Chevron Left
Introduction to Programming with MATLAB(으)로 돌아가기

밴더빌트 대학교의 Introduction to Programming with MATLAB 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
8,779개의 평가
2,458개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

최상위 리뷰

DA

Jun 06, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB

Jun 24, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Programming with MATLAB의 2,431개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: GOKULNATH

May 29, 2020

The course was extremely useful. I have always been scared of programming as I never respected it as a subject during my schooling. So, I was really in splits on taking the course. But turns out, I simply loved it. The pace, the examples and the mentor were all amazing. The assignments were smartly planned too. It taught me few function that weren't taught in the class. That's a very smart way of teaching. In my opinion, I would recommend this course to anyone( kinda an answer I give to Microsoft customer care!). Thanks people who were behind this.

Edit1: Now that I'm a big fan of Prof.Michael Fitzpatrick, is it also possible for him to teach us OOPSs and other advanced concepts in MATLAB?!!!

교육 기관: Mohammad I Y

Mar 25, 2019

I must say the professor's explanation is great. Although you feel that every assessment from midway through the course is impossible. But trust me, give it some it, some thought, you are going to make it. The teaching staff is also excellent. I got my answers very rapid. They are very helpful. Week 7,8 and 9 is long, which compensated because from week 1 to week 6 will be a smooth flow. A suggestion would be to constantly seek for help in the discussion forum and also see if you have the same problem that anyone else faced earlier and the staff answered it. This method makes the whole process a lot faster. THANKS to VANDERBILT UNIVERSITY and COURSERA!

Until next time, Adios everyone!

교육 기관: Sunil K G

Jun 08, 2019

This in the best course on MATLAB Programming for beginners. The beauty of this course is the well framed Structure of the Course modules. Learner keeps on grasping things that are required in a systematic manner.Assignments given to the Learner are quite satisfying and important in terms of Main Tutor Prof.Fitzpatrick is quite energetic and motivating. Would like to see one more course on SIMULINK & Stateflow by the same Professors if its possible. Finally, I would sincerely like to thank Coursera, Coursera Community and last but not the least Profs. Mike Fitzpatrick & Akos Ledeczi for the excellent course which is benefiting Students and academicians all around world.

교육 기관: Surabhi S S

Jun 30, 2020

Greetings!!!

I'm a student of mechanical engineering and I'm well aware of importance of computers and computer programming in all fields of engineering - especially MECH. ENGG.

Computer programming was always a topic which would grab my attention towards it anytime. But I used to look at it as very complicated and must be requiring higher prerequisites. But when I started this course all my confusions and doubts were cleared.

I know this was just a small figment of computer programming, but with this course a door has been opened to complete new world with lots of fun and interesting things to learn.

Thank you all my dear teachers for making my learning EASY and FUN!

교육 기관: Shraddha S J

Dec 30, 2019

This course is really good. This course came handy for me for my post-graduation project. Because of this course now I can see or think through various aspects of the problem cause the solution is just lying there. Though I left this course in between cause I stuck on an assignment problem however I completed this course at last. Discussion forums are really helpful. Questions asked are quality questions. The answers or hints provided by staff are very well informed. They change your view of the problem. I really want to say Thank you to Mr. Mike Fitzpatrick, Akos Ledeczi, Brandon Armstrong (Teaching Staff) and the coursera team for this awesome course.

교육 기관: Radkhan S

Aug 17, 2018

I really liked the course. It really forced me to use a lot of logical thinking in some cases. But, from one hand, this probably was one minor drawback of this course. I understand that it was mostly related to basics, but probably you can add more problems to Files IO in the future or cell and struct as well. Otherwise, sometimes I got a feeling that I was solving similar questions that were getting a bit harder from week to week. Nevertheless, great job! Thank you very much. I really liked that you are keeping forums from previous sessions, so you could gain a lot of different information that could actually help to solve question.

교육 기관: Filipp Z

Apr 30, 2019

When I started this course, I literally had no idea about neither programming nor basic programming concepts. But after completing it, now I feel confident that I can develop my own programs for transport modeling. It was a tough course but totally worth it. The coolest thing about it is that you can take it without having prior programming knowledge, but at the end of it, you will be able to do whatever you want to do.

A BIG thank you to Vanderbilt University and to professors who run this course. They are people who know how to teach and how to transfer knowledge to others!!!

