Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
10,134개의 평가
2,041개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

최상위 리뷰

PL
2018년 8월 25일

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

EC
2019년 9월 9일

Excellent review of Linear Algebra even for those who have taken it at school. Handwriting of the first instructor wasn't always legible, but wasn't too bad. Second instructor's handwriting is better.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra의 2,048개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: eklektek

2020년 7월 25일

The course seemed rather lazy using classical presentation methods not going the extra mile and benefitting from more model methods of visualisation and interaction. Instead the student has to hear a lot of words and try decipher the language and sketches of the speaker. I'm a native english speaker and I had problems. Complex subjects need a language that everybody can understand - visualisation.

There was finally some interactive visuals, in the fifth and final week, but these seemed more of an after thought. Also they were not integrated into the course. They would have yielded greater benefit if the lecturer used them too and pointed out specific points. Instead this information came from a few lines of explanatory text.

Generally the course material seemed like the minimum they could get away with, almost as if coursera charges hosting space.

In conclusion, the course has been beneficial, but it could have been so much more beneficial. So next I will look for a course more tightly coupled to my learning style and requirements. If this search fails I may return.

교육 기관: Jennifer L

2020년 7월 5일

This course was pure torture. Lessons were great and interesting but then you are testied on something entirely different! You would be wise to have some knowledge of Python before starting. Be prepared to spend days trying to pass assessments that were never explained. Oh, and there's no supporting materials to help you navigate! Just thousands of pleas from other students begging for help and guidance. Took me three months to finally complete. I would have dropped by I needed it as a pre-requisite.

교육 기관: Mesum R H

2018년 8월 26일

The course tries to cover every edge of Linear Algebra but fails to integrate each step with what relationship it has with Machine Learning. Core Formulas and Mathematical derivations are shoved down from throat without any respect for learners from non-engineering or computer science background. Other than week 1,2 rest was completely case study or example less UN-intuitive lectures of matrix formations and transformations. Needs a severe revamp with better examples and broader picture.

교육 기관: Arno D

2018년 12월 19일

Some concepts were not clearly explained and there were a lot of issues with assignment grading working properly.

교육 기관: prakhar k

2018년 3월 11일

Not good, concepts not explained clearly.

교육 기관: Richard C

2018년 10월 16일

Does not explain mathematics in videos

교육 기관: Dmitry R

2019년 1월 13일

Authors try to teach babies. Might be good, it is hard to judge for me as I know linear algebra. Definitely boring to me. For example 3Blue1Brown (which they reference btw) is ingenious in my opinion, so it might be not me who is the problem.

But the quizzes just don't make sense! The ones where solving problems involved might have 2 numerically right answers but only one of two is treated as the right. And there are just idiotic or not covered in lectures answers for quizzes without problems.

교육 기관: Patrick B J

2018년 7월 25일

Hands down the worst course I've ever taken in my life! Poorly put together and extremely short videos that don't provide an adequate amount of knowledge especially in relationship to the given quizzes. I truly hope this course is removed.

교육 기관: sitsawek s

2018년 9월 13일

Quite difficult for learner who didn't know about linear algebra.It jump and few example and skip a lot of part for understand.But good for recall.

교육 기관: Parichit S

2020년 8월 25일

It's an amazing course but apart from the feedback that I have in the post-course survey - I would also like to share the following things.

1) In the quiz on 'Eigenvalues and eigenvectors' in the Week-5 module -- I personally faced a lot of problems in completing the quiz. I understand the concepts pretty well from the lectures but still, I could not figure out the questions in this particular quiz. Particularly the questions about finding the effect of using a particular Link matrix on the eigenvectors. These questions were not easy to answer as intuitively speaking I did not learn how to interpret the meaning of different values in the eigenvectors matrix to answer those questions forex. it makes the eigenvalues small or It makes the eigenvalues we are looking for larger.

Overall - it is a really useful and much-required course to fill in the gap between the mathematical fundamentals and the practice of machine learning. I am glad that the Professors came up with this idea to design this course.

교육 기관: Stefano C

2021년 4월 23일

Thanks for this wonderful learning opportunity! This is the first math course that I've succesfully completed and I'm quite proud of myself. Teaching material is very clear and nicely structured - I've shared the first video about Eigenvectors and Eigenvalues with many people: it's illuminating -; also, quizzes and programming assignments really helped in understanding some of the main concepts. Actually, the nice balance among theory, hand-made calculations, geometrical examples and programming assignments provides a valuable way to learn from multiple perspectives.

