Chevron Left
Introduction to Mathematical Thinking(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Introduction to Mathematical Thinking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,591개의 평가
348개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

최상위 리뷰

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

MF

Aug 26, 2017

Great course, it's really shows the way how to think in mathematical rigor. It gave me an intuition about what Mathematics is itself.\n\nThank you Profesor Keith Devlin, you are a great teacher !

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking의 332개 리뷰 중 276~300

교육 기관: GAGAN S

Aug 29, 2019

Awesome course and an Awesome teacher. Best course ever!

교육 기관: Mia D

Aug 30, 2019

This well-designed course casts light on some essentials of mathematics as well as fills some gaps between high-school-level and university-level mathematics (esp. in how to read a proof and how to catch the "big idea"). Plus, Prof. Keith is both passionate and encouraging.

Highly recommend to learners who are taking first year's mathematics in university.

교육 기관: Varun K

Sep 18, 2019

Good for developing basic abilities like how to structure your proof, develop thinking through a well defined proof

교육 기관: Маханько М А

Aug 30, 2019

Really changes the mindset! A new way of looking at evidence. I understood the principle of mathematical induction, why it allows to obtain true conclusions. Everything is clear and easily explained. Many thanks for the course!

교육 기관: Subika H

Sep 01, 2019

extremely useful and helpful, actively feeds my curiosity regarding mathematics

교육 기관: Akash v

Sep 27, 2019

One of the best online course i have ever taken. Thanks to Keith sir for explaining all the concepts so engagingly and in detail. Looking forward for course's like this on coursera.

교육 기관: Srivibhavan B

Sep 26, 2019

I found this course a great refresher and it helped me fill a lot of gaps that had developed in my ability to understand advanced mathematics. The course helped me move faster with my study of ML and AI algorithms.

교육 기관: Anhad S B

Oct 28, 2019

Great course for someone trying to get back in touch with college level mathematics after working professionally and/or more usually, someone trying to get started on graduate level mathematics. Dr. Devlin is quite a thorough professor and I wish I had more professors like him during my undergraduate years as well.

교육 기관: Ковалев В А

Oct 30, 2019

More!

교육 기관: SRI V K D

Nov 14, 2019

the informational and best course to strengthen ur core skill in mathematics

교육 기관: Chen N

Jan 19, 2019

Really nice course, with many insightful and inspiring point. However, this course should be marked as "beginners" because it's too easy...

교육 기관: NOVAL R

Dec 13, 2018

It's very mind blowing approach for studying math.

교육 기관: Kirk S

Mar 30, 2019

Pretty awesome. I learned a lot. It wasn't easy, as this was mostly new material. Fascinating stuff.

교육 기관: Newton K

Jul 23, 2018

Really great way to deliver lectures and make us wow in building ability to think differently in mathematics.

교육 기관: Michael A

Mar 16, 2017

Excellent course, introducing a difficult concept very well

교육 기관: Olexa M

May 20, 2017

I'm listening this course to improve my English in domain of math.

Course is a little bit boring but pleasant to listen :)

교육 기관: Joseph A D

Mar 14, 2017

A very enjoyable introduction to proofs, number theory, and some real analysis.

교육 기관: Andrey D

Aug 24, 2017

Course is great but it is difficult to print assignments in PDF because printers is not accessible by everyone. It is better when all assignments use coursera platform.

교육 기관: Shiqian Y

Sep 27, 2017

Great course for the students who knows little about college mathematics. For those one who are already professional at university mathematics, this course is very easy to follow but still benefits students form many aspects.

교육 기관: Jeffrey O

Sep 03, 2017

I thought it was very interesting and for someone who has not taken a math course in 55+ years challenging. I wish Professor Devlin would have explained some things to a greater extent but I suppose for most of the class, that was not necessary.

교육 기관: Harish m

Jun 20, 2017

From my understanding so far; it's a good course that lets you quantify your basic logical thinking ability and understand your work areas if you're looking at understanding the beautiful world of mathematics.Happy Learning

교육 기관: Omair

Jun 10, 2017

A brilliant course must-take course, all that it needs is a little polishing up to cater for the very short attention span that today's netizens have.

교육 기관: Bodner N

May 25, 2017

Excellent, this was the course I would have needed when I started at university. I really enjoyed to puzzle arround, try to solve the problems and get my brain working. Only minus is the MOOC form, that does not allow for the assessments, which keeps the course a little low impact. Eventually, I would not have been able to take it if I would have had to invest more time ;-) . For me it was a perfect reminder to get into it again. Thanks.

교육 기관: Megan G

Jul 26, 2017

I really enjoyed the course and learned a lot! It became very difficult to follow toward the end, and I thought the standard of explanation was diminished by the end of week 8 so I could no longer follow. This was reflected in my final assignment, as I was not able to complete questions 9 and 10. Thanks for a great course!

교육 기관: Nico S

Mar 20, 2017

Here you will learn the basic skills for writing and judging proofs.

At core, the taught material consists of the content of Keith Devlin's book 'Introduction to Mathematical Thinking', which is available for low fee. But at this course are come lots of students together and they can help each other at struggling through the plenty exercises which accompany the lectures. And there is also some help from several mentors.In the last week you have to write your own proofs at ten problem sets and peer reviewing them for lots of other students.

negatives: Because the instructor suggested group building over the net, It happened at my course that the course participants was split to plenty small groups. And although it's a pretty good Idea that the Instructor presents the learning stuff at the videos by writing it on a small sheet with a pen, his handwriting is sometimes so terrible that it's hardly to read.