Chevron Left
Introduction to Mathematical Thinking(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Introduction to Mathematical Thinking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,592개의 평가
348개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

최상위 리뷰

NR

Mar 05, 2018

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

MF

Aug 26, 2017

Great course, it's really shows the way how to think in mathematical rigor. It gave me an intuition about what Mathematics is itself.\n\nThank you Profesor Keith Devlin, you are a great teacher !

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking의 332개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: C.Sundara p

Dec 21, 2017

i enjoyed and learned the course

교육 기관: Mehmet S T

Jun 03, 2017

It was really nice... I hope there will be the second part of this course.

교육 기관: Bennett

Apr 15, 2018

Good course. Have learned a lot along the way, more than only mathematics.

교육 기관: Naveen R A

Jul 21, 2017

Excellent Course

교육 기관: Marcos V L R

Feb 08, 2018

Boa iniciativa, boas palestras e aulas. Todavia, necessita-se de um adaptação para países da língua portuguesa. Pelo valor pago pelo curso, nada mais justo!

교육 기관: Marc B i M

Aug 04, 2017

Nice course overall. It makes you do and achieve what it says, so if you want to learn mathematical thinking that is the best introductory course for you.

교육 기관: Shubham S

Aug 11, 2017

I was expecting something more

교육 기관: Cássio M B V

May 03, 2017

excellent course. Unfortunately i lacked the algebric basis to follow and completely understand all the exercises and examples given. I followed all lessons trough the end, but was not able to do the test flight and complete it. but i will try again in future, when my algebric skills are better

교육 기관: Bodner N

May 25, 2017

Excellent, this was the course I would have needed when I started at university. I really enjoyed to puzzle arround, try to solve the problems and get my brain working. Only minus is the MOOC form, that does not allow for the assessments, which keeps the course a little low impact. Eventually, I would not have been able to take it if I would have had to invest more time ;-) . For me it was a perfect reminder to get into it again. Thanks.

교육 기관: Megan G

Jul 26, 2017

I really enjoyed the course and learned a lot! It became very difficult to follow toward the end, and I thought the standard of explanation was diminished by the end of week 8 so I could no longer follow. This was reflected in my final assignment, as I was not able to complete questions 9 and 10. Thanks for a great course!

교육 기관: Nico S

Mar 20, 2017

Here you will learn the basic skills for writing and judging proofs.

At core, the taught material consists of the content of Keith Devlin's book 'Introduction to Mathematical Thinking', which is available for low fee. But at this course are come lots of students together and they can help each other at struggling through the plenty exercises which accompany the lectures. And there is also some help from several mentors.In the last week you have to write your own proofs at ten problem sets and peer reviewing them for lots of other students.

negatives: Because the instructor suggested group building over the net, It happened at my course that the course participants was split to plenty small groups. And although it's a pretty good Idea that the Instructor presents the learning stuff at the videos by writing it on a small sheet with a pen, his handwriting is sometimes so terrible that it's hardly to read.

교육 기관: Angelina O

Apr 11, 2018

I am happy to learn Math from the beginning of the beginning. Moreover, if this course was read for me at school, I am sure that I could have much more closest relations with math:)

교육 기관: Sean R

Nov 22, 2017

Overall I thought it was pretty good. Explanations are straight forward, and easy to follow. Small little quizzes are given throughout videos to ensure that people are paying attention during the lessons.

The only negative part is that it's clearly a class that's designed around you working with multiple people. If you don't, you won't be able to study as well. Fortunately, there are forums, but with the nature of forums, responses can range from "immediate" to "never."

교육 기관: Hariprasad G

Feb 15, 2018

It is clear that a lot of effort has gone into developing this MOOC, with engaging content and splendid delivery by Prof. Devlin throughout. This is commendable, especially considering the course is traditionally meant for a conventional classroom and a lot of peer interaction, which is hard to simulate in a MOOC.

The Rubric was a little hard to wrap your head around, and often I found my views clashing with that of the instructor (I'm sure he's right, but as a student it's not always easy to see where he's coming from. For example, if you've been lenient in your moderation and given a middling score to a proof, but he's gone on to trash the same proof)

Having said that, it was a delight to learn with the Professor, who emphasizes first principles, assumes nothing, and teaches you to do the same.

교육 기관: MOYILLA N K T

May 14, 2018

very good

교육 기관: Kirk S

Mar 30, 2019

Pretty awesome. I learned a lot. It wasn't easy, as this was mostly new material. Fascinating stuff.

교육 기관: Anar

May 14, 2019

will update my review after finishing the course

교육 기관: Nicholas K

Jun 08, 2019

Good course.

교육 기관: Mitul D

Aug 03, 2019

best

교육 기관: Javier G

Oct 25, 2019

Only the last unit was hard to understand, as I think it wasn´t well explained. I recommend this course.

교육 기관: Digby D

Dec 12, 2017

A more mathematical approach to Formal Logic. Good alternative to Intro to Logic (also from Stanford) for STEM students if they don't like the format of Intro to Logic.

교육 기관: Almaz

Dec 29, 2017

completely disagree with evaluation exercises as it allows to get >= 12 points for completely wrong solution. It's better to use [0,7] based system as used in IMO. it makes more sense and checks problem solving, not ability to bullshit

교육 기관: CA G N

Jun 26, 2018

think differently....

교육 기관: zjm2017

Mar 04, 2017

useful

교육 기관: Wesley T

Dec 06, 2017

I really want to learn this material. I believe the module may be more improved if the videos were subdivided into smaller chunks. Passionate speaker though, theres a lot of promise here.