Chevron Left
Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
4,043개의 평가

강좌 소개

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

최상위 리뷰

DK

2020년 9월 23일

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM

2017년 7월 17일

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

필터링 기준:

Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know의 988개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Anik A

2020년 8월 18일

This course is of real importance to understand all the baics of material science and how properties changes with respect to temperature and time.

This course helped me a lot knowing even the most smallet details of materials.

Thank you Proffesor James for your brilliant course.

교육 기관: BALAJI P

2020년 6월 9일

Absolutely fantastic course. Knowledge-hungry mind was sated with superb content of lectures and videos. The explain of defects, fracture and phase diagrams & TTT, in particular, were simply awesome and they have added more depth to my existing Mechanical Engineering knowledge.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 5월 31일

It has been a good opportunity to refresh and reorganize items studied at university. Well clear lessons allowed me to understand every word, although subtitles were not always correct. I suggest this course to everyone who wants to refresh his knowledges in material science.

교육 기관: sai g

2020년 6월 18일

This course helped to understand the concepts behind various phenomenon such as plastic deformation,creep, Fatigue, Fracture toughness. This course gives me very important basic knowledge in Material Science. I'm feeling strong in fundamentals of material science. Thank you.

교육 기관: KILAPARTHI S K

2020년 5월 2일

I am thankful to Coursera and course instructor Dr.james Shackelford sir for explaining material science in detail by the 10 things every engineer should learn and mostly in this course which heart touches are ''structure leads to properties''. thank sir for your efforts

교육 기관: Anish H V

2016년 10월 18일

A MUST COURSE FOR BUDDING MATERIAL ENGINEERS/ MATERIAL SCIENTISTS!!

Professor Shackelford is so awesome!! The way he taught the course helped me grasp the fundamentals of material science better than that taught during my four year bachelor tenure in Material engineering.

교육 기관: Syed N R

2020년 7월 7일

Material science is really vast topic & this course of 10 things which every engineer should know is due the fact the carefully selected 10 things by a subject matter expert in material science. Explanation on various topics , mark- up & diagrams is really awesome.

교육 기관: John K

2018년 10월 18일

Great class on materials and how crystal and atomic bonds lead to material properties. The chapter on semiconductors was new material for me and very valuable to introduce me to valence and conduction bands. The other material was good review for me as a Mech. Eng.

교육 기관: Nusayer A

2020년 8월 31일

The whole course was very enjoyable & interesting. The topics which were uncleared to me at previous times are now very clear to me. Thank you very much Professor James Shackelford Sir, UC Davis & Coursera for this course. I recommend everyone to take this course.

교육 기관: MD. S M H

2020년 7월 8일

Ten really basic but very important and interesting thoughts about materials engineering are discussed in this course. Each engineer should know these basics before they dig deeper and complex things. The course really teaches some good stuff about the materials.

교육 기관: A_8048_ S A

2020년 5월 29일

This course is very essential for engineering student. Important topics from material science and metallurgy are discussed here.Nice to learn the important concepts of material science .and how the material behaves in the relative tempreture is nicely taught.

교육 기관: Adwait K

2021년 3월 27일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as a refresher and also for building fundamentals of the materials. I learned how the "Properties of Materials Emerge from their Structure". Thanks to the instructors of the course for their efforts and brevity of the course.

교육 기관: satti M R

2020년 6월 12일

I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The work load(h.w. & test)was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

교육 기관: SriNikhil K

2019년 2월 23일

The explanation given in this course, even to the most confusing and commonly misconstrued of engineering phenomenons, is basic and self explanatory. I'd recommend this course to any engineer who's looking for a better introduction to material science!

교육 기관: Vaibhavi V

2020년 6월 28일

Thankyou very much for this wonderful course. it has been interesting right from the first video until the end. the concepts have been explained in a very lucid manner. Quizzes were interesting too. All the essential topics have been covered very well

교육 기관: Patrick R

2021년 5월 9일

I thought this was a great primer on materials science. The 5 weeks were well structured and built well upon each other. It should allow students to start asking well formed questions in order to drill down deeper into each of the specific 10 topics.

교육 기관: Saraswati P

2020년 9월 24일

The course is very well structured and covered. I found the session more interactive due to lectures have taken in the laboratory and through field examples. Due to which I got the opportunity to seek the facilities available at UC Davis University.

교육 기관: Shrikant B

2020년 4월 30일

THIS COURSE IS VERY USEFUL TO LEARN 10 THINGS WHICH ARE IMPORTANT TO KNOW MATERIAL BEHAVIOR. THE NEW THINGS WHICH I HAVE LEARNED FROM THIS COURSE ARE: USES ARREHENIUS RELATIONSHIP IN MATERIAL SCIENCE, THE MECHANISM OF DIFFERENT TYPES OF FAILURES.

교육 기관: Archisha B

2020년 6월 27일

It was a wonderful learning experience. The concepts were greatly explained, with experiments and mathematical expressions. The teaching style was really easy to understand. Even the slightly newer and complicated topics were easy to understand.

교육 기관: John A E

2020년 10월 21일

This course is helpful for all fields of engineering, such as for civil and mechanical engineering. This will be a great way for engineers to know about material science! I also commend the instructor because he elaborated all of the subtopics!

교육 기관: Pranshu A

2019년 4월 7일

This course was extremely helpful to me regarding the knowledge I gained. Moreover, I am very thankful that this course was provided to me under financial aid and I could avail such an experience which would not be possible otherwise.

교육 기관: Tavone S

2018년 2월 19일

This course was very helpful, as a up-coming student for material engineer I gained a enormous amount of useful information to help me progress though me first year of college. Thanks for the basic understanding of Material Science.

교육 기관: Sujoy S

2020년 5월 31일

Covers a lot of Material basics and helped give emphasis on a lot of small concepts which our colleges had skipped in classes. Quizzes were also fairly challenging and a good way to do well is taking down notes from time to time.

교육 기관: José C L

2020년 9월 30일

Very well thought-out course, I learned a lot and I'm eager to keep learning about this. This course is really really worth your time. Even the evaluations are guaranteed to make sure you are learning in the best way possible.

교육 기관: Y S R R

2020년 5월 15일

very good explanation about all the fundamentals of the material science.Teaching will be a little bit fast what I felt.Experimental facilities whatever you have shown in the lectures gave a good understanding of the subject.