Chevron Left
Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading(으)로 돌아가기

조지아공과대학교의 Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
3,015개의 평가
664개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course explores the topic of solid objects subjected to stress and strain. The methods taught in the course are used to predict the response of engineering structures to various types of loading, and to analyze the vulnerability of these structures to various failure modes. Axial loading with be the focus in this course. ------------------------------ The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

최상위 리뷰

RR
2018년 9월 8일

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

FA
2020년 8월 28일

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

필터링 기준:

Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading의 662개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Venkat R

2019년 3월 17일

highly recommended

교육 기관: Lucas A d S d A

2019년 3월 13일

Awesome course!!

교육 기관: Francisco S C

2016년 10월 4일

excellent course

교육 기관: Arun c

2019년 3월 23일

very usefull

교육 기관: Mark M N

2017년 2월 27일

Great Course

교육 기관: CE B N S

2020년 8월 5일

The course was really a great course. Though the last few topics were much difficult, I enjoyed it very much.

교육 기관: PAWAR P S

2020년 5월 3일

Course is good. Nice teaching . Legit problems. Only 1 negative point too many mistakes in every problem

교육 기관: Ahsan N

2020년 5월 10일

don't start the course until you've completed its prequels because you'll not get it as the tutor often refers to them

교육 기관: p s

2020년 5월 7일

Honorable Sir,

In Module 33: The value of radius of Mohr's circle calculated by You is 716µ. Actually this value is wrong. So, all other parameters calculated by you were wrong.

Kindly make it corrected. The correct parameter of radius of Mohr's circle is 761µ

Sir, You did one more mistake.

In Module 44: The free body diagram drawn by you was wrong, and also the applied force on the given structure is 135 kN, but you considered 530 kN. Therefore the other parameters in module:44 were also wrong.

Sir,

Kindly modify these two modules (33 & 44) before presenting next time. Actually, Your explanation was Good. Therefore, I am giving 100% feed back to you.

Yours faithfully

PUNDRU SRINIVASA RAO

Mail id : psrinivasarao_mct@mgit.ac.in

교육 기관: Buhari I

2017년 4월 23일

Woow! I had taken a course on Strength of Materials before, for my undergrad, but decided to take this course as refresher and to grasp some missed concepts. Dr. Whiteman's approach to teaching the course really helped me a lot to understand the behavior of materials in both the linear elastic and plastic regions. Mohr's Circles was a mystery for me, for some strange reason, but Dr. Whiteman really opened the door for me in this course. Overall, I think it was time well spent, and I will definitely recommend this course to anyone looking to have a solid grasp of the fundamental principles of mechanics of materials.

교육 기관: Yue Z

2021년 1월 25일

This is an instructive undergraduate-level course. I am a researcher working in the field of mechanics of materials so I am actually quite familiar with the course content, and when I'm going through this course, I find it contains most of the foundamental knowledge one has to know about uniaixial stress & strain. The quiz problems are relatively basic (though quiz 1 might be harder than the rest), but they covers the most important knowledge points so they can really examine whether you have learnt well. If you are a beginner in the field of mechanics of materials, I recommend you to start from here.

교육 기관: Rodolfo S M

2019년 12월 6일

Excellent course and very interesting to learn the basis of stress and strain. The proffesor showed emphaty and good explanations. On the other hand, the examples were really applicable. I met strain gauges, and sometimes the proffesor showed mechanical pieces in order to guide us. From my point of view, mechanics of materials is very extensive and I would like to see more specialty courses as fracture mechanics or deformation of materials in process (of steel or aluminum: materials tipically used around the world). I want to thank the proffesor to enrich my knowledge in this field.

교육 기관: Andrew B

2021년 2월 26일

Excellent instructor, well laid out and passes stimulate the student to think for themselves instead of only consuming information.

Would suggest:

1) adding a final Equation sheet with reference to the Module Number they were derived.

2) An explanation of where the material learned is being used, for instance: we learn to calculate stress on different angles to determine stress along a weld line. Also, principle stress is referenced in codes or FEA software, we need to understand sign convention in order to follow the code and use that software.