Best regards,

Filipp Zarov, Msc Student, KTH, Stockholm

교육 기관: faracarina

Dec 11, 2019

I love it because currently I am in a lab(on my fourth year of degree) and coming from a background with no basic programming skills, this course have helped me a lot to try to program and also learn about matlab more. I honestly can't say how much I appreciate this course for existing to help those people like me. Honestly, trust me, all those readings and searching on websites are not as helpful as this course. I wish I have all the money to learn everything I am interested to learn on cousera... kudos to all the professors that invested their time and knowledge to help create something so beneficial like this..Love it!

교육 기관: Jeyson R

Sep 20, 2019

This is a remarkably useful and interesting course. Its usefulness becomes more noticeable as you progress through the course and you can use what you have learned to solve problems the way you can think of, and realize that in real life there are problems for which, when creating a series of steps, (the one that suits you or that you like the most), after reasoning a bit, and by executing them, you can give them a solution.

Apart from this, the assignments are quite entertaining and challenging.

Finally, the teacher's ability to explain, in addition to his patience and humor, attests to his experience teaching.

교육 기관: Arthur M

Mar 01, 2020

Amazing course! Mike Fitzpatrick explains very well all the concepts covered in the videos and manages to make most of the material interesting. The overall structure of the course is well organized and makes sense.

I gave 5 stars but hesitated to give only 4 because I find the assignments (especially at the end) too difficult. It takes ages to complete them, which is a problem for those who don't 70h to spend on this course. In addition, we don't have explanations and solutions for all assignments after completing them.

Despite those issues, I really loved this course. Thank you Mike, Akos Ledeczi and team!

교육 기관: Megha M

Mar 14, 2017

I am from biology background and used to have least interest in programming. But the Course is very good. The best instructors ever I can have. They started from scratch so that even a new one can understand. Gradually I got good hands in programming at least in MATLAB.

The best part is the assignment. Brain storming assignments which were very helpful to learn the language. Also the mentors and instructors were great who were quick in responses to our queries. All that was very helpful. Thank you so much. I would appreciate if you can make such a great course with python also.

Thank you.

Regards

Megha Malhotra

교육 기관: Andres O S S

May 26, 2020

Excellent course to learn programming. I do think it is necessary to make the problem statement more clear. especially the last problems are really hard to understand what they are asking. I would suggest adding some examples of what expected output one should get. That way the students can have a better idea of what they need to do to solve te problem. That will also save you guys having to answer too many emails about similar questions. Nonetheless, I am very happy i took this programming course. I now feel confident enough to challenge myself further in MatLab. Thanks for the pleasant experience

교육 기관: Ekaterina S

Apr 05, 2020

Amazing course! This was my first programming experience and both Mr. Mike and Mr. Brandon are extraordinary teachers! Lectures are great and the material is explained thoroughly, easily understandable, and with awesome jokes! The assignments are exciting because they are well applicable in real life and unveil the mystery behind some computer processes we often take for granted. This especially refers to the final tests: was so much fun to make my brain crush while doing them! I am so grateful to the Vanderbilt University for sharing so talented professors and such a wonderful course with public!

교육 기관: Siddhesh S B

May 30, 2020

MATLAB is a very important software and computational tool for engineering students like myself. This course gave a great overview of all the basic yet crucial aspects of the language and MATLAB environment. The assignments were challenging yet not so difficult that they were discouraging. The instructor is also very engaging and has a unique content delivery style. I have certainly become a more proficient MATLAB programmer after taking this course and I urge all those who are interested in computation work or even those who want to learn the basics of programming to start off with this course!

교육 기관: Yash J

May 27, 2020

A great course, offered by very good teaching faculty ( humourous too I might add) with easy understanding of MATLAB.

It helped me a lot in also enhancing my critical thinking ability in last few assignments. Especially the second the last was very tough for me. But all in all it taught good problem solving skills and and will help in analysing many real world problems of physics. Now it's just a start but I plan on further enhance my knowledge using the textbook and other sources too.

Great initiative and work by Coursera, the professor and forum team. Kudos to you guys. And a final Thank you

교육 기관: Haoyang Z

Jul 24, 2019

The instructor explained the core concepts in MATLAB very clearly, with delightful anecdotes and encouragements embedded throughout the course. As an intro course, the course contents and practice problems are rather simple, but they lead the way to more advanced problems and applications.

One suggestion is that it would be even better to learn some more functions, especially ones that operate on matrices so that loops can be avoided or simplified. Many such functions are included in answers to specific problems, but still it would be nice to listen to the explanations from the instructor.

