019

This course is truly life-changing. I took it in order to solidify my studying habits. I started Engineering recently, and since it's (in Canadian schools) quite a math-intensive and very rigorous program, Learning how to Learn seemed like a must-do while I'm not neck-deep in exams and homework. As a current student, and as a learner, this course is definitely something that anyone should do if they want to improve their long-term memory and reduce their time spent on studying to assimilate the same amount of information. In my honest opinion, one of the best parts of this course is that you can easily follow it while on transit. For my part, I would download a week's lessons at a time and listen to them while walking to the bus and while riding it. Of course, I missed some information by not using my focused attention so much, but I had time to do my homework at home and learn how to learn elsewhere. Thank you so much for building this incredible course. Thank you even more for making it free. TL;DR: Take the course.

교육 기관: Knut H

Dec 16, 2019

Gorgeous material, which is from my point of view extremely powerful, valuable, as well as very hands-on oriented. I have liked the way very much, how the material is presented and how nice the key ideas are educated in an easy to remember way. Already during the course I practiced a lot of it in real life, e.g. the memory palace technique to visually deposit items I want to remember. Btw and to be honest, w/o the examples in the videos I wouldn't even have dared to be that freaky, funny and evocative with my own memory images on such ;) The only pity thought coming up into my mind is, that I should have had this knowledge 20 years earlier ! Anyhow, happy event never comes too late. I now switch back to master tough subjects of AI Artificial Intelligence, which is currently part of my lifelong learning, and where I made a little step from to the Learning How to Learn course. I'm sure, I speed there up tremendously. Thanks so much to Barb Oakley, Terry Sejnowski, and the Learning How to Learn Team. Kei, Germany

교육 기관: Kristine F

Oct 15, 2016

I first took this course when I was at the height of my frustration over learning Nihongo in Osaka. During that time, I had been studying almost everyday for 11 months. I was constantly reading, reviewing, and answering exercises. I often studied until I was too tired to study any more, and yet I could retain the information only for a while. The way I was studying wasn't working for me, and I wanted to know how I can study and learn more effectively. A month after I started taking this course and applying some of the techniques presented in it, I noticed that I was able to remember more of my Nihongo lessons. I actually spent less time studying, but I think that, with the techniques I was using, I was studying in a smarter, more effective, and more efficient way... I continue to apply these techniques in relevant situations in my life now. I also review this course every once in a while. Each time, I find that I still learn something from it. Thank you so much to everyone who came together to make this course possible!

교육 기관: Lucy

Jan 23, 2019

I highly recommend this course to just about anyone as the concepts can be applicable to students, experienced professionals, instructors, researchers, etc. With today's rapid pace of technology advancement, I find it sometimes overwhelming to know where to even start to understand some new technologies and concepts that are outside of my profession. In fact, technology within my profession is rapidly changing owing to IoT, so I really want to understand these other technologies that are now working in tandem with my industry. I took this course in hopes that it would make approaching some of these new concepts easier. It greatly exceeded my expectations. Some are completely novel concepts, while others are things I've been doing for years, but didn't actually have a name for them (e.g. diffused mode of thinking). The course is very easy to follow and I really liked the professors. They seem to be genuinely nice people who want people to learn and succeed. I will end as I began. I HIGHLY recommend this course.

교육 기관: Andrea G

Jul 08, 2018

I am a Learning Specialist who has been learning about learning for more than 20 years. I coach students in grades 9-12 to apply strategies that will maximize their learning in all subject areas, and I took this course in hopes that it would be a means to validate and enhance my teaching practice. The clever lectures did not disappoint! I learned several new ideas and strategies to bring to my practice, including an interesting test taking strategy linked to focused and diffuse modes of thinking, which I found fascinating and very applicable. I was able to link every lecture to previously learned content on memory, language acquisition, attention, and comprehension. I especially appreciated that the lectures were short and clear; the instructors are obviously well aware of what the research tells us about sustained attention - and they practice what they preach. The spiraling nature of the course was also very helpful; the brain loves spaced repetition! I am enthused for the new academic year to begin.

교육 기관: Catherine B

Oct 21, 2019

Excellent course! Even though I am myself a professor in an engineering discipline and very experienced at "learning", I discovered new things in this course and I also learned reasons behind some aspects of learning that I know from intuition and experience. It is very helpful to understand the neurological underpinnings for why certain methods of learning and studying are beneficial. The concept of "chunking" is very powerful. The rational behind metaphors, mnemonics, and memory palace is really interesting. The reasons that spaced repetition of concepts are effective, the function of the diffuse mode of the brain, and the simple "pomodoro" technique are all excellent concepts and incredibly useful in learning engineering concepts, languages, or anything in life. The instructors are excellent, the videos, illustrations and text are well thought out. Highly recommend this course for anyone at any level! I have recommended it to fellow professors, graduate and undergraduate students, and my children.