교육 기관: Arup K D

2020년 4월 13일

I have had this course as an undergraduate student in my university. From there my interest grew fir solid mechanics. So for the interest i took this course and found out very helpful for me. In my undergrad course, i skipped mohr circle and i was afraid of it very much for unknown reason. After completing this course, that fair is gone. And it is very simple for me now. Mr. Whiteman is very helpful and always try to help student in the discussion section. I would recommend this course for the beginners and intermediate students also.

교육 기관: Vanessa M S P

2020년 6월 7일

Through this course, I have now a better understanding of the stress and strain formulas. The course derives the formula so I absorbed the lessons effectively than simply memorizing it. It also shares some application of the concepts that help me visualize how they use them in the engineering world. The only negative comment I could say is that sometimes there are mistakes made in the middle of discussion like misspoke terms, wrong signs but immediately, made a correction by the sudden pop-up of the white screen.

교육 기관: Su P S

2020년 11월 6일

I must say I spend my homestay period beneficially for the first time thanks to Coursera. This course helps my further understanding of my major, Civil Engineering and also boosts the problem-solving skill. I am really proud of myself for finishing this course and grateful for the Georgia Tech and Coursera for the amazing quality, content and effort they put in this class. I am 100% sure this certificate will help me in university admissions and exchanges.

교육 기관: Heinrich Z

2020년 7월 21일

As an academic in Applied Mathematics, this Introductory Course on Mechanics of Materials, helped me tremendously in my understanding how stresses and strains occurs and the Mathematics behind this topic. Dr Whiteman's presentation of the course material was excellent and I have decided to enroll for another two courses, since I'm busy with post-graduate research in composite materials which will help me in the understanding of more concepts.

교육 기관: Ashutosh S

2017년 6월 2일

Amazing course. I have already studied this course during my undergrad but this experience was different, the derivations specifically which i would have never understood and their significance, are now crystal clear. I would request the professor to start a course on structural analysis and some modelling software so that these concepts could be related. A course in Finite element modelling is highly appreciated. Thanks alot.

교육 기관: Geraldy D

2020년 6월 30일

Thank You for Georgia Tech and Dr. Wayne Whiteman PE in delivering these interactive engineering courses. I like the way that the video and the module are created in such a way that it may be understandable and helpful for the students who are taking this course. Honestly, I was taking this course in order to help me in finishing my Final Year Project/Senior Capstone project for my Bachelor thesis, so once again thank you.

교육 기관: Chin M

2016년 6월 10일

The online lectures delivery by Dr Wayne are of a very high quality. Dr Wayne makes learning difficult concepts easy and the presentation is peppered with practical demonstrations of concepts at hand in the video. Learning is highly effective for the interested self-directed learner as there's good engagement and sufficient challenges are created along the way and during lecture delivery for the interested student.

교육 기관: Aitor A

2016년 3월 29일

I have really enjoyed this course. It has allowed me to review some of the aspects I studied at the modules of continuum mechanics at University. Dr. Whiteman clearly explains all the concepts and makes learning really easy. I appreciate a lot Dr. Whiteman´s work and I would like to encourage him to follow this path. Thank you very much for everything!

교육 기관: Jain P H

2020년 5월 9일

Very nicely designed course for the design mechanical engineers to understand the concepts of stresses, strains, principal stresses. Sound foundation of these concepts really help in designing of mechanical components. Dr. Wayne Whiteman explained all these concepts in very simple and lucid manner. Thank you Sir.

교육 기관: Muhammad S M A

2020년 10월 1일

a very good and comprehensive course. presented beautifully by Dr. Whiteman, this course has the complete set of the fundamentals of mechanics of materials. It also includes quizzes and exercises with solutions to help better understanding of the topics on the module. A brilliant work by the Georgia Tech.

교육 기관: Shriniwas S S

2020년 10월 22일

This is one of the most challenging course I've taken on coursera. Assignments were really tough enough to make you think about it deeply and use all the knowledge you've gained. Dr. Wayne Whiteman sir, A very big thanks to you. Hats off to your efforts taken in his course. I'll see you in next module.

교육 기관: Abhishek N

2020년 4월 27일

The course of Mechanics of Material is one of the most competent course for current mechanical and manufacturing industry.I enjoyed the course on full fledged.The delivery of lecture was just epic.Thank you so much sir,Georgia Tech University and coursera platform for such a significant contribution.