Chevron Left
Magic in the Middle Ages(으)로 돌아가기

바르셀로나 대학교의 Magic in the Middle Ages 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
1,386개의 평가
450개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

최상위 리뷰

BW
2018년 3월 23일

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
2020년 7월 14일

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

필터링 기준:

Magic in the Middle Ages의 446개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Макс Т

2016년 11월 30일

Absolutely great course! I like the system of work, the submissions, the wideos and the information. It helped me to understand all much better.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2016년 11월 29일

Great lecturers, interesting material, easy to understand. Good course! But some background in history is desirable for students, in my opinion.

교육 기관: Emmanuel A S P

2016년 10월 3일

Excelente curso. Interesante y emocionante. Una experiencia invaluable. Algo para mejorar son las evaluaciones porque en ocasiones son confusas.

교육 기관: teresa p c

2016년 11월 30일

Un curso muy interesante sobre un tema que abre las puertas a conocimientos que no suelen fluir por la red con nivel académico.

Muchas gracias!

교육 기관: Jessica R

2021년 3월 15일

the course is quite interesting! for putting a punch... it's all in English and for non-practitioners it's more jaleous. I'll give you a 10!!!

교육 기관: juan c b m

2020년 10월 30일

Una gran experiència que espero tornar a repetir amb algun altre curs de la Universitat de Barcelona, gràcies i espero estar aviat a Coursera

교육 기관: Emma S

2019년 11월 14일

So informative and fun to learn about how magic influenced and was incorporated into other religions and cultures. I truly loved this course!

교육 기관: André M F

2020년 8월 2일

Realmente gostei muito do curso. Tudo foi feito com muita seriedade e dedicação, e aprendi muitas coisas interessantes. Recomendo altamente!

교육 기관: Thomas L

2017년 7월 22일

Loved this introduction to the topic. No previous knowledge required. The MOOC necessarily only scratches the surface of this broad topic.

교육 기관: Penelope R H

2018년 6월 14일

This course was absolutely fascinating! I loved it and it was very interesting and enlightening ... I would love if you punch a part 2.

교육 기관: Ekaterina G

2020년 5월 29일

Extremely interesting course on a very unusual and specific subject! The instructors are wonderful and organized the course very well.

교육 기관: Gustavo C J

2018년 1월 26일

Very interesting and well done !!! What surprised me the most is the neutral point of view (something rare in this sort of matter) !!!

교육 기관: Tara D

2020년 7월 8일

I very much enjoyed this course it was very interesting and made you think about a lot of things that you may or may not have known.

교육 기관: Haleigh B

2018년 2월 5일

I had a wonderful time taking this course. I learned all kinds of interesting facts. The professors were engaging and knowledgeable.

교육 기관: Martha H

2020년 5월 15일

I absolutely loved this class! I'm a retired FBI agent and wanted to start taking classes to occupy my brain and I'm so glad I did!

교육 기관: Jennifer N

2018년 7월 10일

This course was fun, informative and much more challenging then I anticipated. I really enjoyed the curriculum and the professors.

교육 기관: Kamilya S

2020년 5월 31일

Excellent course, very engaging presentation - excellent mix of authors, sources, presenters! Very enjoyable & nicely structured.

교육 기관: Faris K

2017년 11월 12일

Really interesting course indeed. I'm also pleased to have gained a certificate from the University of Barcelona. Well done all!

교육 기관: Adriana O

2021년 3월 17일

Very interesting course; the facilitators were very knowledgeable and explained the content very clearly. Loved the music, too!

교육 기관: Warren P

2019년 3월 5일

Really interesting and colourful course. I particularly enjoyed the part about the influence of middle eastern magic on Europe.

교육 기관: Angelina W

2016년 12월 21일

An excellent class with great historical references. The written assignments really coalesce the information in the lectures.

교육 기관: ZAMORA M M S

2020년 6월 28일

Es un curso que me pareció sumamente interesante. Los docentes con gran conocimiento y expertis en los temas que presentaron.

교육 기관: Kate S

2017년 12월 11일

Excellent information and delivery--in fact, I went through it twice! One of the best courses on Coursera that I've taken!

교육 기관: Deleted A

2016년 10월 22일

I love the instructors. They have so much information and teach in an enjoyable manner. I can't wait for the next course.

교육 기관: Christian L

2020년 5월 10일

A very interesting topic. I feel I have learned a lot from the relatively small time investment I put into the course.