Chevron Left
Introduction to Programming with MATLAB(으)로 돌아가기

밴더빌트 대학교의 Introduction to Programming with MATLAB 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
8,590개의 평가
2,375개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

최상위 리뷰

AK

Jun 06, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB

Jun 24, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Programming with MATLAB의 2,360개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: ahmed k

May 17, 2020

The first thing you will notice in this course that , the lessons are easy to understand and assignments are fun and worth digging hard.

and the staff members(Mr.Brandon Armstrong) are avalible .

a good introduction !

교육 기관: Prateek G

Apr 20, 2020

A well structured course in MATLAB that stars from basics and accelerates to advance problems.

교육 기관: Martha T

Jun 05, 2020

I am sure this is a great course for someone who has been exposed to computer programing somehow.

I was way ahead of my assignments and watched the lectures at 3X each chapter before getting to my assignments.

I got to a roadblock on week 4 and I am unable to move because the assignments have gone from 0-60 without much input. I am able to claim that because many others, who btw seem to be a bit more educated in the matter, experienced difficulties.

I understand the moderators can't just give out answers, but they just become robotic in their answers.

I am very glad I did not pay for a certificate. Otherwise, I would have wasted both my time and my money. I am out $10 for the book, though.

My advice is: don't take this class unless you know "something" about programming.

교육 기관: Peter d B

Jun 04, 2020

Teaches neither programming nor MATLAB effectively. Videos are too long and useless for the assignments. Very disappointing. I worked all the way to Week 7 and got 100& on all assignments. Then the lectures and assignments started to come from different worlds and the course became torture (which most people who like programming seem to accept and even enjoy; I don't.)

교육 기관: Pamela P

Apr 27, 2018

The videos are good, but have no relationship to the homework problems. There are too many problems per week, and they are very difficult given there are no examples in either the videos or book that cover the material examined in the homework. The entire course was just frustrating.

교육 기관: Anna S

Jun 11, 2020

The instructor is incredibly self-obsessed and just unbearable. All the 'jokes' are neither funny nor useful. Just stick to teaching if you have to.

교육 기관: Saiful A

Aug 30, 2016

Boring Professor

교육 기관: Amy Z

Oct 07, 2019

This is a fabulous course. It was exactly what I was looking for. Although of course it won't suit everyone's needs, I think it succeeds in providing a broad overview of basic Matlab functionality in a short period of time. I appreciate the instructor's self-deprecating humor, which is just enough to keep things light without detracting from the purpose of the class. The forum is great, and I always found T.A. responses to be prompt and helpful—kudos to those unsung heroes of education!

I had a bit of an unusual experience with the course in that I actually began it in December 2018 while on a school break, but had to stop after Week 7 when my university classes resumed. I wasn't able to return to this course until September 2019, at which time I began at the very start again and completed all 9 weeks. What I found is that the format of the class had changed in the interim. Both the earlier and the current formats are fine, and most of the lecture material is the same, but there are a few notable differences. Now, assignments are interspersed with the lectures, rather than being clustered at the end of each week. It seems to me that as a consequence there's a bit of misalignment between lecture material and the assignments on occasion, and it might be good to review that to get a better mesh. Also, the grader has changed. I like both the old and the new grader format equally well, but it would be good to be able to see the test conditions for each test case in the new grader, which (as I recall) students were able to do in the previous format. Lastly, my impression is that in the new format there are fewer assignments overall, and I would suggest to the instructor that the number of assignments could be increased. To sum up, nothing is perfect, but I really don't think you'll find a better introduction to Matlab. Highly, highly recommended.

교육 기관: Devarshi P

May 27, 2020

After doing a lot of research online, I feel fortunate to have come across this course. It is a perfect introduction for anyone to get ready to make excellent use of all tools/capability available with Matlab for practical purposes, especially in science and engineering field. The instructors have really thought through on how to expose programming concept and Matlab concept to someone with almost zero experience. If you sincerely finish this course, including all the exercises you are way ahead of the crowd. Even the textbook (optional) is offered at a student friendly prices. The concepts in textbook covered great breadth & depth of real-world problems that can be tackled with Matlab. This is much more than plain-n-simple Matlab Onramp course. It really prepares you to go deep into Matlab if you wish upon completion of course.

