Chevron Left
Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra(으)로 돌아가기

임페리얼 칼리지 런던의 Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
10,708개의 평가
2,130개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course on Linear Algebra we look at what linear algebra is and how it relates to vectors and matrices. Then we look through what vectors and matrices are and how to work with them, including the knotty problem of eigenvalues and eigenvectors, and how to use these to solve problems. Finally we look at how to use these to do fun things with datasets - like how to rotate images of faces and how to extract eigenvectors to look at how the Pagerank algorithm works. Since we're aiming at data-driven applications, we'll be implementing some of these ideas in code, not just on pencil and paper. Towards the end of the course, you'll write code blocks and encounter Jupyter notebooks in Python, but don't worry, these will be quite short, focussed on the concepts, and will guide you through if you’ve not coded before. At the end of this course you will have an intuitive understanding of vectors and matrices that will help you bridge the gap into linear algebra problems, and how to apply these concepts to machine learning....

최상위 리뷰

CS

2018년 3월 31일

Amazing course, great instructors. The amount of working linear algebra knowledge you get from this single course is substantial. It has already helped solidify my learning in other ML and AI courses.

PL

2018년 8월 25일

Great way to learn about applied Linear Algebra. Should be fairly easy if you have any background with linear algebra, but looks at concepts through the scope of geometric application, which is fresh.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Machine Learning: Linear Algebra의 2,141개 리뷰 중 1626~1650

교육 기관: Lizzie M

2020년 5월 25일

It's a really good course with great tutors, really engaging and easy to follow. It can be very challenging at times if you don't come from a maths background. There are some assignments which are much harder than the examples in the lectures so some extra material to help you with those assignments would be great, otherwise personally they demotivated me. Other than that the course was good.

교육 기관: Rob O

2020년 4월 10일

Having last taken linear algebra many years ago this course was a welcome refresher. Overall the course is excellent with clear explanations, good examples, and opportunities to practice your newly learned skills. That said the last assessment on eigenvectors did not evaluate learning and skills as much as reasoning about special cases and focused on problems better solved computationally.

교육 기관: Oriol C

2021년 6월 6일

The course is good as a refresher and it helps learning the intuition behind some concepts. The professors are very likable and do their best to explain the materials. However it is not good if you are looking for rigorous explanation of the mathematics as they go very quick on most of the concepts.

Taken this into account I would still recommend it to get some quick grasp on the intuitions.

교육 기관: Mackie Z

2020년 8월 3일

I have experience with python numpy and pandas, so I found the assignments reasonable, but i think the programming assignments can be confusing to someone who has never coded before. There're a few times when I found myself lost in the instructor's explanation and needed to find more clarification online, but overall the videos are of great quality. It's a great course for self learning!

교육 기관: Pavel S

2019년 12월 12일

The biggest problem of this course is that dot-products are introduced before linear transfomations. I understood dot products through 3blue1brown videos and they are more intuitively explained as the product of the lengths of the projection and the vector projected onto. It is a subset of linear transformation a matrix vector multiplication where one of vectors is transposed.

교육 기관: Alex H

2020년 6월 8일

I'm sad, because I finished the course, but instead of a solid understanding of linear algebra, I mostly feel confusion and frustration from what I was not able to ask the professors. But overall, the instructional videos are high quality, and the quizzes were challenging. At least it forced me to think critically about the subject, so I don't think it was a waste of my time.

교육 기관: Fang Z

2019년 6월 11일

The course generally is good. However I think there are some problems in this course: 1. The course pace is too fast, some concepts are hard to understand with few minutes lecture 2. The after-practice didn't help me to boost my understanding to the lecture. Even after I finished the practice, I still wonder why this happens 3. The final quiz has too much calculations.

교육 기관: Prasad N R

2019년 9월 30일

I was expecting a lot from the course. But, it covers only the very basic portions. For example, I am not sure if I can start understanding the difficulties with normal equations and portions of linear algebra based on calculus. Also, it does not discuss parallelism of ML with linear algebra. I am not sure if this will help me read and understand Andrew Ng's ML papers.

교육 기관: Musiboyina Y

2018년 5월 26일

The course content was spot-on, covering some of the most important basics for math in machine learning. I wish there were more programming exercise based assignments and less hand-calculation based quizzes to make it close to real world applications. Overall, loved this course and highly recommend it to data science enthusiasts taking baby steps towards deep learning.

교육 기관: s S

2018년 8월 5일

This course has provided everything that it had promised. The professors of this course are really knowledgeable about the topics and the use of real life examples by them to explain each concept proves really helpful. Overall, this course would be a really good starting point for anyone willing to start their journey in the world of Machine Learning and Data Science.