교육 기관: Mazen T

Jan 08, 2018

Wonderful Course, I enjoyed the lectures tremendously. The homework problems were very useful and challenging and some of them took hours to program. The gratification of getting “Your solution is correct.” on the screen after working for hours is just immense. It is clear to me that a lot of time and effort have been invested in this course over the years. The course is a very valuable resource on programming and MATLAB. Now that I am done, I will miss the lectures: from the introductory music to the closing credits. But, most of all, I will miss the lecturer himself, a true teacher.

교육 기관: Harshit K G

Jun 19, 2020

This is an intro-level, beginner-friendly and an amazing course on Introduction to Programming with MATLAB. With this course, I have learned a lot on MATLAB as a programming language. Though it does not cover the entire MATLAB (only covers upto functions and file-handling), but whatever is covered has been taken in depth. This is certainly the best course to get started with MATLAB according to me.

I am totally amazed with the course, and the way this course has been delivered, though virtually! Getting a free 9-weeks subscription to MATLAB programming adds more value to the course.

교육 기관: Panshul D

Apr 24, 2020

I am very happy to say that I have finally completed the course. I am programming from class 11 but in B.Tech now i wished to learn MATLAB. I am thankful to Vanderbilt University for fulfilling my wish. The Professor is very good in teaching, he explains really well.

The assignments are really good problems. Assignments at beginning are easy but with the course it get difficult and most difficult are those 3 problems that are given in the final submission they really messed me. That was a nice experience. Hope I will again come soon to be a part of Vanderbilt University again.

교육 기관: Fahim M

Oct 16, 2019

Far beyond my expectations, I didn't know anything about Matlab and computer programming. Now I know how to write a code to get my work done and save time. I remember what Mike Fitzpatrick said during the lecture sessions, that for solving a problem you should stick to it util you solve it, and most of the programming time is actually debugging and polishing the code. These statements were always encouraging me to solve the assignments and learn. The instructors were really helpful and Thanks to Brandon Armstrong for the prompt replying every time.

교육 기관: Rajkumar R

Aug 20, 2016

This course is a very good introduction to programming in general and covers all the basic concepts that is used in most of the programming languages. The lecturer makes things interesting with a sense of humour. The assignments which comes later on can be a tad difficult for someone new to programming, but as the professor says , stick with it, solve it, and the feeling you get when you finish it is unparalleled. All the doubts and queries in the discussion forums are answered quickly and efficiently. Great course and a great experience over all.

교육 기관: Devpreet S

May 05, 2020

Very interactive and useful information provided by lecturer. Thanks a lot to Mr. Akos Ledeczi Professor Computer Engineering and Mr. Mike Fitzpatrick Professor Emeritus Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Neurosurgery, and Radiology who share their valuable information to me.

I really used this information in my career growth.

Again Thanks to lecturer's and University who recognised and awarded me valuable certificate. Also thanks to Coursera to provide me the platform where I can update my skill and knowledge.

교육 기관: Gilberto E B O

Apr 12, 2020

Introduction to programming with MATLAB it’s the beginning of the exploring process of two wonderful worlds, the MATLAB world and the programming world. In a wonderful way the professors Mike Fitzpatrick and Akos Ledeczi, took me from zero to a great understanding of the basics concepts of programming using a powerful program, they performed this course in a manner to explode your capabilities both in the programming, as in the using of MATLAB, and the troubleshooting process. Definitively one of the best learning experiences I ever had.

교육 기관: Peter V

Apr 28, 2019

This is a great course. It starts from scratch, so if you have never seen Matlab, you can still follow along, because it does not skip essential basics such as what the different windows and such mean. After a while the assignments get pretty challenging though, but the forum provides a lot of hints in case you really get stuck. I learned a lot from this course. Thanks!

I also liked the dry humor in the lectures. The self deprecating "ironing my shirt"-joke in week 8 (?) was amazing, if you like that sort of thing...

Best,

Peter Vissers

교육 기관: patrick m

Mar 14, 2017

This is a fantastic introduction course into MATLAB programming. The course is very well structured, delivers in-depth knowledge of the main fundamental skills needed to use Matlab. The presentations are concise and well delivered. During the homework help is always available at the tip of your fingers and it takes usually less than 30 min to get a response (even on the weekends... IMPRESSIVE).

In addition, the recommended book allows you to delve deeper into MATLAB and I suggest you get that!

In short, I highly recommend this course!!!