Chevron Left
Magic in the Middle Ages(으)로 돌아가기

바르셀로나 대학교의 Magic in the Middle Ages 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
821개의 평가
231개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

최상위 리뷰

BW

Mar 24, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

CP

Jul 06, 2017

When i read the title of this course, i could not imagine what it is about. So i took it. It's a great course, with different perspectives and with a really clear language. Thank you!

필터링 기준:

Magic in the Middle Ages의 228개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Brett B

Jun 05, 2019

Very informative and helpful in understanding some of the unexplained areas of Anthropology. However there are too many videos (which can be hard for the hearing impaired considering the accompanying text is in need of improvement), not enough faculty and instructor support and the syllabus is in need of detail and structure.

교육 기관: Yannis R

Mar 18, 2018

A lot of the material felt like little more than a bombardment of names. The first assignment was awful, there was no way to infer what was required from us from the assignment's description. People have been saying this for over a year, yet there was no attempt to fix the assignment. Quite a few of the videos were of very poor quality. The sand video in the Geomancy module, for example, was amongst the worst I've seen on Coursera.

교육 기관: Daniela G

Jun 21, 2019

A pretty intereseing course. Personally I liked it and it shed some light on the concept of Magic, Sorcery, Witchcraft, and the implications of the church or the views of the church on it. It does take a political turn. The concept pretty much was, if a child was ill, he/she was better left to die, to try to heal/treat the child via magic methods. Interesting. I can see the Biblical implications, however, with the arival of the inquisitors (which were leading some kind of rituals in secret) under the supervision of the Pope... This part is shows the political implications. Apparently, there was nu jurisdiction that these inquisitors had, therefore, it was a matter of beliefs in the end. Believing in God, vs. Witchcraft. So the freedom of religion in a way is not necessarily existant since persecution takes place. Interesting course. I would recommend it if you want to learn more about Magic and the arrival or the notion of such.

교육 기관: Ygor K B

Feb 01, 2019

Excelent!

교육 기관: Aaron A J

Nov 20, 2018

Very informative! Crucial to the understanding of ancient beliefs and modern alike. A wonderful course, thank you for offering this. I really enjoyed it, and I absolutely recommend this course for anyone who loves HISTORY! 😀

교육 기관: Nadia R A

Nov 21, 2018

A beautiful walk through history. The current conception of magic and witches comes from all the real fear and beliefs of the society during the late middle age, the mysticism about it makes this one of the most interesting courses offered.

교육 기관: Melvin R W

Jan 11, 2019

Insightful and entertaining journey into the world of magic in the Middle Ages. It corrected some misconceptions I had and offered new information on changing positions of church and gender as it relates to the material. I especially appreciated the points of view from Judaic, Christian and Islamic faiths.

교육 기관: Junah K

Feb 23, 2019

Very interesting concept about magic in the Middle Ages, touching upon natural vs. demonic magic, heresy, mythology of witchcraft, astrology, and much more! Compact lectures (which may be a lot of first, but better to get more information than just a simple overview) that covered interesting points of the subject and inspired a different point of view of magic during that time.

교육 기관: Warren P

Mar 05, 2019

Really interesting and colourful course. I particularly enjoyed the part about the influence of middle eastern magic on Europe.

교육 기관: Christine L C

Mar 01, 2019

This was a fantastic course! It was about the history of the relationship between magic and various religions. It makes me eager to learn more about several tangent subjects. Thank you for offering this as a MOOC! I loved it.

교육 기관: Virginia C

Mar 11, 2019

Loved this course, wish they had more like it!!

교육 기관: Karelys V R

Mar 16, 2019

Me encantó y pude ampliar mas mi conocimiento.

교육 기관: Paola A M

Aug 06, 2018

This course is fantastic! I really enjoy it! thanks to the teacher, they did a very god job.

교육 기관: Aurélien C

Aug 27, 2018

Très instructif. La remise de devoirs est une réelle valeur ajoutée.

교육 기관: Eugenio D P

Sep 13, 2018

bien estructurado, muy ameno y agradable, bien documentado. Lo estoy disfrutando.

교육 기관: DULCE I

Oct 08, 2018

Un excelente curso!

교육 기관: Luz C P

Oct 28, 2018

Quite intresting

교육 기관: Oscar J

Sep 13, 2017

Great course. Very interesting

교육 기관: '"><img s o

Nov 18, 2017

ssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

교육 기관: MARK P

Dec 17, 2017

Very interesting

교육 기관: Jasmine A

Jul 09, 2018

Super helpful

교육 기관: Elizaveta S

Nov 29, 2016

Great lecturers, interesting material, easy to understand. Good course! But some background in history is desirable for students, in my opinion.

교육 기관: Марина Б

Aug 07, 2017

Very interesting and informative!

교육 기관: beatriz v

Apr 27, 2018

excelente curso

교육 기관: Halah K

Mar 25, 2017

A very interesting course with amazing teachers.