Many people complain of difficulty of final exercises. But without that you won't be able to tackle real world engineering problems. So these assignments strongly make you think logically on how to make best use of function of Matlab. The stronger the training, the better prepared one becomes.

Thanks a ton Prof. Fitzpatrick & Prof. Ledeczi. You have delivered more than what you committed. We are thankful to have gotten exposure to this seasoned class being taught for decades at Vanderbilt.

교육 기관: Özgür Z

Jun 27, 2016

This is the only one course, I have paid for certificate. I liked most of the course. Instructor has a unique way of teaching Matlab. He started Matlab basics. After that, he had shown functions. The reason of showing functions at the very first times was to evaluate the problems. I am so surprised when I have seen the usage of column operator in such different ways. Course was followed by decision structures, loops, strings and file I/O. The course content was well prepared. Video lectures are quite helpful. Especially, 1 hour problem solving example video was so beneficial. However, at the end of the course, problems become quite challenging and time consuming. In first 6 problem set, my success rate was 100%. But, in last two week's problems I was able to solve only 5 of 8. The problems become difficult to understand, there were not enough explanations or hints. Discussion pages were not useful some times. I had to make further research on internet to understand the problem and it was time consuming. In the new version of the course, it would be better if problems are clear to understand.

In short, the Instructors and Mentors did great job. Do I suggest this course to anyone else? The answer is definitely YES! Thank you.

교육 기관: Tim R

Jun 03, 2020

Great curse. I had a little bit of MATLAB experience so I was able do complete the first 5 weeks in a few days. Watching the videos in 1.75x speed saved some time when dealing with the easy topics. However, week 6 and following got harder and I spent quite some time figuring out how to code. It's fascinating how one can spent multiple hours to code something with loops and difficult indexing etc., but then when looking at the solution afterwards there is that big "aha" moment when one becomes aware of how simple the code could have been. Its like everything in the world...practice makes the master.

The 3 final problems in week 9 were interesting and great programming fun. I would say there could be more final problems though in order to get more practice. Overall the course is fantastic and I recommend it to everybody who wants to learn programming. The videos explain everything you need but also how to search for tips independently. A little bit feel for linear algebra is advantageous but in general there is no higher math skill required in order to be able to complete this course.

I will search Coursera for more programming/MATLAB courses. Thank you to all who make this online course possible.

교육 기관: Akhil R

Jun 25, 2020

I found this course not only a perfect start for programming but also for Matlab. Before starting with this course, I had no prior knowledge in programming and thus used to hate it. I always used to think that programming would be difficult and it's not my cup of tea. But now, after completing this course, I can proudly say that I know programming, and more than that, I have just starting loving it !!!!

I would like to thank Vanderbilt University and Prof. Fitzpatrick for providing with this wonderful course. This online course not even once felt me like an online course. The credit for that totally goes to Prof. Fitzpatrick's way of teaching. My favorite part of the course was not only your quirky remarks and nerdy (but hilarious) jokes but also that you made programming extremely interesting. After this perfect basics foundation, I am completely ready to dive in deeper into Matlab programming.

In short, the Instructors and Mentors did a great job. Do I suggest this course to anyone else? The answer is definitely YES !!!

Thanks for such a great opportunity!

교육 기관: Nengah W G

May 05, 2020

This course is really an interesting experience for me...although I've known Matlab years before. The course's material has been intriguing from the beginning, with the increasing difficulties until the final exercise. I've noted that for some exercises, the most difficult part is not the coding, but to understand the question and find the proper solution. The forum surely helps a lot in handling this difficult part, but for everyone who do the course in Coursera for the first time, it's like walking in the maze...haha..

The most inspiring quote for me is from Prof. Mike Fitzpatrick, programming is a humbling and often humiliating experience..should I write it on the wall?? maybe I should haha...

Last but not least, thank you for Prof. Akos Ledeczi, Teaching Staff (sorry, I've only remembered Mr. Brendan Armstrong there, did I miss someone?) and all the Coursera team...

Good Job and Thank you very much...

