Chevron Left
Matrix Algebra for Engineers(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 Matrix Algebra for Engineers 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,262개의 평가
799개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. The mathematics in this course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students should take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but students are expected to have attained a sufficient level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. The course contains 38 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve after each lecture. And after each substantial topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in instructor-provided lecture notes. There are a total of four weeks in the course, and at the end of each week there is an assessed quiz. Download the lecture notes: http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the promotional video: https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

최상위 리뷰

JS
2022년 1월 16일

With regards to my course and program, this was relevant. Although I was behind on some weeks, it was because some of the topics were not in concurrence with my course, but this course really helped.

JR
2021년 8월 4일

This is a carefully sequenced, content-rich introduction to Matrices; beware skimming over details: eg. the use of matrix formalism to solve the least squares problem is little short of magic.

필터링 기준:

Matrix Algebra for Engineers의 798개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Magesh J

2022년 1월 9일

This course from Hong Kong University professor is an excellent way to refresh your linear algebra you learnt at college. It is also equally good for people starting in matrix algebra, especially engineering students. The accompanying course material is also worth reading to fully understand what he teaches. I am looking forward to more of his courses. Thank you Coursera.

교육 기관: Niomi A

2020년 7월 31일

This course was excellent. Clearly explained and easy to follow. Relatively short videos with one idea in each, problems, and regular quizzes to check your progress. I was looking for a chance to review some of the mathematics that I completed a university many moons ago and this provided clear and easy to follow materials that should accessible to most. Great work!

교육 기관: Fritz A S G

2021년 12월 6일

It was a great learning experience. I liked how the professor delivered his discussion, the notes he provided, and the practice problems every section of the week. I definitely would recommend this course to other engineering students as it offers a comprehensive discussion on orthogonal matrices, LU decomposition, vector space, and eigenvalues. Kudos to the team!

교육 기관: Duc V K T

2018년 12월 30일

This was an interesting course, and I learned a lot about matrix algebra. I also took another course of him, which is Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio. This is the second course of professor Jeffrey Chasnov that I took, and I really like both of his courses. I hope that professor Jeffrey Chasnov will create some more interesting math courses in the future.

교육 기관: Roman B

2021년 2월 18일

Fantastic course to quickly get operational with key concepts of matrix algebra. Thanks a lot Jeff, great material! Great practical quizzes that help solidify the concepts, perfect proportion of practical tasks to the given videos! Will definitely recommend the course to my friends and looking forward to complete vector calculus and numerical methods by Jeff!

교육 기관: Hugo T W S

2021년 8월 8일

The course was generally easy to follow and the professor really made great length and effort to explain matrices and the it's application. Despite being having no prior knowledge of matrix algebra I was able to understand and practice the examples and questions provided throughout the course. This has immensely helped in my learning of the topic! Thank you.

교육 기관: Ken L

2021년 3월 9일

Excellent course very clearly taught and it is great to have the solutions available to the practice quizes - it is the equivalent of having someone to talk to about a difficult problem to solve and improves learning. Most errors I made were slips, the solutions give confidence when I realise I have the right method and just need to make a small correction.

교육 기관: Aldrich W

2021년 3월 13일

Professor Chasnov is great at explaining these mathematical concepts and his examples are so clear to help understand the theoretical parts. The use of light board in the video making also makes his teaching much more efficient and understandable. I highly recommend his course to people who have an interest in matrix algebra or linear algebra!

교육 기관: Kalpana G

2020년 10월 5일

This is such a great course. I have learned a lot. Course is excellent. Exercises are very good for practice and for clearing concepts. Exams covered all topics properly. Thanks for making such a wonderful course. Highly recommended. Clear and concise. Just the right amount delivered in a lucid, clear style. Look out for Jeff's other courses.

교육 기관: Dr. N D

2020년 5월 31일

The professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov is very nice in teaching. He provided the best examples and applications for the concepts. He has nicely designed course with proper distribution of practice examples. He has explained the methods in easiest possible way and also taken the examples in the same way. Thank you professor Jeffrey R. Chasnov.

