Chevron Left
Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
3,319개의 평가
834개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

최상위 리뷰

DK
2020년 9월 23일

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
2017년 7월 17일

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

필터링 기준:

Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know의 824개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Nusayer A

2020년 8월 31일

The whole course was very enjoyable & interesting. The topics which were uncleared to me at previous times are now very clear to me. Thank you very much Professor James Shackelford Sir, UC Davis & Coursera for this course. I recommend everyone to take this course.

교육 기관: MD. S M H

2020년 7월 8일

Ten really basic but very important and interesting thoughts about materials engineering are discussed in this course. Each engineer should know these basics before they dig deeper and complex things. The course really teaches some good stuff about the materials.

교육 기관: Suyog M A

2020년 5월 29일

This course is very essential for engineering student. Important topics from material science and metallurgy are discussed here.Nice to learn the important concepts of material science .and how the material behaves in the relative tempreture is nicely taught.

교육 기관: satti M R

2020년 6월 12일

I really enjoyed the online course. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. The work load(h.w. & test)was just enough, so i could finish everything with enough time, learn about the topics and not feel over loaded and rushed.

교육 기관: SriNikhil K

2019년 2월 23일

The explanation given in this course, even to the most confusing and commonly misconstrued of engineering phenomenons, is basic and self explanatory. I'd recommend this course to any engineer who's looking for a better introduction to material science!

교육 기관: Vaibhavi V

2020년 6월 28일

Thankyou very much for this wonderful course. it has been interesting right from the first video until the end. the concepts have been explained in a very lucid manner. Quizzes were interesting too. All the essential topics have been covered very well

교육 기관: Saraswati P

2020년 9월 24일

The course is very well structured and covered. I found the session more interactive due to lectures have taken in the laboratory and through field examples. Due to which I got the opportunity to seek the facilities available at UC Davis University.

교육 기관: Shrikant B

2020년 4월 30일

THIS COURSE IS VERY USEFUL TO LEARN 10 THINGS WHICH ARE IMPORTANT TO KNOW MATERIAL BEHAVIOR. THE NEW THINGS WHICH I HAVE LEARNED FROM THIS COURSE ARE: USES ARREHENIUS RELATIONSHIP IN MATERIAL SCIENCE, THE MECHANISM OF DIFFERENT TYPES OF FAILURES.

교육 기관: Archisha B

2020년 6월 27일

It was a wonderful learning experience. The concepts were greatly explained, with experiments and mathematical expressions. The teaching style was really easy to understand. Even the slightly newer and complicated topics were easy to understand.

교육 기관: John A E

2020년 10월 21일

This course is helpful for all fields of engineering, such as for civil and mechanical engineering. This will be a great way for engineers to know about material science! I also commend the instructor because he elaborated all of the subtopics!

교육 기관: Pranshu A

2019년 4월 7일

This course was extremely helpful to me regarding the knowledge I gained. Moreover, I am very thankful that this course was provided to me under financial aid and I could avail such an experience which would not be possible otherwise.

교육 기관: Tavone S

2018년 2월 19일

This course was very helpful, as a up-coming student for material engineer I gained a enormous amount of useful information to help me progress though me first year of college. Thanks for the basic understanding of Material Science.

교육 기관: Sujoy S

2020년 5월 31일

Covers a lot of Material basics and helped give emphasis on a lot of small concepts which our colleges had skipped in classes. Quizzes were also fairly challenging and a good way to do well is taking down notes from time to time.

교육 기관: José C L

2020년 9월 30일

Very well thought-out course, I learned a lot and I'm eager to keep learning about this. This course is really really worth your time. Even the evaluations are guaranteed to make sure you are learning in the best way possible.

교육 기관: Y S R R

2020년 5월 15일

very good explanation about all the fundamentals of the material science.Teaching will be a little bit fast what I felt.Experimental facilities whatever you have shown in the lectures gave a good understanding of the subject.

교육 기관: Mahima D

2020년 6월 22일

I being a metallurgy and materials science graduate took those course for refreshing my basic knowledge. I would highly recommend this course to all engineers, especially those doing research in developing newer materials.

교육 기관: Eliška H

2020년 10월 24일

Great overview of important properties of materials from chemistry of solid state point of view.

I would not recommend this course for a complete begginner in materials, but for me it was a great review and repetition.

교육 기관: ILAIYAVEL S

2020년 5월 30일

Thanks Professor for the wonderful presentation

It will help me this course to my college students

Dr.S.Ilaiyavel

Associate Professor Department of Mechanical Engineer

Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering

Sriprumbudur.

교육 기관: Hussain D

2017년 8월 7일

I have to thank the course instructor he is a great scientist and great mind. He was so kind and have the ability to get through the boring things with an exciting way. I liked him so much and I am really thankful!!!

교육 기관: Darlan V B

2016년 11월 25일

The course gives a lot of good informations that engineers should know in the everyday life. The professor James Shackelford explain the subjects in a very clear and objective way with a lot of practical examples.

교육 기관: Muhammad A H

2020년 5월 13일

I'm really feeling lucky to do this course. And really thankful to our instructor Honorable Mr. James Shackelford , who has really an outstanding way to deliver things. Thanks a lot and a lot of respect for you.

교육 기관: Navendra P S

2020년 5월 3일

Awesome Learning !!!

After completing the course, I really found that the course name is really meaningful.

Along with the content, style of teaching and content compilation was colorful and never felt monotonous.

교육 기관: Sachin P

2020년 4월 23일

It's very interesting course and especially i learnt so many facts and deep knowledge of mainly six materials therefore i endorse to learners do at least one time. It will uplift your basic knowledge of material.

교육 기관: Siddhesh C

2018년 4월 29일

This course is better for those who wants to learn basics of Material Science. It cleared all my concepts and I got knowledge about it. Thank you UC Davis and also thanks to Dr. James Shackelford for this course.

교육 기관: Tamu S

2016년 2월 22일

I've done my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering in one of the best colleges in India, and yet this course makes me understand the roots of Material Science & Engg. better than my 4 years spent in college.