교육 기관: Zhang P

Mar 20, 2017

(1) lectures and example codes are good

(2) assignments have some good questions that make student to become familiar with topics

(3) some assignment problems are not clear. It is hard to even understand what the question asks. You don't know what to do until you have found a discussion post that a tutor explains what the question is. It will be helpful if the assignment could use more narratives and figures to make the questions clear to student.

(4) Some later assignments are hard and may requires more thinking.

(5) It is recommended to have an extra week/lectures videos on Object Oriented Programming. This topic can be optional/not for grades if it is too advanced for some students. However, it is good to have this topic covered in this course, as your lecture explanations are good and assignment questions are the best and optimal way for us to quickly master a topic.

교육 기관: Malic A R

Feb 08, 2018

was really such enriching experience with all it supplies with smooth explaining, helpful examples and mostly important funny problems from which I learnt a lot about how to to tackle a real problem and how to set up for the right algorithm. Programming is programming and the best way to learn it is by doing more and more exercises especially those involving real life problems as emphasized by the course. For all mentioned thus and more I would like to express how much I am fortune and how glad I am taking this course and follow the whole track up to the end passing all the assignments. Great thanks for Vanderbilt university, my heart thanks to Fitzpatrick and Ledeczi, and all who contributes to edit this wonderful course and I give a positive feedback and recommend all who wanna have such encouraging kick off and real boost in the field of programming.

교육 기관: VAMSHIDHAR S

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent experience of learning Matlab Programming and the course is elegantly designed to cover most of the concepts in Matlab. Through the video lectures and homework problems one can master most of the commands in matlabs. Prof. Fitzpatrick is the finest teacher I have come across, who made the course so interesting and made to look simple to understand which is not in reality. I never imagined that I could solve the homework problems and it was only possible by the Mentors guidance particularly Pauls posts. I take this opportunity to thank Prof Fitzpatrick, Prof Akos for designing such course which will be helpful in solving many scientific and Engineering problems and I am looking forward to use Matlab extensively.. Thanks to Coursera for providing the platform to experience the best course from the globally reputed University to many people.

교육 기관: Yi L

May 01, 2020

(汉语)作为技术通识课来说,这门课的水准是比较高的,讲的比较细,对于没有接触过Matlab的同学来说,这是不错的入门课程,从简单计算讲到简单I/O,学完这门课之后,应该可以用Matlab做点小工作了;而且这门课的编程作业题目很不错。但就我选课的期望来说,这门课的深度不太够,只能入个门(毕竟intro),更进一步就去做中学啃文档看论文吧(悲)。希望未来能有Simulink和工具箱的intro,毕竟啃文档挺累的。

(English) As a technical general course, this course has high quality and teaches meticulously. For those students who have never learned MATLAB, this course will be a good introduction, ranging from simple calculation to simple I/O operation. Students may be able to do some little work with MATLAB after this course. In addition, this course has good-quality programming assignments with moderate difficulty.

However, the depth is not enough, which makes me disappointed. Students can only get started after the course. If you want to go further with MATLAB, reading documents/papers, learning in working may be useful.

BTW, I need Simulink's tutorial.

교육 기관: Jaime A N

Mar 12, 2018

By showing me aspects of MATLAB that were new or almost new to me, this course has allowed me to delve deeper into MATLAB, and into programming in general, than I have done for a while now. While I have some past experience in its use, I was barely familiar with some of the more generic programming aspects shared by MATLAB as well as some of it's own characteristics. This course has allowed me to obtain what I hope is a decent grasp of these. I am therefore highly satisfied with the contents of this course and, if I had a suggestion for improving it, I would say maybe extend it to include some of the aspects of the book which are mentioned in the course but not covered as part of it. An alternative would be to organize a more advanced MATLA course that covers these, assuming such a course does not already exist.