Apart from this. I realize that I still have to completely "digest" some of the concepts that have been introduced here. In other words, I've learned to use them decently but for sure I need to reharse some of them in order to fully understand their meaning. But, by the way, this is fair enough: linear algebra is a complex and deep subject and five weeks are probably not enough to fully understand its main principles.

교육 기관: Bram D

2020년 4월 29일

In reviewing this course it is important to state what this course is and what it is not. It is not an in-depth formal introduction to the mathematics of linear algebra. For those who are looking for that, the course simply does not deliver. Secondly, while it is technically possible to complete this course without any beforehand knowledge of the topic, I think this would be incredibly challenging to do. Indeed, the course is not intended to be a first primer in linear algebra. The ease with which the instructors just juggle the cosine rule, or calculate the inverse of a 2 by 2 matrix indicates that they do assume you know such things. So also absolute beginners will be disappointed with this course. However, if you have had linear algebra in your past, and you are using this course to refresh your mind, it is absolutely brilliant. I can confidently say that nobody has ever presented this material to me in as intuitive a way. A well deserved five stars from me.

교육 기관: Juan R

2021년 3월 27일

The course touches base in the main topics of Linear Algebra utilized in ML. I took this course at the same time with a ML one. I hadn't had linear algebra in University and the contents of this course helped me get through many bottlenecks in the ML course (which obviously takes for granted Algebra).

The videos are very well produced, animations look great and explanations are crystal clear.

The instructors present the topics in a friendly way and always keep the focus on the concepts rather than on manual calculations (of which you won't be doing much in ML...).

The only downside is that watching videos more slowly (0.75x) is not fluent. I don't know if the issue is on my end or if the videos don't have enough frames per second.

If you have no Linear Algebra basis and are planning to do ML, It's definetely worth it taking this course.

교육 기관: John T S

2020년 5월 7일

Above all I found this course well oriented toward becoming useful. The conscious avoidance of heavy mathematical description was a good choice for the online medium. As a learner, I suppose I might have learned better with a bit more... testing, I suppose is the word? To work through a few more examples? But actually, a few well-chose gulfs between the presented materials and (especially the last) testing materials brought some useful questions and explanations. The eigenvector materials are conceptually slippery. Maybe one more example to work through, with clumsier numbers? Although, maybe that would have been boring and confusing...

Which is why I'd give the course five stars. It makes complex material usefully simple, while acknowledging that some things are of necessity left out.

교육 기관: Hansa A

2021년 1월 25일

This course is an excellent course to learn and apply Linear Algebra to algorithms and day to day life problems. Typically linear algebra is a very hard course in undergrad life but after this course I have gained a solid knowledge in linear algebra. I think the main reason for this is that in this course the instructors have a different approach when teaching this course. They visualize entire concepts of linear algebra so that we can understand the topics very clearly. This is the way to teach linear algebra. There is no point of doing 100s of problems to face an exam, the only thing we need is to visualize and understand the concepts of linear algebra. Thank you Imperial College for doing that. This course was extremely important for my further studies. Do it, you won't regret it.

교육 기관: Ritobrata G

2020년 7월 12일

As a student with Physics background, I though that this course will be a quick recap for me. But was I in for a surprise! This course completely changed how I see matrices and vectors. The instruction videos were very edifying. The teachers were great. I am fervently thankful to Imperial College, London and Coursera for such a great course.

There could be some improvements- the assignments felt ambiguous at times. They were not clearly worded and what was expected was not clear. And there could be some very practical excercises in ML where the concepts I learned could be directly applied.

A special note- the instructors were great. Their method was well thought, cordial and the videos were very informative.

교육 기관: Mia C

2020년 8월 2일

I have just completed the first of the 3 courses in this series. First of all, I must thank Professor Dave for the excellent efforts he put into delivering those first 4-week of fun and excellent topics. You have made it so interesting to me that I would love to know more about linear algebra. (*** Not only that, you have taken us on a informative journey of shopping for apples, bananas, and carrots to some visits to bears! : ) : ) ***)

For week 5, Professor Sam had given me some excellent materials as well. I look forward to taking the second course in the very near future.