교육 기관: Joshua N T

2020년 12월 29일

Great course handled by a great professor. I enjoyed the lecture videos, liked the reading tasks and quizzes too. Together these (lecture videos, reading tasks and quizzes) helped me a lot. I have learnt several applications of matrices which are fundamental in the engineering field. I would recommend engineers to take up this course

교육 기관: KShah

2021년 1월 4일

Great course and an awesome Professor! I learned a lot from Prof Chasnov's teaching that he presented in easily digestible chunks. He has done a great job in preparing material for the course that includes practice questions and quizzes on each section and topics. Thank you Prof Chasnov and the course staff for the enlightment!!

교육 기관: Blas G

2020년 9월 6일

Amazing course taught by a professor who was genuinely interested in explaining the material. Loved the teaching technique, and the whole structure of the course. I highly recommend this course to anybody looking to sharpen up their matrix algebra skills. I took it as a refresher before staring my MSc in Mechanical Engineering

교육 기관: Dhanada M

2019년 4월 1일

It was a wonderful course and helped me great deal to refresh my fundamental ideas about Vector Algebra. The course is very well designed and paced very well with interesting practice quizzes. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the course and would strongly recommend it for both new and advanced learners of the subject. Thank you.

교육 기관: Brian P

2021년 4월 14일

Very useful overview of matrix algebra -- I learned this 15 years ago in undergrad, and wanted to brush up on the concepts in preparation for some additional engineering studies. I think this was well worth the time spent to brush up on the skills and be reminded of many of the important operations/functions.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Melody M

2021년 7월 15일

Another great course from Jeff! The material was occasionally challenging, but paced well. The problem solutions were very helpful. A couple of the example problems were re-used a few too many times--some diversity in the problem sets would improve the course greatly. But overall, very much work the time and effort.

교육 기관: Bruno D P

2021년 4월 7일

The course was particularly clear and synthetic, but a little short. A chapter dedicated to QR and SVD decompositions, widely used techniques , would have been welcome. I would also have liked a chapter on linear transformations and their links with matrices in order to have a more global vision of linear algebra.

교육 기관: Edgar G

2021년 5월 27일

A very concise overview of the most important components of matrix algebra for engineers from all disciplines. Prof. Chasnov has a knack to explain the most abstract concepts in a way easy to follow. I like that the course focuses in the main concepts of Linear Algebra, instead of the usual filler found in books.

교육 기관: Lars O

2020년 9월 15일

Professor Chasnov is an excellent teacher. His lectures are clear and concise and all examples and problems are very helpful. I look forward to taking his vector calculus course and I would like to see him put together a complex variables analysis course for us. I'm sure it would be a comparably excellent course.

교육 기관: Timur C

2020년 6월 4일

I took this course as a refresher for my final year. Linear algebra wasn't my favorite subject in my freshman year since it involved a lot of tedious calculation but this course was light on me. Concept-oriented lessons with simple problems and challenging but not over the top quizzes. Thank you Prof. Chasnov !

교육 기관: Chaitali S

2020년 5월 27일

This is an excellent course for engineers to begin with fundamental matrix algebra. The practice questions are an excellent addition to improve the understanding of the course. The 'chalk and board' method makes it easy to understand the progression of thought and makes the teaching move at a comfortable pace.

교육 기관: Lorenz M M A

2021년 1월 27일

this site really helped me because online learning Is very difficult for me because I am the type of person that likes to take my class face to face. the interaction is good it is like I am in a real class. there are confusing parts but I manage to get it right after because the lesson is very interesting.

교육 기관: Wai Y K

2020년 12월 19일

A great course for undergraduate students who are about to learn matrix for the first time. The instructor points out some applications of matrix and must-known properties for matrix algebra which are going to be a basic foundation for science in the field of computer science, machine learning and AI.

교육 기관: Stanislaw S

2020년 4월 4일

Hi Prof. Chasnov, I am a retired engineer and it was my great pleasure to follow your course. Although I did not do any tests I tried to understand the material you taught. I must say I liked enormously the way you teach, very clear and understandable.

I wish you all the best,

Stanislaw Swiatkowski