교육 기관: Cara

Jun 18, 2018

From different brain modes to research-proven learning techniques, this course not only covers how brain works but also what works for the brain. It is a constant reminder that the brain is a powerful tool that learners of all kind could benefit from knowing it a little better. Besides, this course give scientific backings to ideas such as changing your thoughts can really change how your brain work, and leisure activities are not just good for you, they are essential in stages of learnings etc. These are all powerful life-style suggestions that could help us live better, happier and more efficiently.Lastly, I found taking this course in itself is a power tool against procrastination. A few minutes a day of listening to the videos got myself start thinking about my learning methods, and I would usually go to with a productive day of trying to challenge myself according to the suggestions from the class videos. Thank you for such a great course. I only wish I could turn back clock and take it earlier.

교육 기관: Sara K

Jun 14, 2019

Learning how to learn didn't start out as a course I thought I would be very interested in. I took it because I could audit it, it seemed like a kind of easy class, and I wanted to make sure I could handle taking a course online. But this course turned out to be great, and I would recommend it to anyone doing anything, but especially students in school. This course should be required for all high school and college students. It teaches you about which study methods are most effective, how your memory works, how procrastination works, how to reduce test anxiety, and much more. The videos aren't always so engaging, but that's because it's a lecture, and they're cut up into short pieces, so it's easier to focus on them for a limited amount of time rather than an hour long lecture. I'm really glad I took this course and I'm grateful to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski for allowing people who aren't enrolled in their university to take it. If you're wondering whether to take the plunge, I say do it.

교육 기관: Keith F

Feb 26, 2020

Top class course presented in a straight forward and practical way. They give you bit-size pieces of information that you can easily learn, apply learning methods to the real world (it does not get to theoretical) and they actually practice what they preach. For example, at the end of each part of the course they ask clear questions to secure you recall your key learnings. There are also short and simple practical tests at the end of each section which are supporting your own development and learning. The course has mandatory material and additional material which is of interest but not required, In addition, you have the opportunity to review short papers developed by fellow pupils. You can opt in or out for that but I opted in and found it very inspiring as people were very open and vunerable about their situations and learning opportunities. Great course! Would highly recommend! My own objective was to support my own learning as well as to learn tools for teaching others.

교육 기관: Rishabh M

Sep 02, 2017

A wonderful course that collects various important tidbits of information related to learning and an explanation of how these can be included in our daily routines to make ourselves more efficient and effective learners. The beauty of this course is that:

1. It's a collection of ideas, tools and techniques that you would normally need to scan several sources for. It collects them and presents them in a way that is most useful for learners.

2. The videos and short and easy to grasp. Rather than overloading students with information, it has been broken down into smaller 'chunks' (ha) that are easier to process.

This course should be mandatory for students across the world because even though our educational systems make outcomes quite clear, there is little explanation of what a good way to achieve those outcomes is. Great work by everyone involved. Highly, highly recommended course for anybody struggling with learning anything new or just wanting to become a better learner.

교육 기관: Rachel R

Apr 08, 2020

Participating in this course was a high point on my weekly task lists! Barbara and Dr. Terry have incredible attitudes and are so motivating and encouraging, making it a delight to learn from their exceptional knowledge. They compile the information in a way that is easy to follow and understand and offer realistic and practical insights backed by a lot of science and empirical evidence. They even apply the tools and resources they recommend throughout the course, driving the ideas home through immediate practice. I found the course to be truly enjoyable and incredibly helpful! I have recommended it to friends and family throughout the time I have been taking it and will continue to do so! It is helpful for any age or demographic. Whether you are in the midst of your studies or need to warm your engine back up after some time away from learning, Barb and Terry remind you to take charge of your own learning and provide you the tools and kind motivation to do so!

교육 기관: Steven H

Mar 28, 2019

There is a lot that can be said about this course. I will try to keep it short. This course, for me, was a refresher, in the sense that I needed to get back on track. Specifically, I needed to get back in the mindset that fosters learning. I enjoyed the course and would recommend it to anyone. It has given me the can-do attitude needed to continue assigning time to learn new and existing subjects. Moreover, it has opened my eyes to the notion that procrastination does not have to define you, and that with a little will-power, one can achieve anything.Full disclosure: there were times when I temporarily lost focus, became bored with the content, which was primarily due to the fact that I was not using the techniques discussed in the course, such as the Pomodoro technique, which would have helped me tackle the course with more mindful intent. To anyone that is interesting in the fundamentals of learning and best practices, this is the course for you.

