Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
10,222개의 평가
2,054개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

최상위 리뷰

EC
2019년 9월 9일

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

PL
2018년 8월 25일

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra의 2,063개 리뷰 중 2026~2050

교육 기관: Justina N

2020년 8월 6일

The final module went too fast and skipped over a lot of explanation. this really does under the good parts up to week four.

교육 기관: Graham G

2020년 3월 26일

Not nearly enough detail on the concepts. I had to watch all of Khan Academy's Linear Algebra course to understand.

교육 기관: Roy M K

2021년 2월 3일

There are few or no worked out examples, making it hard to solve quizes.

교육 기관: Achal A

2021년 8월 23일

more reading content is needed

교육 기관: Rishabh J

2019년 2월 27일

Not as challenging. Too basic

교육 기관: Andrey L

2021년 3월 23일

Not for the beginner at all

교육 기관: Yash G

2019년 12월 14일

not clearly explained

교육 기관: Wei T L

2019년 7월 10일

it is too expensive

교육 기관: Sreeja D

2020년 11월 27일

Tough syllabus.

교육 기관: Petey C

2021년 8월 22일

This course is seriously lacking. I spent almost all of my time on Khan Academy due to the horribly high-level video lectures. The lectures in this course threw out strategies and ideas without explanation of the foundational mathematics behind them. Then the students are expected to apply these unexplained strategies to complex problems in the quizzes.

On the other hand, the programming assignments were a joke. They provided zero learning experience as everything needed to solve the assignments was provided in the already completed sections of code. Minimal thought was involved. This course needs a serious overhaul. These are complex topics that require more than a 4-10 minute video to explain. I understand that this is not an actual college course, and as such the professors cannot go as in depth comparatively. However, in its current state, this course has given me little understanding of linear algebra. I would suggest potentially increasing the price of the course so more in-depth lectures can be provided.

교육 기관: NG, S L

2021년 6월 1일

This is absolutely not a beginner's course. The professors did well at explaining but there is a huge gap between what I've heard and what I've done in the exercises. There is not enough information to complete the exercises. When they recommended Khan Academy as a reference source, I feel that it should be a complete whole alternative set of source instead of a supplementary source because Khan Academy explains much slower but in-depth. 5 weeks is not enough for me to go from scratch to an advanced learner. I couldn't retain what I've learnt too because all I heard were words that mean nothing to a novice like me.

교육 기관: Kim K

2020년 9월 18일

I wish I had read the most recent reviews for this course. I thought that by taking an online course, they would have produced a course that had a logical flow to it. I was trying to get caught up on some math that I missed taught by a TA that was all over the place. This was the wrong platform. I had to figure out what the first teacher was talking about by going online and learning it there. I was looking for a structured course that would teach me some basics. Not worth the money.

교육 기관: Chris D

2020년 2월 28일

The lectures don't cover the material in the quizzes. The only supplemental material is a single, incomplete formula sheet. In fact, it's hard to see what resources they are trying to provide other than a forum where other users fill in the many gaps and suggest alternate sources of information. Maybe it picks up significantly in weeks 4 and 5, but after going through weeks 1-3, spending most of my time trawling the forums and looking for study/learning materials on other sites, I'm done.

교육 기관: Lea S

2020년 7월 19일

While the course gave a rather high-level theoretical view of several concepts, the quizzes were based in applying those theories. Without examples of how to apply the theories, I don't feel I have a good understanding of the concepts or how they can be useful in real-world scenarios. I needed to use other resources to actually understand the concepts to be able to complete the course, which made the course rather frustrating and useless.

교육 기관: John D

2019년 6월 30일

Overall, rushed and poorly explained. It attempts to condense a semester-long course into laughably short videos (maybe 30 mins per "week"). If you had linear algebra before, probably won't be very challenging. But if you haven't... there is no help/explanation to the quizes and the message boards are filled with unanswered questions. Essentially, this course builds a very shaky foundation.

교육 기관: Tom D

2020년 5월 10일

The lectures will cover basic principles and then rather than build on basic principles to solidify the knowledge with practice and repetition, this goes straight to extremely challenging scenarios and me banging my head against a wall. Many comments within the forums are from other students like me who had to access external resources to bridge the gaps.

Not worth the time.

교육 기관: Gemma G

2021년 3월 8일

Do not bother with this course. There are some amazing free resources on youtube (3 blue 1 brown, and rootmath are two). This is poorly explained, the grading system is ridiculous and buggy, there is zero support from the tutors. Worst Coursera course I have ever taken.

교육 기관: Aerrow N

2021년 8월 28일

There is no support or interest from the creators to help you through and the automatic grading scripts are erroring out. You will never complete the course as the final assignment wont work at all and no one will help.

교육 기관: Rajeesh O T

2020년 10월 1일

to be honest it was not that understandable i had to go through other materials and videos to get some concepts. i think I speak for a few portion of people who too would have felt the same!

교육 기관: Rawitch M

2020년 4월 14일

Unclear explanation, week 3 final assignment is a huge discouraging no matter how you can do the previous exercise with ease or not. Maybe this course is not for me.

교육 기관: Ian G

2019년 12월 18일

Bad content and broken links run otherwise adequate lectures. Fortunately I was taking this course as a refresher--there are much better ways to learn linear algebra

교육 기관: Cindy C

2020년 7월 5일

Didn't thoroughly explain concepts. Tested on concepts not covered. I regularly needed to go to Khan Academy videos to fill in the gaps this course has.

교육 기관: Kimberely C

2019년 12월 19일

Not very good. Had to use YouTube as I had no knowledge of Python. Needs to have more examples and walk you through Python to be able to understand.

교육 기관: Priyabrota S

2020년 6월 8일

No practical example. Like University hard mathematics lecture. This course content does not relate to the course title.