Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
stars
4,618개의 평가
835개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

최상위 리뷰

EC

Sep 10, 2019

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

CS

Apr 01, 2018

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra의 833개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: 熊华东

Jun 06, 2018

I want to handle the concept in a short time, so I take this course. This course really meet expetation.It really help understand a lot linear algebra and build me intuitions.Now i'm confident in learning ml.

As for the course content,The content is abundant,i really love the visualization and programming work.The programming work is fully explained , and help me in understand the materials. The programming work is a little bit easier.

Mostly, i love David! Especically his brilliant smile ,excited expression and body language which inspiring me a lot!表白David Dye,比心!

교육 기관: Dharma T N

May 09, 2018

This is indeed one of the best math courses I have ever done in my life. This course changed the view I look at matrices and vectors. I have been 'transformed'.

The instructors were simply amazing. Totally loved every bit of the course. Amazing way to teach this math course, with proper motivation and intuition.

And for all the people writing negative reviews about no Machine Learning being taught in this course, it is clearly mentioned that this course teaches the math which is required for learning Machine Learning and not Machine Learning itself.

교육 기관: Surendar R

Jul 21, 2019

This course is absolutely stunning in terms of explaining mathematical concepts. I personally have been out of hands-on touch with mathematics for a decade, and by going through these videos, tutor has been absolutely spot on for me in bringing back my mathematical memories. Would highly recommend this course for anyone wanting to enhance their mathematical skills or brush up on mathematical concepts before doing deep dive in machine learning concepts. It really connects and I am enjoying this. Thanks for all these wonderful lectures.

교육 기관: Praveen D

Feb 02, 2019

I found the course very interesting and useful. I really liked the approach of relating Linear Algebra to practical use. Traditional approach to teach Linear Algebra (which assumes some familiarity with Modern Algebra) may not be for everyone and the approach taken in the course will find much acceptance among curious learners. Thank you so much for putting this course together. May be, putting together a more detailed and longer course on Linear Algebra will be good idea - if it happens, i will be the first one to enroll !

교육 기관: Daniel R

Jun 04, 2019

I have tried Linear Algebra via Gilbert Strang lectures before but found them unengaging because they are so abstracted. Here we see how the linear algebra applies directly to pageRank, which I found a cool example.

In general the questions allow for a good practice and build up, and I really appreciate the lecturers appreciation of the fact that hand-written calculus is becoming a thing of the past, and so we should focus on the big ideas behind the methods that are now so standardised for processing linear systems.]

교육 기관: Rui_Lian

May 25, 2018

Many thanks for David and Samuel! I've been struggling with linear algebra for quite a long time. I can do the math, but I get lost when I try to use linear algebra to understand something in statistics and machine learning. The intuition based approach is perfect. I like the apple-banana example, I like the transformation and visualization of eigenvector in 2 dimension. Also, the page rank case is quite cool and thought provoking.

I think I will stay on this series for following two courses.

Thanks again!

교육 기관: Wayne C

Mar 29, 2019

Best presentation of fundamental Linear Algebra I have ever seen, hands down. (I'm an old-timer, reviewing this material to get up to speed on Machine Learning and Data Science.) While teaching the mechanics, the concepts behind them are always reinforced. Thank you for presenting this material in such a meaningful and digestible way. I also greatly appreciate the reverse-transparent-whiteboard which to me is highly preferable to the other methods I have experienced in online courseware.

교육 기관: Xiaojun Y

Oct 08, 2018

This is such a wonderful course. Two instructors explains complex concept with clarity and enthusiasm. They explained linear algebra from a different perspective. When I learned in college, I was taught to remember lots of definitions and concepts, but in this course, they teach you why we do certain steps not just how to do. However, I want to remind people who are interested in this course, it is not for beginner or who wants to learn linear algebra, instead of linear algebra for ML.

교육 기관: Jonathan F

May 20, 2018

Excellent introduction. For me, as someone who had studied vectors and matrices at school, decades ago, it was wonderful to go back and re-learn this stuff in a different way. This course is much more focused on the meaning and usefulness of these things, rather than just learning how to do the maths. The first 3 minutes of the session on eigenvectors brilliantly showed in graphical form what they really are, something I'd never really grasped at school. Recommended.

교육 기관: Nelson F A

Apr 25, 2019

This is a great course! Be advised: It is very challenging and will kick your butt if you haven't seen much linear algebra before. The content in the course won't always be enough to solve all of the assignments. But look into the forums and use some other sources and you will succeed in this course. Overall I am glad I took it even if it will take a little longer until I can say that I master everything that was covered in the course.

