Chevron Left
Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교의 Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
129개의 평가
59개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Perhaps no other relic of the European Middle Ages captures our imagination more than illuminated medieval manuscripts, or those documents decorated with images and colored pigments. Serving as windows unto a lost world of kings, ladies, faith, war, and culture, they communicate complex visual and textual narratives of Europe’s collective cultural heritage and patrimony. In this fashion, illuminated manuscripts are dynamic messages from our communal past that are still relevant today in fields like graphic design and typography. In this seven-week course, students will explore the material creation, content, and historical context of illuminated medieval European manuscripts. Students will acquire an introductory knowledge of their distinguishing characteristics, their cataloguing and periodization (when they were created), the methods utilized to produce them, and their historical context and value. Student achievement will be assessed using not only traditional multiple-choice quizzes, but more importantly will be evaluated based on individual student projects. In their final projects students will either (1) produce a board of commented images about medieval manuscripts or (2) prepare a physical manuscript using medieval methods. The best of these peer-evaluated projects will be posted on the Deciphering Secrets website, which is our collective citizen scholarship web presence that encourages and supports our global citizen scholars appreciation and contributions to transcription of medieval manuscripts. Finally, we wish to highlight that this course is an exciting international collaboration between the University of Colorado (USA) and Universidad Complutense Madrid (Spain)....

최상위 리뷰

K
2018년 1월 26일

An excellent overview of a complex subject , with the rare option to explore the practical skills involved in making manuscripts , and with a forward view of new research evolving IT makes possible.

JS
2017년 5월 4일

fascinating subject. Excellent course whether you want to just learn about the history of the manuscripts or try creating some yourself. The Spanish professor is a real expert in the subject.

필터링 기준:

Deciphering Secrets: The Illuminated Manuscripts of Medieval Europe의 59개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Eugenia R

2020년 10월 10일

Great way of learning not only about history but also about the valuable objects that are the manuscripts!

The best part of the course is learning through the hands-on projects! Great addition for the online classes!

Thanks for this amazing opportunity!

교육 기관: Emily d B

2017년 8월 12일

I loved it! Although one can only touch the surface of this field in such a short time frame, I learned a lot. I liked the combination of medieval history and manuscript making. It helps putting it all in perspective.

교육 기관: Angelina B

2019년 6월 5일

So, far I am not too far into the class however, it is extremely satisfying the level of information that one person can choose to attain via coursera. The time frames are tight, but flexible thankfully.

교육 기관: Kenneth K

2018년 1월 27일

An excellent overview of a complex subject , with the rare option to explore the practical skills involved in making manuscripts , and with a forward view of new research evolving IT makes possible.

교육 기관: Joy S

2017년 5월 5일

fascinating subject. Excellent course whether you want to just learn about the history of the manuscripts or try creating some yourself. The Spanish professor is a real expert in the subject.

교육 기관: Ivan S

2018년 1월 21일

It was amazing course full of new information and things to know, full of activities and works for creation own medieval manuscript. A lot of thanks for all people who done it!

교육 기관: Jax L

2017년 9월 19일

This is definitely a must for anyone with an interest in history. The combination of the historic backdrop and the practical nature of manuscript studies makes it even more

교육 기관: Марина П

2018년 5월 12일

Excellent! Just one problem. There probably not too many students so it takes more time to grade your peer reviewed assignement and you have to wait.

교육 기관: Theodora P

2019년 3월 3일

Exceptional! I am a Historian and a Historian of Art, from Athens Greece. I am really impressed by this course and its scientific aspect.

교육 기관: Mitzi A R C

2021년 4월 28일

So interesting! Thanks! Fue un curso realmente interesante! pero sobre todo me ha ayudado a saber más sobre los manuscritos! GRACIAS!

교육 기관: Suzanne H

2021년 2월 16일

Wonderful experience to work on my own Illuminated Manuscript.

Always a pleasure to follow a course that has depth and richness.

교육 기관: Darryl L L

2020년 9월 27일

I enjoyed this course immensely. Be aware that the hands-on assignments are liable to take more than five hours each.

교육 기관: Roger F

2018년 8월 7일

A very interesting and enjoyable course. The Hands-on project is very worthwhile but there is quite a lot to do.

교육 기관: Beatriz m d

2021년 7월 14일

Me ha gustado mucho este curso.No puedo hacer los pares,no hablo inglés.Para mi,el curso está terminado.

교육 기관: Cecilia C

2017년 7월 14일

Very illuminating and interesting Course! I really enjoyed the combination of theory and hands-on!

교육 기관: Laëtitia J

2018년 10월 26일

Complete, and very high quality ! And last but not least, creative and funny :) Many thanks

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 12월 11일

Interesting and enjoyable course. Thanks for all the work in preparation of the course.

교육 기관: Ben F

2020년 4월 18일

Excellent. I really enjoyed the course. I learnt loads, both theoretical and practical.

교육 기관: Linda O B

2021년 5월 3일

I enjoyed learning the history of Medieval Europe and the process of bookbinding.

교육 기관: Imelda F

2017년 1월 25일

Very challenging and also a lot of fun. I learned a lot and want to continue

교육 기관: Emily L

2017년 8월 10일

Great course, very informative, and left me inspired to learn more!

교육 기관: Charles R

2019년 11월 17일

This is a very good course.

I have learned a lot in a few weeks.

교육 기관: Alena B

2017년 3월 14일

Дужа захпляльны і цудоўны курс! Раю ўсім! Выкладчыкі - чароўныя!

교육 기관: Rossella P

2021년 2월 21일

I recommend this course to everyone. It's very interesting.

교육 기관: paq58

2021년 12월 13일

Fantastic experience to dig into old manuscripts!