Chevron Left
Luther and the West(으)로 돌아가기

노스웨스턴 대학교의 Luther and the West 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
89개의 평가
29개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

In this course we will discuss the history of some ideas that have been hugely influential in the modern west and that were taken out to the rest of the world. The discussion centers on an extraordinary and historically important figure, a sixteenth century German man named Martin Luther. Luther is recognized today as the originator of many of the most significant ideas that continue to affect and shape who we as modern people are and how we see the world and ourselves for better and for worse. In the first section, we will explore why Luther thought the Bible was the most important volume for everyone to have and read. Included here will be a careful consideration of Luther's anti-Judaism, which contributed to western antisemitism and some of the greatest horrors of the twentieth century. In the second section, we will talk about the idea of freedom and how Luther's understanding of freedom in Christ affected the way modern thinkers understood what it means to be human in community. Important in this section is the consequential contradiction between freedom and slavery in western thought and their co-existence in western societies. The third section will be all about the many complicated relations between religion and politics. NOTE: Students wishing to sign up for free access to all instructional course content should click on the "Sign-In" button in the upper right hand corner. Those who wish to take the course and complete a certificate that requires payment, please click the Enroll button on the left side of this page....

최상위 리뷰

HS
2017년 11월 2일

This is a well-planned course that I learned a whole lot from. I was curious about Luther and church history to begin with, and this course satisfied that curiosity.

RB
2021년 1월 18일

Excellent course covering the complete historical, political, and spiritual development of Martin Luther and his influence on Western intellectual thought.

필터링 기준:

Luther and the West의 28개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Robert H

2017년 6월 16일

I was puzzled by the course at first: the 4-minute lectures, one question quizzes, and initial focus on Nazi use of Luther's antisemitism. But I soon caught the drift of the course's peripateticism: the various historical and doctrinal issues, links to Spinoza, Kant and King, the terrific Luther readings (now I see why the nuns in grammar school warned us against reading anything by Martin Luther) and the many excellent encyclopedia entries (skimmed)--all put Luther and the Reformation in historical and contemporary context. Good job. The 3 paragraph essay was also an excellent teaching device. You asked, 'Do you understand Luther's concept of freedom?' and I had to admit I was befuddled. So the essay and grading others' was spot on. Thanks. Bob Huberty (I met you at the CUNY conference. I was with David Lott, formerly of Fortress Press.)

교육 기관: Jp C

2016년 11월 9일

This course was not overly interesting, it felt more like listening to someone wanting to paint everything with a socialist brush. I had better things to do. This has not been a class where I learned much. Its structure of super short videos (~4mins) with easy "tests" was neither challenging nor useful to confirm the value of the content, in fact a number of tests quiz you on material not yet covered (usually in the next unit). Not the best class there is.

교육 기관: Tona M

2018년 3월 20일

This course is well organized and thought-provoking, with very short lectures (around 4 min. or so) and lots of supporting materials, much of them Luther's own writings! Dr. Helmer's analysis of Martin Luther in his own time and cultural context would be reason enough to take her course. What follows, from Melanchthon to Kant to Martin Luther King, Jr. and beyond brings the echoes of the hammer blows to the Wittenberg door into sharp focus as they resound today. Anyone who lives in the " Western World" should take this course as a foundation for considering religion, race relations, civil rights, political realities or philosophical constructs active today.

교육 기관: Michael P

2020년 2월 6일

Great course. Gives great insight into the person and beliefs of Martin Luther as well as the effects of his ideas on the Western World. I very much enjoyed having access to so much of Luther's writings. Additionally, the 2003 movie "Luther" was fantastic. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in the Reformation, Western Civilization, or the study of freedom.

교육 기관: Paula P E

2017년 7월 5일

This is an excellent course. Not only it is a very clear and complete introduction to Luther and his times, but also includes a couple of units on the reception of his thought, both in I. Kant and M. Luther King. I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Helmer's lessons and learnt a lot from them.

교육 기관: Anne H

2017년 9월 1일

Quick, useful overview, even if you've read about this time in history before. The peer-graded writing assignment also helped me articulate what I learned from this course. Highly recommended for anyone, especially those living in the Western world.

교육 기관: Ying X

2017년 3월 27일

very packed course....full of very dense information in the reading....the reading load is very heavy, especially for the first two weeks......it's more like two months...... but the assignment is very moderate.....just one....

교육 기관: Claudia M

2020년 5월 22일

The course is extremely informative and I appreciated, above all, the continuous links between Luther's theology and its implications for social, economic and political choices in our contemporary world.

교육 기관: Hank S

2017년 11월 3일

This is a well-planned course that I learned a whole lot from. I was curious about Luther and church history to begin with, and this course satisfied that curiosity.

교육 기관: Randall B

2021년 1월 19일

Excellent course covering the complete historical, political, and spiritual development of Martin Luther and his influence on Western intellectual thought.

교육 기관: Greg M

2017년 3월 26일

I really enjoyed the course, and think it is very well thought out and paced. I appreciate the access to additional reading materials.

교육 기관: Vladislav L

2016년 12월 22일

Christine Helmer's classes opened me a whole new, rich and very useful world of Martin Luther. Great course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Rafa M

2017년 5월 27일

The course is not only amazing, but also interesting, because of the matters it treats and the things it brings along.

교육 기관: Max M

2017년 7월 26일

I loved this class. I learned a lot, became a better person, and have cited it a couple times in other classes.

교육 기관: William M

2017년 8월 15일

Very good and well-presented introduction to the works of Luther and to his impact.

교육 기관: Joy S

2016년 11월 14일

Very interesting class. Very well presented. Enjoyed it and got good information.

교육 기관: Eleazar V A

2019년 11월 2일

Un curso extraordinario que amplía la óptica de la religión. ¡Muchas gracias!

교육 기관: Lisa C

2020년 7월 7일

I

r

e

a

l

l

y

e

n

j

o

y

e

d

t

h

I

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

t

o

g

e

t

m

o

r

e

I

n

f

o

t

m

a

t

I

o

n

o

n

M

a

r

t

I

n

L

u

t

h

e

r

p

r

I

o

r

t

o

m

y

e

n

r

o

l

l

m

e

n

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 1월 24일

Fun and interesting course. I was exposed to info all new to me. Thanks.

교육 기관: Melchisedec S

2020년 11월 2일

Excellent course, Perfect for one who studies the Bible.

교육 기관: FRANK A

2020년 10월 10일

AN EXCELLENT COURSE.

교육 기관: Linda H

2019년 8월 13일

An excellent course!

교육 기관: Mauricio Q

2020년 5월 17일

excellent !!!

교육 기관: Vivian-Rose G

2019년 12월 8일

I think this is a very good cours. I learned a lot of details about Luther and his influence on the european history and culture. The only thing that I regret is the lack of response to questions. Maybe this is du to a reduced noumber of participants at this last serie. Good luck for future courses.

교육 기관: Brian V H

2021년 3월 17일

The only criticism that I have - the importance of the printing press was perhaps under-valued. In my opinion without the printing press Luther would be unknown and the reformation would not have happened at that time.