교육 기관: Sébastien W

Jun 22, 2019

The perfect dosage of the key elements in linear algebra to mastering the concepts of machine learning. The course leaves you with a clear intuition for vectors and matrices and how these objects can be manipulated, and most importantly why these objects are fantastic. I am an immunologist with a little background in machine learning and my last studies in mathematics taken 15 years ago, but this course has the perfect level I need.

교육 기관: Burouj A

Jul 06, 2019

This course was like God-gifted.

I had just finished my 2nd sem at college(BTech) and we had Matrices in the syllabus so I knew how to calculate (just calculate -_-) eigenvalues, vectors and so on but I just saw them as numbers. At my college, we were not given such geometric insight and when I learned it through this course, MY GOD was I blown away.

I feel so lucky to have found this course! I learned A TON of stuff.

Thanks!!

교육 기관: FRANCK R S

Apr 15, 2018

I took a great pleasure to study this linear algebra course, teachers are very talented since their way to explain mathematical concepts make it very easy to understand , in fact with this particular amazing approach I changed my perception about learning math and sciences in general. I do recommend this course if you look for a global overview of linear algebra for direct application in machine learning or computer sciences!

교육 기관: ChristopherKing

Mar 22, 2018

This is such a great course for student already have background about college level linear algebra knowledge, but don't know the under relationship among those terminologies. For instance, after this course I finally know what is dot product means, what is eigen characteristics. The content of this course are well prepared, this is such a masterpiece from Imperial College London. Thanks to all stuff behind this course.

교육 기관: Ashish D S

Apr 09, 2018

This is excellent course on Linear Algebra. The best part of this course is, lectures focus on the physical interpretation of the topics rather than making you practice formulae without understanding. This course helped me refresh my Linear Algebra concepts and also helped me better understand change of basis and Eigen related concepts.

Many many thanks to professors for excellent course design and presentation.

교육 기관: Vincent L

Jun 09, 2018

I took this course as a review for my data science curriculum. Previously, I was having trouble recalling the details of matrix arithmetic which was making it hard for me to get a deeper understanding of machine learning. After doing this course, you should have no trouble following along. For those already familiar with the material, it should take about 1-2 weeks to complete if working at a leisurely pace.

교육 기관: Joseph F

Jun 20, 2019

This course is perfect for many including those, like myself, who haven't seen this for 20+ years. I can imagine that it would be helpful to have, at least, a proclivity towards programming if you do not have familiarity with a programming language (at least course comments tend to reflect this).

For those experienced with coding, no difficulty will be encountered, as focus here is trivial (numpy libs).

교육 기관: Lisa M

Apr 07, 2018

This was a fantastic course. I'm new to linear algebra, so it was bit intimidating even signing up (!) - but the lecturers were really, really good about explaining all concepts from the ground up so it was always possible to visualize and extrapolate from solid foundations. For me it was a stretch each week, but in a good way: very challenging, but achievable with enough planning and effort.

교육 기관: Ying T

Mar 09, 2018

An awesome course with high quality video lectures!! I will recommend this course to anyone who's looking for a refresher or quick pick-up on linear algebra. The homework's compatible with the materials and is quite interesting. The lecturer also did a good job on explaining critical concepts with easy but good examples. I'm looking forward to more similar courses from Imperial College.

교육 기관: Jayant V

Mar 29, 2018

I have taken a course on linear algebra during my graduate program and must admit that it was not one of my more comfortable ones! Coming back to this course online, it really did help me get a much better understanding of concepts like dimensionality, basis, eigen values and eigen vectors. I intend to go over the lectures at least a few more times to be sure I have understood it well.

교육 기관: Huy M

Mar 11, 2019

I've only done half of the course but I already know this course is one of the best on Coursera! Complex concepts in mathematics are broken down into simple terms. The professor also clearly stated what those concepts are used for in practical, which certainly help learners have a clear idea of why they are learning this course. Very exciting every time I click onto new lessons!

교육 기관: Ramon M T

Aug 20, 2019

Excellent Course, I remembered the linear algebra that I saw in school more than 26 years ago (I studied applied mathematics and switched to Actuaria), but now with examples related to DataScience.

As observation.

For someone who has not programmed in some language the exercises can be challenging, but they are always very intuitive if the example steps are performed.

교육 기관: Art P

Jun 08, 2018

This course was of high quality, was very helpful in explaining some key concepts and I appreciated the instructors energy and humor. My only complaint about the course is that some of the quizzes and homework assignments felt significantly more challenging than what was covered in the lessons; however, the discussion forums proved helpful in closing this gap.