학생용
Chevron Left
Introduction to Mathematical Thinking(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Introduction to Mathematical Thinking 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
2,092개의 평가
501개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

최상위 리뷰

NR
2018년 3월 4일

An awesome course. Very easy to follow at the start, becomes more challenging at the end. I have a PhD in economics yet I struggled with the real analysis at the end. And that's just intro level! :-D

PD
2020년 6월 29일

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Mathematical Thinking의 484개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Vishal

2020년 5월 15일

it is a very fantastic course which improves our ability of thinking. It is a easy course at the beginning but little bit challenging in last weeks of this course also assignments some how hard but overall course is very fantastics and also well design. Thank you sir Dr.Keith Devlin for your guidance .

교육 기관: Sagar P

2017년 9월 28일

The 9-week mathematical journey taught me a lot and made fall in love with mathematics back again. I wish , I had worked harder and earned a better grade but commitments to my family and job did not let me do so. I await for another opportunity to get tutored by Dr. Keith Devlin and Stanford Univ. again

교육 기관: Serhiy O

2020년 8월 12일

My true thanks to Standford University staff that made this course happen. I believe, this course is a firm stepping stone toward many sorts of precise sciences. With this course, one may: 1) improve consistency in reasoning; 2) learn accurate word usage; 3) get to know a bunch of smart people.

교육 기관: Luiz F C S

2020년 7월 29일

This course is extremely good. I just got out of High school and the vision of mathematics this course gave me is totally different. My way of reasoning certainly changed and now I can recognize the importance of the use of language when comunicating, does not matter in what way it's been doing.

교육 기관: Chloe L

2020년 6월 7일

I never appreciated math or thought myself capable of doing math well. Now I am excited about real numbers and integers and solving puzzles! This course was a great life experience, and I am indebted to Prof. Devlin for the excellent design and meaningful principles that he put into the course.

교육 기관: Assaad E

2020년 6월 11일

just an awesome course that anyone should take. Since I began in this course, I saw mathematics in a new way that is more brilliant and effective, also my grades at the university goes up as well as my understanding of math and science materials.

Professor Keith Devlin will make you love math!!

교육 기관: Sharad S

2017년 12월 21일

This was a very good course which helped me to increase my horizons in the field of mathematics. I am no longer intimidated by the complex looking symbols and am able to make statements precise. I also do not rush to find an answer through a structured methodology. Prof. Devlin was superb.

교육 기관: Buwaneka S

2019년 5월 23일

This course starts slowly and clearly with the beginner in mind. I had to refer to other on-line material to really grasp the concept of the material conditional. Nonetheless this is a fantastic course, and any person starting a rigorous study of mathematics should take this course.

교육 기관: Mohammad M A

2017년 1월 28일

The course is really awesome and very much help full, as a student I can say every students that they want to go to universities they should join to this nice course which is provided by the coursera the best plat form for education.

Thank you for providing such a help full course.

교육 기관: MELGAREJO E A

2021년 1월 6일

The professor gave us a course of excellent quality. The tutorials are great and encouraged us to be professional mathematicians. The teacher encourages communication, cooperativism and respect among students. Thank you for your time and dedication. I learned more than logic!

교육 기관: Moses P P

2020년 9월 29일

The Introduction to Mathematical Thinking is a very profound and intuitive course. My favourite part of this course was on the opportunity given to evaluate other student's work, this gave me an opportunity to see other approaches and methods of solving different problems.

교육 기관: CHENG K

2017년 8월 8일

It is a very interesting course and over my expectation on what I could learn from the course. Apart from various technique taught in the course for solving mathematical problem, as Dr said, the most interesting thing learnt is the way of thinking to approach the problem.

교육 기관: Sajjad A

2017년 11월 16일

This course has really changed my way of thinking towards life in general, and Mathematics in particular. I feel every student above the age 14 should take this course, not just once, but should repeat it every year or so! Thank you Coursera. Thank you Professor Keith!

교육 기관: Brian-Tinh V

2018년 7월 10일

As an aspiring physicist, this class helped me a lot. I didn't learn any actual physics in this course, but I was able to develop a sense of what to pay attention to when tackling advanced math texts and topics to advance my career. Great summer activity.

교육 기관: Rafay N A

2017년 8월 26일

The most amazing and unique course on mathematics! I absolutely love it even though it was immensely challenging as the instructor said. But it is really helpful in letting one think in a very different yet effective way through the lens of mathematics!

교육 기관: Rajendra K

2017년 7월 6일

Excellent course to understand how Math "works". The concepts are introduced very gently and clearly. The only thing I would say is that a basic level of high school algebra is needed to do this course and must be specified up front (maybe I missed it).

교육 기관: Octai K

2020년 6월 4일

In this course we are given "permission" to take the time to think about a problem over time and let a solution formulate in our minds. It is not easy to find that time in the real world but this course demonstrates that it is worth striving to get it!

교육 기관: Elias D

2019년 6월 19일

It took me 10 months to complete this. it's fundamental in today's day an age. it was a humble step back to basics, with many comebacks. I recommend to anyone which looks to better enhance his thinking in all walks of life.

The teacher is a funny guy :)

교육 기관: Nanda K

2017년 9월 28일

An excellent course, well-designed and well-taught. Prof Devlin made the content, examples and quizzes very interesting and enjoyable. The technical aspects of the platform were handled well making the learning that much more easy and non-distracting.

교육 기관: Sudarshan V

2020년 10월 26일

One of the best courses I have ever done online or offline. This course made me realise how much I still love mathematics. I wish I had an instructor like Dr. Devlin when I was in university. I hope Dr. Devlin adds a course on Set theory in Coursera.

교육 기관: Илья

2019년 6월 5일

Great course from talented teacher. I really enjoyed it. You have to think hard in this course, some exercises were ok for me, some were too hard. But everytihing was interesting. And information about mathematical notation and logic was very helpful

교육 기관: Vadim

2018년 1월 14일

The course is awesome! It helped me to recall a lot of stuff from university mathematics. Most importantly, it let me look at everything I knew, from a different point of view, get deeper insight. Great thanks to Dr. Keith Devlin - awesome teacher!

교육 기관: Leo F

2018년 10월 6일

Approachable for pretty much anyone and actually complemented a lot of later university math by going into more detail. This is an assignment heavy course, which I liked, but requires a lot more effort than other MOOC (it was worth it though!).

교육 기관: Mitchel v H

2018년 5월 10일

It was a really interesting course up until the end. The way in which language can be ambigious has never been as clear to me. This course wasn't just about math but more or less the world as a working place where you have to make it work.

교육 기관: oximas

2020년 5월 31일

really great course and really great professor, the course made me smarter at writing better proofs and thinking in more formal and smarter ways, it's really an essential course if you are looking to become smarter in all sorts of manner.