교육 기관: Patricia K

Dec 23, 2015

Are you feeling that your memory is slipping and maybe you need to do something to keep on top of things? Or spending your time studying for courses but not feeling you're getting enough out of it as you could? Or perhaps you just want to understand a little bit more about how the brain works and how you can get more out of it? If so, Learning How to Learn is for you. This lecture-focused course offers many great insights and tips for studying more efficiently and learning more efficiently--whether you're still in school or long graduated. I really looked forward to the next week's lectures and often watched them more than once. I finished the course feeling like I learned new tools and was reminded of other things long forgotten. The weekly quizzes and challenges after each lecture help to ensure that you are understanding the finer points of each week. I decided to take this course before taking other MOOCs. Well worth the time and effort.

교육 기관: Dr S R P

Feb 11, 2020

Learning How to learna Coursera Mooc It is beginning of innovative learning process for me once again with creative insight. It is very favorable to person like me who is professional already and completed doctorate long back. The process and skills have been explained so well in this course that I was able to get connected with motivated student in me. I was very happy to practice with Pomodoro technique and I started working on it while I was studying this course. I also appreciate the spaced repetition for efficient learning. Coming from behavior science background I feel the scientific base of this course is as strong as skills aspect of it. I learnt to relax while learning as well as I experienced joy of learning. Though, you may be highly educated, as a student of this course you can always progress further. At the end I will like to thank DR. BARBARA OAKLEY & DR. TERRENCE SEJNOWSKI for launching this course on COURSERA

교육 기관: Shaun M P

Mar 08, 2016

Absolutely terrific course, easy to digest, and perfect for first time MOOC'ers. I was familiar with a few of the techniques and didn't realize I was already doing them. It was awesome learning some of the science behind how, and why these techniques work. This course has definitely informed me on some EXTREMELY use-full learning and studying techniques! I highly suggest getting Barbara's book as well; it is also easy to digest but intellectually stimulating. While it is not necessary during the course, it is an excellent tool for interleaving your learning by reading the book after completing the course. The optional interviews are very helpful as well, they are structure to be part informative and part review and part inspirational; the instructors clearly understand the concepts they are discussing. After altering a few of my habits, I have already experienced a big difference in my learning abilities.

Thank you Terry and Barb!

교육 기관: CAROLINA A D

Apr 09, 2020

Excelente curso, muy completo, recomendado para cualquier persona no solo para estudiantes; estas técnicas y formas de manejar tus estudios son practicas en cualquier área de tu vida. Muchas gracias a las personas que permitieron que este curso sea posible, gracias por su esfuerzo y gran dedicación, a los invitados y los queridos profesores Barbara Oakley y Terrence Sejnowski por compartir sus conocimientos, y por supuesto a Coursera por estar para todos nosotros en todo momento.

Excellent course, very complete, recommended for anyone not just for students; These techniques and ways of managing your studies are practical in any area of your life. Thank you very much to the people who made this course possible, thank you for your effort and great dedication, to the guests and dear teachers Barbara Oakley and Terrence Sejnowski for sharing their knowledge, and of course to Coursera for being for all of us in everything moment.

교육 기관: Sky U

Mar 20, 2020

I loved the course especially because of how short it was, and how compact the videos were. It gave me the information I could use, without being dry or boring. The additional reading material and interviews were fascinating. The biggest positive I got from this course was a change in my thinking. I used to believe that your scores on tests were determined mostly by genetic aptitude, and even if I studied smarter and harder, I wouldn't do much better. After applying what I learned in this course, I see I couldn't have been more wrong. I actually enjoy the process of working now, because it can be interesting, and doesn't involve as much of the self-hate and negative emotions that are a result of excessive procrastination. I'm excited to sit down and get stuff done! The course also encouraged me to check out other methods for increased productivity that I'd heard of, like having a system of accountability partners and kanban.

교육 기관: Cheuk L N

Mar 12, 2018

This a great course! If I had taken it 30 years ago, I would have a complete different life now. But it is never too late to take it even I am in my middle age. I like the course that has a lot of neuroscience research back-up so that the learning methods suggested by are more reliable. Although it is scientific research base, it does not mean that it is away from the practical purpose. In fact, the topics are very practical for any learner. And the course helps me to resolve a lot of doubts on some "myth" about learning methods. I also like the optional interview with different successful and adventurous learner in the world. The stories of the guests are very encouraging and inspiring. Their special learning methods also echo the content of the course. It strength my understanding of the concepts. I feel full of hope with positive mind and practical methods to begin my new learning journey in my new career.

교육 기관: Tatyana N

Nov 09, 2019

Great course for everyone, even if you are not interested in learning. It will equip you with many techniques that you also can apply in your job or life. In the course, you can face several rather complex concepts, which initially seem difficult to understand. But the way Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski present the material makes them much easier to understand. They use good picture analogies and metaphors to explain the material. I'm not a native English speaker but I took this course and passed all tests successfully. It made me believe that I can do much more about learning, helped me not to give up when I was about to drop out of my English classes. I've learned that when you struggle with a new concept, you just need to approach it from a new angle to make understanding smoother. And it's very important to let your brain have a rest from time to time. Thanks for teaching me how to learn.