Chevron Left
Introduction to Mathematical Thinking(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Introduction to Mathematical Thinking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,341개의 평가
565개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

최상위 리뷰

NR

2018년 3월 4일

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

AM

2019년 11월 23일

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking의 550개 리뷰 중 476~500

교육 기관: John Z

2017년 7월 31일

great

교육 기관: Kristian F B

2017년 6월 14일

great

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 4월 27일

Nice.

교육 기관: PEIPEI Q

2017년 1월 17일

good!

교육 기관: Cindy P

2022년 3월 20일

good

교육 기관: TUHIN S M

2021년 3월 6일

good

교육 기관: Hữu Đ

2018년 10월 19일

nice

교육 기관: Bharath

2017년 4월 5일

best

교육 기관: Arnav J

2022년 4월 11일

Yay

교육 기관: Celine D

2017년 12월 24일

:)

교육 기관: 朱腾云

2017년 5월 24일

很好

교육 기관: Yining S

2017년 5월 13일

很棒

교육 기관: Benit G

2021년 4월 3일

.

교육 기관: Subhee

2020년 4월 24일

k

교육 기관: Meg- n n

2017년 7월 2일

v

교육 기관: Nico S

2017년 3월 20일

Here you will learn the basic skills for writing and judging proofs.

At core, the taught material consists of the content of Keith Devlin's book 'Introduction to Mathematical Thinking', which is available for low fee. But at this course are come lots of students together and they can help each other at struggling through the plenty exercises which accompany the lectures. And there is also some help from several mentors.In the last week you have to write your own proofs at ten problem sets and peer reviewing them for lots of other students.

negatives: Because the instructor suggested group building over the net, It happened at my course that the course participants was split to plenty small groups. And although it's a pretty good Idea that the Instructor presents the learning stuff at the videos by writing it on a small sheet with a pen, his handwriting is sometimes so terrible that it's hardly to read.

교육 기관: Hariprasad G

2018년 2월 15일

It is clear that a lot of effort has gone into developing this MOOC, with engaging content and splendid delivery by Prof. Devlin throughout. This is commendable, especially considering the course is traditionally meant for a conventional classroom and a lot of peer interaction, which is hard to simulate in a MOOC.

The Rubric was a little hard to wrap your head around, and often I found my views clashing with that of the instructor (I'm sure he's right, but as a student it's not always easy to see where he's coming from. For example, if you've been lenient in your moderation and given a middling score to a proof, but he's gone on to trash the same proof)

Having said that, it was a delight to learn with the Professor, who emphasizes first principles, assumes nothing, and teaches you to do the same.

교육 기관: Rob G

2021년 1월 31일

Great but ditch the test flight as it seems really arbitrary on who is marking as the people marking including myself have no experience marking others work. Some of the assignments could have been more thoroughly reviewed as opposed to the "i will go through a few questions and leave the rest for you and your classmates to work out". When you are learning how to do proofs it is really dangerous to leave your learning up to other people who are learning how to do proofs.

교육 기관: Bodner N

2017년 5월 25일

Excellent, this was the course I would have needed when I started at university. I really enjoyed to puzzle arround, try to solve the problems and get my brain working. Only minus is the MOOC form, that does not allow for the assessments, which keeps the course a little low impact. Eventually, I would not have been able to take it if I would have had to invest more time ;-) . For me it was a perfect reminder to get into it again. Thanks.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 7월 26일

I really enjoyed the course and learned a lot! It became very difficult to follow toward the end, and I thought the standard of explanation was diminished by the end of week 8 so I could no longer follow. This was reflected in my final assignment, as I was not able to complete questions 9 and 10. Thanks for a great course!

교육 기관: Cássio M B V

2017년 5월 3일

excellent course. Unfortunately i lacked the algebric basis to follow and completely understand all the exercises and examples given. I followed all lessons trough the end, but was not able to do the test flight and complete it. but i will try again in future, when my algebric skills are better

교육 기관: Ross A

2020년 5월 11일

This is really an introduction to mathematical proofs after going through some formal logic and mathematical quantifiers.

Keith Devlin is an excellent presenter and the problems he sets during the course all relate well to the topic he has discussed.

No practical use, but thoroughly enjoyable.

교육 기관: Lark N

2021년 1월 4일

Every thing is quite good in my opinion. The only problem is that community is not so active.

I really learn some amazing stuff, that helped my improve in many things, including competitive programming, computer science study, critical thinking and of course, mathematical proofs.

교육 기관: jeffrey o

2017년 9월 3일

I thought it was very interesting and for someone who has not taken a math course in 55+ years challenging. I wish Professor Devlin would have explained some things to a greater extent but I suppose for most of the class, that was not necessary.

교육 기관: bogdan c

2020년 2월 24일

i liked following this course. i just have some minor remarks: it felt like it was a little bit too "slow" although i agree with the idea that acceding to "mathematical thining" takes time. also i found the quizzes during courses annoying.