교육 기관: Jennifer J

2020년 7월 17일

Great course, but difficulty spikes after the first few weeks and problems become much more challenging, albeit far more interesting though. The course reaches its peak when it challenges you on the interesting problems presented to you during the last few weeks. You may need to have some basic understanding of algebra and a bit of calculus too before starting.

교육 기관: Divyang S

2020년 7월 28일

Really Good course for people having some basic linear algebra knowledge. They could have done better on explaining some concepts rather than rushing through it... But a great refresher course... One recommendation would be to suggest good books for Linear Algebra that might be helpful for students who take this course, some book which can accompany this course.

교육 기관: Vedhasankaran H

2020년 12월 31일

Excellent Course Content and well presented. The instructors did a great Job in conveying the fine details . However The course should emphasize Python as a prerequisite and the instructors can include a lecture on "Basics on Linear Algebra with Python " in this course as the Assignments from Week3 through 5 involves applying Linear Algebra in Python

교육 기관: Julio V

2018년 9월 27일

I feel like some part should've gone a bit more in depth. Due to time constraints for the course, I guess that's why some topics where not developed further. Would be quite nice in these cases if you could point to other sources, books, etc. Or maybe do a compilation of sources based on what the students have used to get unstuck on particular issues.

교육 기관: Régis M

2018년 12월 28일

As paletras e numero de exercios foram muito bons. Porem o forum não é muito bom, existe questões abertas a 4 meses que ainda não foram respondidas, e muita repetição de duvidas.

Poderia ter apos os exercicios praticos, um video explicação de como resolver. Porque se a media é 80%, é presumivel que o aluno pode não saber alguma coisa e ainda passar

교육 기관: rakesh c c

2018년 10월 22일

I loved doing this course. I did this course to revisit the concepts I have learned in my undergraduate, I remember most concepts but there are few moments where I have to watch videos again and again to follow along, anyone who is beginner might find it a bit intimidating, but don't give up just follow along and connect the dots between concepts.

교육 기관: Matteo L

2020년 4월 20일

I think this is a great review of linear algebra, especially for someone who has already previously studied the topics.

The example with the PageRank algorithm was very interesting and a great add to the course.

Possibly a downside of the course was a lack of practice of the material, especially considering how easy the notebook assignments are.

교육 기관: Carolyn O

2021년 2월 26일

Goal is to get a gut feel through understanding math behind the python functions, but I wish they had start doing the code in parallel sooner. At end of the course, they accomplish this. Hand calculations in middle weeks were long enough to distract from the overview. It says its beginner course, but glad I had some background.

교육 기관: Yazhini P

2020년 1월 26일

The course and the faculty were amazing altogether. All my queries regarding linear algebra were cleared and I began to look at linear algebra in a new eye.

The only flaw was inaccessibility to the correct Notebook link. Only after going through the forum was I able to get the correct link as it was, luckily, posted by someone.

교육 기관: Emmanuel G

2021년 4월 14일

Covers some good basics, but I feel that I would have struggled with the programming assignments if I didn't already have some practical experience with data science in Python and linear algebra. In particular, the last 20% of the course felt (eigensystems) felt rushed and could have been expanded upon a bit more thoroughly.

교육 기관: Vinayak N

2018년 10월 14일

Good for starters. It gives a holistic view of linear Algebra. Geometric interpretation of Eigen Vectors was the highlight of the course for me as I wasn't aware of it before and the instructor helped me understand the concept very well! Thanks for putting forth this course and hope to see more in the forthcoming sessions :)

교육 기관: Rick M

2019년 7월 21일

Overall, I thought this course was worth the time. Some of the material was challenging, but the instructors were pretty good at explaining clearly. Just a head's up: there is relatively little reading material here, so if you struggle to learn through videos you might have a hard time. That part was a challenge for me.

교육 기관: Henri S

2020년 10월 9일

Could be nice to have the complete mathematical definitions given in an annex for those that are interested in refreshing their maths more than understanding the concepts broadly throughout the examples. Otherwise very well taught, I like that there are many examples where you have to get back to basic calculations.

교육 기관: Simon W

2020년 6월 27일

Good course overall and I enjoyed the top-down approach in instruction, which helped me understand the big picture before proceeding to do specific linear algebra computations. However, I wish there were more lecture contents and exercises to help me build a better foundation and clear up occasional confusions.

교육 기관: RICHARD A (

2020년 6월 6일

The course already cover all some of essential topics in linear algebra is is a good course to refresh linear algebra and get hands on coding on how we can use linear algebra for computation. I would be great if the course also covers other essential topics such as null space, column space, pre-image, and image