Chevron Left
The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
298개의 평가
95개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Did you know that Arabic was for centuries the lingua franca in an area stretching from the south of Spain to the Chinese border? Did you know that the Middle East under Muslim rule in those days was the world’s beating heart of trade, but also of science and scholarship? Did you know that Islam in its formative period was heavily influenced by existing cultures in the region, like Indian, Greek, Persian and Byzantine culture? Did you know that for many centuries after the establishment of the Muslim Empire the majority of the population remained largely Christian and Jewish? Did you know that they held a protected status in Islamic law? Did you know that this generally open-minded, curious and open society stimulated many great innovations and inventions? Did you know that European scholarship in the Renaissance leaned heavily on the texts and inventions from the Middle East which were the outcome of this sophisticated advanced society? In this course we will focus on the fascinating history of the Arabic Medieval World. We will take you on a journey through the Middle Ages starting off in eighth-century Baghdad. Along the old pilgrim trails we will go to places like Mecca, Jerusalem and Najaf. We will show you the impressive markets of places like Cairo and Samarkand. However we will not hide the dark sides of society either, by introducing you to the flourishing widespread slave trade. We will visit the Abbasid court, the Harem of the caliph, and the palace of the Mamluk Sultan. We will show you some beautiful medieval manuscripts, that live on as the silent witnesses of the impressive achievements of scientists and medical doctors of this forgotten era. All along we will present you with historiographical debates and dilemma’s. Reflecting on the way we look at and interpret history. And while taking you on this journey, we will travel back and forth in time explaining to you how events of the past affected and shaped the world as we know it today. Welcome to the Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World! Enroll now and follow this course for free. --- Testimonial: Dear Prof. Sijpesteijn I am sending this email in gratitude for the Leiden University team for this course. Please thank the Faculty of Governance and Global Affairs for offering it on Coursera, the Faculty of Humanities for creating the lovely course content and the excellent reading material. Rarely have I seen an MOOC that is this well-researched and thought through. This is in addition to the excellent resources provided and the creative media. I finished the course and presently doing the honors-track. If I may introduce myself, I am Radi Radi, a Palestinian-Jordanian who lives on "Shajaret Al Dur" St. in Amman, Jordan. It was quite an coincidence to learn about her here. I work as a pilot and currently we are not flying anywhere currently so I thought of finishing this course. I am a Bachelor of Civil Engineering from Ryerson Univeristy, Canada and this really felt like the 100-level electives I took in that it really is a university-level course. I have bought a few books that I have read about in your course and that meant that I have something else to do in this corona-imposed hiatus. After Once aviation kicks back into gear, I hope to be flying to Amsterdam Again. When that happens, I plan on bringing you guys a gift from Amman for your efforts. Many Thanks Radi Radi...

최상위 리뷰

DG

2019년 12월 10일

Thank you for this beautiful course ! I learned a lot and most important, as a European, this course changed my vision of the Islamic world. This course opens my mind. Thank you !

LC

2020년 9월 16일

From this course, I gain more knowledge and insight about Medieval Arabic World. Also, to correct some Orientalists pictures of the Medieval Arabic World.

필터링 기준:

The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World의 96개 리뷰 중 76~96

교육 기관: francisco v r

2020년 9월 6일

EXCELLENT COURSE

교육 기관: Dave R

2020년 4월 12일

Excellent course

교육 기관: Joanne J

2022년 3월 29일

​great course

교육 기관: Mohd A

2020년 5월 3일

excellent!

교육 기관: Mohamed E H

2018년 12월 26일

i love you

교육 기관: Ana M J L

2022년 3월 6일

excellent

교육 기관: saf a

2021년 4월 2일

Thanks

교육 기관: Veronica E p

2020년 5월 18일

I LIKE

교육 기관: Russell B

2020년 5월 17일

I loved this course and recommend it highly. It was well organized, had good, clear, enthusiastic lecturers and some great materials. The subject matter is fascinating. I did have some criticisms - for example, there was a tendency to condescend to students, assuming we were all starting out with Eurocentric and "Orientalist" assumptions that we had to be converted from. Still, I won't harp on things that worried me that might not worry others. Overall it's a beautifully designed and executed course, and despite some criticisms that I have it exceeded my expectations. Thanks to all who were involved!

교육 기관: Joana M

2020년 5월 3일

In gereral, the course in The Cosmopolitan Medieval Arabic World is very interesting.

The different knowledge shared along the weeks is associated with sociey, its infrastructures, religion, commercial activities - trade, slaves and mameluks, cultural development, orientalism and translation movements.

In my opinion, from all the readins, only two of them were not that interesting and I feel that I lost too much time paying attention to it. The exams by the end of each module should be more straight to the information learnt.

Overall, the knowledge I got from it will be very important in my job.

교육 기관: Nina F

2021년 1월 14일

This was a very enlightening and informative course. I learned about many things that I didn't know about before. I greatly enjoyed the lectures and the readings and am now very interested in learning more about the Medieval Arabic world. My only issue with this course is that the subtitles for the videos need to be improved. There is a lot of misspelling in the subtitles for the videos.

교육 기관: Emily C

2021년 3월 20일

There is some engaging material in this course. In fact, I think I will probably access and refer to some of the materials again in the future. However, the best thing about the course was that I learnt that I could register for a JSTOR account and read a certain number of articles for free each month.

교육 기관: Lowell N

2021년 3월 8일

Interesting subject, generally high-quality presentations, and well organized. Covered a broad range of issues (economic, social, governmental, scientific) to give a better feel for what was going on in this area at the time.

교육 기관: Barnak D

2022년 3월 3일

Very intruiging and interesting course presenting an often ignored past of medieval Islamic history. Course materials and readings are good but the review system is broken. Honours content needs better optimization.

교육 기관: Mehwish A

2021년 4월 5일

It was an amazing experience studying this course with Coursera, it has many fascinating stories which caught my attention and I would like to revisit them someday.

교육 기관: Karen B

2020년 6월 5일

Es un curso muy interesante. Videos, audios, lecturas que nos proporcionan una visión del mundo árabe en la época medieval. lo disfruté mucho.

교육 기관: Ilham Q

2021년 10월 28일

Very good. engaging and interesting content and lectures partitioned by quizzes to show progress. A few technical issues but overall, superb!

교육 기관: Susana L T

2020년 8월 18일

El curso se ofrece en español, pero posee podcast en idioma inglés lo que imposibilita la comprensión, no pude completar.

교육 기관: Szepseskaf

2021년 6월 28일

T​he course wasn't bad. I've laerned some very interesting facts. However, the material I was supposed to read was rather boring. I'd rather listen to more lectures than read those many articles

교육 기관: Jordi T

2021년 3월 12일

This course was too biased, too pro-muslim society, always comparing it to western society as if this was the role model. Sentences like "Baghdad had a million of citizens while London was a fishing village" prevented me from enjoying the course. It would have been nice if the subjects would have taught free of comparison, just as they are, allowing the students to get their own interpretations and ideas.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2020년 12월 14일

Always present facts. You had a lot of good information but enough misinformation that was important to understanding the region today that I could not watch. You lost more credibility when showing the travel slide with narration about a woman and her husband traveling to Hajj then said at the end this was an invention used to illustrate the scene/times. You should stick with the facts.