Chevron Left
Mathematics for Computer Science(으)로 돌아가기

런던 대학교의 Mathematics for Computer Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
102개의 평가
34개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

“Welcome to Introduction to Numerical Mathematics. This is designed to give you part of the mathematical foundations needed to work in computer science in any of its strands, from business to visual digital arts, music, games. At any stage of the problem solving and modelling stage you will require numerical and computational tools. We get you started in binary and other number bases, some tools to make sense of sequences of numbers, how to represent space numerical using coordinates, how to study variations of quantities via functions and their graphs. For this we prepared computing and everyday life problems for you to solve using these tools, from sending secret messages to designing computer graphics. If you wish to take it further you can join the BSc Computer Science degree and complete the full module ‘Numerical Mathematics’. Enjoy!”...

최상위 리뷰

AJ

May 31, 2020

There are problems with some of the quizzes and were extremely frustrating, but I had positive learning experience with Dr Sara Santos

VB

May 10, 2019

I'm on week 3. So far so good. Challenging. Love practical tasks with implementation of steganography and cryptography.

필터링 기준:

Mathematics for Computer Science의 30개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Sébastien L

Mar 05, 2019

I have learnt quite a few things in this course. However, I will point out that you must be very attentive and not too surprised when you find a mistake, as they are common. I will leave aside the fact that there weren't many classmates around, which prevents you from having meaningful conversations in the forums and feedback on your peer-reviewed assignments, but I believe it is of interest to realize this soon enough as to not have unrealistic expectations. I was especially disappointed with the quality of the quizzes and other assignments: there were many mathematical expressions that weren't formatted correctly which made it very hard to decipher them. Apart from having badly formatted questions (containing spelling mistakes here and there), there are a few instances where even the answers gathered from the grading tools are wrong in some cases and at the very least ambiguous in other cases. I knew most of the material before taking the course and I was unable to achieve a perfect grade, partly due to the fact that there is absolutely no support from the teaching staff and partly due to the grading system used by the university. On the positive side, most of the videos were engaging in my opinion and all the concepts presented are directly useful to any computer scientist. I particularly enjoyed the first half of the course on number bases and modular arithmetic. Depending on your background, you may find the second half of the course somewhat basic, yet still useful. Overall, I would recommend other courses such as CS50 by Harvard University before this one if you are looking for a certificate. Otherwise, you can skip assignments, do not worry too much about the grades and learn important concepts from this course as a great mathematical foundation in computer science.

교육 기관: Greg L

May 03, 2019

still errors in quizzes after notification in beta-test. No-one from staff replies to comments or forums. I really want to give it 3.5, not 4

교육 기관: Volodymyr B

May 10, 2019

I'm on week 3. So far so good. Challenging. Love practical tasks with implementation of steganography and cryptography.

교육 기관: Jordan W

Mar 06, 2019

Great review of maths for comp sci

교육 기관: Deleted A

Feb 20, 2019

The content is very interesting and the professor is amazing.

But, the quality of the examinations could use some perfecting, although they are challenging and relevant which is a very good thing!

교육 기관: Chan C K

May 10, 2019

quizes are sometime buggy otherwise everything is fine

교육 기관: Toygar E

Jun 27, 2019

The professor is nice and does her best but overall the course is not structured well. Some hard to grasp assignments, assignments where you must collaborate with peers in loosely defined ways. Almost no feedback in quizzes. Failure in quizzes due to incorrect input format.

교육 기관: Abdurakhmon J

May 31, 2020

There are problems with some of the quizzes and were extremely frustrating, but I had positive learning experience with Dr Sara Santos

교육 기관: Doug D

Jul 16, 2019

Pretty good teaching. My only complaint would be some seeming technical flaws with some tests that made a few questions hard to understand. They are either technical flaws in rendering the templates maybe, or I just couldn't understand the explanation.

교육 기관: Dustin R

Oct 07, 2019

The material was interesting, but the format that we were to give for quiz answers was, at times, ambiguous. Several of the quizzes had errors in the material which made answering the question and receiving full credit impossible. I have submitted these to the Coursera Support staff, and they are to get in contact with the university regarding these issues.

교육 기관: Sergio F C C

Aug 11, 2019

VERY VERY VERY Detailed class. The professor is very intense and makes you practice a lot to reinforce learning and has so many outside resources to supplement learning. She also encourages communication among class members which is cute. She is very passionate. This is the closest I have come to a real college class on Coursera, talking from actual college experience.

교육 기관: Gabriel O B

Oct 30, 2019

I didn't purchase the certificate because I only do this for learning, but I completed all the contents that were allowed to me and I loved the course. The professor is great, she explains with great clarity and good examples. Also, the quizzes are perfect to maintain a good learning progression curve. Thanks to all!

교육 기관: Ellie A

Jun 15, 2020

This instructor makes math really fun! The material was challenging, but she was very engaging and gave a lot of descriptive examples.

교육 기관: Robin I

Jun 28, 2020

Very good course. I am left feeling like I want more. The professor was excellent. The material was well presented.

교육 기관: Aljosja B

Jul 19, 2020

Gentle introduction into mathematics for computer science, taught with a lot of enthusiasm.

교육 기관: Domi E T

Jun 20, 2020

I have learnt about how maths plays a good roles in computer science.

교육 기관: Mahmoud H

Jul 07, 2019

Clear Learning

교육 기관: RASIKAA S G

Jul 01, 2020

Awesome

교육 기관: MUTHURAJ H

Jun 20, 2020

....

교육 기관: Alex B

Jun 24, 2020

Pretty comprehensive overall but sometimes the gap between the difficulty of the tests compared to what was explained in the videos was frustrating. Also, I don't fully agree with the rating system since in a question with multiple valid answers if I mark 3 correct out of 4, with none wrong, I get 0 points. Also there's a small bug that sometimes gets triggered and prevent you from completing week 6.

교육 기관: Yarek W

Aug 05, 2020

The lectures are great but the assignments are unevenly paced: the first assignments are very engaging and hands on then gradually become boring tests and quizzes.

The video lectures suffer from technical difficulties: audio dropouts and playback speed issues.

Quizzes are full of display bugs which make them impossible to pass: ie. the question doesn't display, or the math notation is all borked.

교육 기관: Romaine G

Jun 14, 2020

This is by far the most in depth math education that I've experienced thus far. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to increase their mathematical knowledge. However, there is a problem with the final exam that I've already reported. Because of this problem I have failed multiple times, making the process quite frustrating, but over a good course.

교육 기관: Naved

Jun 28, 2020

Amazing course, truly. The instructor of the course was incredible at teaching and explaining things. On top of all the theory aspects course also offers optional content that applies to the real world. Thank you, Coursera for giving this opportunity to learn from one of if not the best teacher.

교육 기관: Alberto J G S

Mar 24, 2020

It was challenging and at some parts a little bit ambiguous but I think the material was good and the teacher's passionate and funny personality made it an enjoyable experience.

교육 기관: Iva M

Oct 10, 2019

The course really expanded my math knowledge and sparked the interest to learn even more.