Chevron Left
Understanding and Managing the Stresses of Police Work(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Understanding and Managing the Stresses of Police Work 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
192개의 평가
47개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Policing has always been psychological challenging. On any given shift police officers may encounter a range of psychological challenges including domestic violence, interacting with people experiencing mental health issues, violent crime, even attending the aftermath of horrible accidents. The long exhausting shifts can also result in stressful person interactions within one’s personal life. The presence of COVID and political issues related to instances of over-policing have increased these stresses even more. This course has two goals. First, we want to inform officers how their stress system works and why they sometimes feel as they do. With this as a foundation we then describe some strategies officers can use to manage this system, giving themselves much needed breaks from the stress response and overall empowering them with a greater sense of control over how their bodies react to stress....

최상위 리뷰

KC
2020년 10월 5일

Really easy to follow and pleasant to watch - simplifying how to manage situations for your own and other benefit. Thank you for taking time to put this together. Now I need to practice x

ID
2021년 3월 9일

I thank you for this course. It has helped me a lot in understanding police officers. I do Bible lectures with them and this is an additional understanding. God bless you, sir!

필터링 기준:

Understanding and Managing the Stresses of Police Work의 49개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Kim C

2020년 10월 6일

Really easy to follow and pleasant to watch - simplifying how to manage situations for your own and other benefit. Thank you for taking time to put this together. Now I need to practice x

교육 기관: Muhammad R S

2020년 10월 9일

Good

교육 기관: Elizabett C

2020년 12월 26일

Hello Professor Joordens,

I'd like to start by saying thank you to yourself and Dave Haynes for taking the time to assemble and deliver this course. As a retired detective sergeant having served 27 years with the Toronto Police Service, I see the value in what you're teaching here. I've dedicated the past two years to mastering mindfulness and body intuitiveness as a restorative and transcendent practice, post-policing and am very grateful for this time. There is a real need for officers (particularly in the frontlines) to gain greater awareness around the benefits of stress management and mindfulness practices. I was told about this course through my volunteer work with Boots on the Ground. I also volunteer as Director of Peer Support with Toronto Beyond the Blue and would like to incorporate some of this material into our training. I would love the opportunity to speak with you if you'd be kind enough to take a call. I look forward to hearing from you, either way. Stay safe and well.

교육 기관: Phuntsok C

2021년 8월 4일

Amazing course! Professor Steve Joordens did an amazing job explaining the 'significance of how self control is strength and calmness is power'. I have renewed appreciation for law enforcement and would love to apply the skillsets learnt, which are applicable not just as a police officer, but in all aspects of your life! Cheers.

교육 기관: Jessica S

2020년 11월 12일

Excellent. Practical. A simple, straightforward approach to stress management for yourself and those around you; a highly beneficial practice for all, not just police officers.

교육 기관: Andrés V R

2021년 6월 17일

Being from Chile, and not being my mother tongue English, I must admit that at the beginning it was difficult and that is why I continued word for word; As I confused the terms from English to Spanish, at the beginning of the 1st module I did several exams and thus I passed each module until I passed it, I made an effort and I finished it. Very good route, highly recommended for policemen and pilots, (I include myself) and all people subjected to 1000% stress. Very good level and very educational. Congratulations to the instructor!

교육 기관: Romeu p p

2020년 12월 28일

Hi!! I am 2nd sergeant of the Military Police of DF, capital of Brazil, Brasília. It was especially for me, this course in the 24-year internship in police service. Stress is more evident at this point in the career, even with more mature age, 49 years, and length of service. I am going to teach myself everyday, I will invest in new skills to practice in my free time, aiming to have a better quality of life.

Thank you for the opportunity and learn here with this course.

교육 기관: Joel C

2021년 10월 22일

I seriously took stress for granted, it wasn't something I though that affected my work and family life. After finishing this course I gained a sense of realization that everything that makes me stressed will eventually lead to more chronic problems, mentally and physically. Thank you coursera for this course. I hope that this course be provided for free to all police officers around the world. I will sure practice, practice, practice. Lots of Love from Fiji.

교육 기관: Nelson S

2020년 11월 21일

Hello. I would like to thank Prof. JOORDENS and Sgt. HAYNES for putting together this course. The examples used actually relate to the daily stresses of being a police officer. The subject matter is explained in a manner that police officers can sit through and pay attention. We often go through the "mandated" courses just to get that check mark. Thank you very much and I look forward to being a student in many more courses in the near future.

-Nelson-

교육 기관: PEMS R B B J

2020년 12월 27일

Thank you very much . this actually help me to know more of myself. and to put names on those things that I personally experiencing as for 21 years as police officer here in the Philippines. and gave practical suggestions on how to handle those things I already identified and acknowledge it existence.

GOD BLESS US ALL POLIICE OFFICERS OUT THERE

PEMS ROGELIO B BASBAS JR. at your service

교육 기관: Sheri H

2021년 11월 1일

I am a civilian dispatcher for police and found that this applies to our side of the radio as well in every way ! Perhaps for us the chronic stress is a little more common, but the Gnarly approach would be a great help to us. I'll definitely be checking out the other course as well. Thanks very much !

교육 기관: M L

2021년 5월 11일

Down to earth easy going guy. Relayed his knowledge in easy to swallow bits and used easily understandable comparisons and metaphors. Offered practical solutions. Seems like he'd be a great shrink. His effort to understand law enforcement professionals s appreciated.

교육 기관: Alice R

2021년 8월 9일

I​ hate quizzes that have more than one correct answer as you mentioned. I appreciate your creation of a quick course that still has punch. Officers/dispatchers can take this and it won't be overwhelming since they have enough to worry about. Thank you!

교육 기관: Keri A

2020년 11월 18일

Fantastic course. Easy to understand and follow. Easy to put these concepts into practice, even if you are not a member of the police service, but just have a lot of stress and strain in your work and life.

교육 기관: Justin P

2021년 11월 20일

This is a great short course for all officers to "check in" on themselves and others. These simples steps and practices can be positive and beneficial in the policing profession and your personal life.

교육 기관: Ishvi D

2021년 3월 10일

I thank you for this course. It has helped me a lot in understanding police officers. I do Bible lectures with them and this is an additional understanding. God bless you, sir!

교육 기관: Sarge R

2021년 5월 8일

I really enjoyed this course. I thought the Instructor was very knowledgeable and his course is very helpful. I tried his techniques out and I will continue to.

교육 기관: Ben D

2020년 12월 26일

Another great course by Steve Joordens, informative, and easy to follow. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in a future career as a police officer.

교육 기관: Earl S

2021년 3월 28일

Thank you for creating this course and sharing the data on stress relief. I will try to practice the relaxation to heal.

교육 기관: Yasser M

2021년 10월 10일

Steve is amazing. He talks calmly and clearly which made it easy for me to learn the course. Thank you Steve.

교육 기관: Eva D

2021년 1월 5일

Wonderful course in breaking down all the pressures and stresses Police go through on a day to day basis

교육 기관: Carol

2021년 4월 1일

civilian, but these practices can be applied by anyone. Simplifies the practices to make them useful.

교육 기관: Virginia K

2021년 5월 25일

Very useful. This was a surprisingly helpful course that concisely addressed what we need to

교육 기관: Alexis P

2020년 11월 5일

Excellent course. I am now able to apply what I have learnt to manage my stress and anxiety

교육 기관: Mark R A

2021년 8월 31일

A very informative, engaging, and useful course. Well presented by Steve Joordens.