Both professors are so smart and clearly great teachers! I feel so lucky to have stumbled into this course!

THANK YOU BOTH!!

교육 기관: Warul K S

2020년 6월 28일

The representation of mathematical concepts as "tools" to solve practical problems was beautiful and enabling, the way the instructors build our intuition rather than providing us with a bland approach to simply solving mathematics questions was phenomenal, the structure of the course was definitely first class as one would expect from Imperial. We were guided through the assignments but not fed the answers, our understanding was tested and additionally built upon through each exercise. Overall, I would recommend this course to anyone studying the subject in college or desiring to build a solid mathematical foundation for machine learning or even simply to appreciate the beauty of mathematics.

교육 기관: VARUN S

2020년 9월 14일

The reason I liked the course is its focus on important topics. Many complain that it was not for beginners and I understand the frustration. They shift gear in some assignments, but you have to put time to explore and self-study the material to move ahead. That is how the real learning happens. I think there was an advantage of not having a specific reference book. I have tried other LA courses and these books can absorb all your time and you may find yourself at the same place after 6 months. On contrary, this course forces you to go out and study only the topics you are struggling with. All in all, one of the best MOOCs I ever attempted ... Cheers!

교육 기관: Anikesh M

2020년 5월 16일

The course is extremely interesting and fun to do. Instructors have put a lot of efforts to make some complex topics seem easy and engaging. I could relate the calculations being implemented into practical ML applications. But i would also like to add that the last module of eigen-values and eigen-vectors gets very confusing especially the page rank algorithm and the quiz of eigen values and vectors..If the instructors could add a video or two to explain some more concepts, the course would become a perfect package even for a beginner.

AT LAST I WOULD THANK IMPERIAL COLLEGE LONDON FOR MAKING A FABULOUS SERIES. I REALLY LOVED LEARNING FROM YOU.

교육 기관: Iacopo C

2020년 8월 22일

Its purpose is to build the intuition behind the fundamental, important topics of Linear Algebra required in Machine Learning, it aims to develop the insight required to access other courses on Machine Learning Tools and as such it does an amazing job.

The clarity and enthusiasm of both the instructors is priceless and when a subject like this is communicated so effectively it makes a huge difference.

If what you're looking for is an understanding of the concepts that are the foundation of ML together with some rigorous exercises that will help you solidify you knowledge then I definitely advice on enrolling into this course.

교육 기관: Andrew K N

2021년 2월 21일

I have changed my opinion of this course. I am now at almost the end of the part three of the course, the PCA. and I have learned a lot. David introduced very important concepts of linear algebra in this part and this was really important part of this course.

One thing I have learnt from the course is to pay attention, take notes, pause to understand what is being taught. This enabled me to learn a lot and get the best out of this course.

Sometimes when a quiz seems too difficult, its ok to leave it a little and continue with the course. it gets easier to do it after a few more steps are taken forward.

I am truly thankful!

교육 기관: aborucu

2021년 6월 5일

ınstructors are engineers rather than mathematicians. This is very valuable because their pure focus is on application of relevant subjects rather than pure math point of view. of Dissecting relevant topics and applying them was a gem for me, rather go through 500 pages abstract algebra course without being able to tell whether I will use them in ML and if so where. One who has some background in LA will spend more time on course material, otherwise be prepared to watch some additional tutorials on youtube regarding subject matter. But instructors make this clear upfront and also provide links as well.

교육 기관: Soumya A

2020년 7월 22일

The course is great especially for a brush up of first year concepts for someone like me, but I couldn't help smiling throughout after realizing that the way this entire course series is presented is by reflecting the video lectures while they write on a transparent board about a vertical mirror plane. Although this must have been rather simple to implement, the idea is something incredible to my mind. Classic college education never exposed me to the ideas and a need to 'build intuition' for things like this course has. Kudos, professors!

교육 기관: Hasala S k G K

2020년 9월 7일

Excellent course! I serve in academia with a terminal degree in mathematics, but yet I learned many interesting connections specifically aligned with applications. This course is designed in a way it can be easily followed by anyone with a basic mathematical background but, yet can equally be enjoyed by someone with a strong mathematical background. After taking this course, I got motivated to enroll in 'Multivariable calculus' and PCA to complete the specialization. Thank you all who put the course (and the specialization) together!!!