Chevron Left
Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
272개의 평가
45개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We encounter fallacies almost everywhere we look. Politicians, salespeople, and children commonly use fallacies in order to get you to think whatever they want you to think. It’s important to learn to recognize fallacies so that you can avoid being fooled by them. It’s also important to learn about fallacies so that you avoid making fallacious arguments yourself. This course will show you how to identify and avoid many of the fallacies that lead people astray. In this course, you will learn about fallacies. Fallacies are arguments that suffer from one or more common but avoidable defects: equivocation, circularity, vagueness, etc. It’s important to learn about fallacies so that you can recognize them when you see them, and not be fooled by them. It’s also important to learn about fallacies so that you avoid making fallacious arguments yourself. Suggested Readings Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 13-17, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

최상위 리뷰

LB

2017년 9월 24일

This course has been incredible and more than anything because of the energy put by the instructors, I truly thank you for helping the world to become a better place to live.\n\nfrom Colombia, Luis.

SK

2020년 7월 25일

Challenging material presented by two engaging and sharp instructors. Highly recommend this course to any seeking to hone their logic and reasoning skills! The course will make you think!

필터링 기준:

Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies의 44개 리뷰 중 26~44

교육 기관: Wim K

2017년 4월 13일

Practical, recognise and avoid

교육 기관: Sumanta S S

2017년 11월 21일

Interesting Course

교육 기관: José A A I

2018년 11월 15일

Great course!

교육 기관: Diego A P M

2020년 12월 9일

excelente!!

교육 기관: matthew s

2018년 3월 4일

Excellent !

교육 기관: Cleutom R

2019년 6월 28일

Muito bom!

교육 기관: Abhishek s

2020년 5월 27일

very good

교육 기관: Waleed M S

2016년 9월 2일

best

교육 기관: Kohei

2020년 4월 23일

I deepened my understanding of arguments by studying Think Again IV.

While Think Again I~III focused on good arguments, this course taught bad arguments. We learned how to criticize an argument by recognizing fallacies and refutation. The professor not only presented good examples of bad arguments, but also explained when we can encounter those bad arguments, which I enjoyed. Partially because my native language is not English, I had some challenges on the semantic and syntactic ambiguity.

Overall, I learned a lot about arguments by completing the entire series. I would like to thank the professors for creating this course!

교육 기관: Yu L

2020년 5월 28일

Very interesting course with great lecturers and great examples. I do wish there were more real life/ everyday examples to help me understand the difference between different fallacies/arguments in real life but overall this has still made me notice how some arguments are a fallacy and how I could refute them

교육 기관: John C B

2021년 11월 12일

Really liked the way we got to write out our own argument once we completed everything. Ram was engaging, yet there were times it seemed he was about to explain a topic in depth with examples, yet would go into the next lecture without really explaining like I needed.

교육 기관: SEAH Y Y

2021년 3월 6일

Interesting course although it might get too technical at times when it could have been by common sense/reasoning - and a great way to end the course with that video!

교육 기관: Amr M

2016년 8월 22일

The course is great, but i think it should include more problems or quizzes to apply what is learned in the lectures.

교육 기관: Luis E V C

2018년 3월 23일

It might benefit from a wider variety of more thorough examples.

교육 기관: Ana P B

2018년 4월 29일

some of the videos were confusing fro english speakers

교육 기관: Dorothy H

2016년 8월 28일

Useful information for anyone who talks or writes.

교육 기관: Mark J R

2017년 10월 3일

Very well explained and discussed.

교육 기관: Doug M

2017년 12월 23일

I found a few technical errors that were confusing. The quiz on counterexamples appe

교육 기관: Jane C

2020년 6월 19일

lack of examples for bad arguments of particular type after saying we're going to look at some examples, as if parts of the course are missing. Quiz on material not covered.