교육 기관: Natalia V

May 17, 2017

Saying that this course is excellent is the least I could say. Lessons are clear and tidy, that way you can easily do homework tasks during the week each lesson lasts. The professor is really gifted, and mentors are very helpful, all my questions were answered with a maximum delay of 1 hour (this can be tricky for some time zones, but it is worth remarking). A special mention for mentor Paul T Mielke who is particularly clear in his explanations, and gives just enough details for students to resolve problems on their own. I recommend this course for beginners and people with some experience in Matlab that never took a formal introduction course (in this course you may learn easier ways to write your scripts, I know I did). Thanks to all the team in "Introduction to Programming with Matlab"

교육 기관: Nidhi S

Apr 30, 2020

The coursework is very intelligently compiled. Prof is super funny, he introduces each MATLAB feature at an appropriate timing, helping us learn the real importance and need for each feature. He doesn't allow the coursework to turn into a mere list of commands, functions and operators. It's like storytelling, and it's gripping. I spent my days and nights awake in anticipation to do one more assignment after each, finishing this coursework in barely 5 days. I also appreciate the fact that he picked examples that were picked up from practical world, so that we understand how to apply all the MATLAB skills that we've learnt in the coursework in real life also. It's rare to find teachers like him. I'm truly grateful I took this course. It's been a real pleasure learning from him.

교육 기관: Akshat R

Dec 08, 2017

Very informative course for starters. I have been using MATLAB for like small numericals and so but haven't used it for vast problems. But this course enables you to delve into those problems. Questions provided in the assignments are slightly on the tougher side (after HW5) which I think is difficult for the beginner to solve. Anyway thumbs up to Prof. Michael Fitzpatrick for his thorough micro-level teaching. As he said.."lots of patience is required for generating a code". For some codes I have to run program around 40-50 times to get it right. So one need to be patient while solving the problems.

On suggestion part I would like the course organizers to give more information in problems. Some of the information is missing and can only be guessed which eats up more time.

교육 기관: Deep S A

Apr 26, 2020

A perfect course for beginners and also for those who wish to brush up their basics of programming in MATLAB. I personally benefited from the Structures, Cells and File I/O sections of the course. The explanations are so simple and lucid. I just loved the way Prof. Fitzpatrick delivered the lectures, with some fun elements infused on the go. I loved, how he drove all the way to the Library just to emphasize on a simple fact that MATLAB online saves its files on clouds. The quizzes proved to be extremely helpful in establishing the concepts and providing a wholesome hands-on experience. Debugging some of the errors on my own was a good experience. The last three assignments were great, giving a subtle exposure to real applications like signal processing. Very Good!

교육 기관: Ephraim R

Dec 11, 2017

Absolutely great course.

He has a really good sense of humour and explains everything in a neat and understandable way.

His style of teaching is very impressive. Though sometimes I have to watch it on x1.25 speed, the slides and code examples help with revision.

One tip - do the programs. Pause the video. Do what it says. Create a new program based on what you learnt.

He will be missed, I'm really sad that this course is coming to an end. I'm looking forward to other courses like this.

The exercises are well prepared too. Even if you got full marks, please check with the given solution to ensure that you follow the best programming practices.

The discussion forum has a very good mentor who helped me complete this course.

교육 기관: G V V

Jun 20, 2019

This course was a great and enoyable learning experience! I liked Prof. Michael's teaching style and the slides that Prof. Michael and Prof. Akos provided.

I do know a few other programming languages, and I had taken this course to help me with MATLAB for Prof. Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course.This course taught me that MATLAB is a lot more than just a Machine Learning language. The assignments towards the end were challenging and introduced me to the basics of image and sound processing. (And how simple they are in MATLAB!)

MATLAB is a powerful language, and it makes solving complex problems simple (with help from the editor and debugger, of course). I hope I get many opportunities to use MATLAB in the future!

교육 기관: GOKULNATH

May 29, 2020

The course was extremely useful. I have always been scared of programming as I never respected it as a subject during my schooling. So, I was really in splits on taking the course. But turns out, I simply loved it. The pace, the examples and the mentor were all amazing. The assignments were smartly planned too. It taught me few function that weren't taught in the class. That's a very smart way of teaching. In my opinion, I would recommend this course to anyone( kinda an answer I give to Microsoft customer care!). Thanks people who were behind this.

Edit1: Now that I'm a big fan of Prof.Michael Fitzpatrick, is it also possible for him to teach us OOPSs and other advanced concepts in MATLAB?!!!