Chevron Left
Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
94개의 평가
44개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The blank page can be the most daunting obstacle in writing. In this course, aspiring writers will assemble a “starter kit” for approaching the blank page by developing constructive ways to think about the writing process as a whole. While subsequent courses in this series will focus on the mechanics of good writing, this course offers ways to think about the writer’s relationship to her material, and ultimately develop a writing style that is uniquely her own....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Aug 05, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

RG

Sep 24, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.\n\nI really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

필터링 기준:

Memoir and Personal Essay: Managing Your Relationship with the Reader의 42개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Peter C

Jan 04, 2020

I felt that sometimes the instructions for the assignments were not clear, or if they were clear, what was being requested was rather trivial and elementary. Perhaps that was what made it hard to review one's peers. I was rather disappointed that the number of peer reviews, and their depth and content, were so minimal. I was diligent in reviewing others' - ranging from a minimum of 6 to a max of 13 reviews per assignment, over the four weeks. Yet most of the time I only had one, and occasionally two, people make any comments in the peer review. I may well have misunderstood what was being asked. So many of the contributions were of a low standard in grammar and sentence structure, even if the situations they were describing were full of interest and life. They wouldn't have passed a 5th grade teacher. Having said that, the video presentations by the professor were very engaging and I enjoyed thinking about the points he made.

교육 기관: Ruth L G

Apr 20, 2019

I loved the challenge of writing BUT I received one feedback apiece on only my 1st and 3rd assignment. I reviewed 3 assignments from others for all of the assignments. They were minimal. Maybe you should guide us what we say to other writers.

교육 기관: Colin P

Jun 06, 2019

I enjoyed doing the course. Some of the ideas I gathered doing it were very exciting. However, I was very disappointed in terms of feedback. I received one bit of feedback over the whole course. Also, there was nobody to contact if and when you came across problems. For instance, I was forced to review the same essay twice simply because I couldn't get hold of anyone to rectify the problem. There will always be problems so, it is important that there is someone to deal with them. This is not acceptable.

교육 기관: Austine C

Aug 20, 2019

I enjoyed the course, the lectures and the incentive to write. But I was very disappointed that I did not get enough reviews of one of my assignments. I hope there will be more reviews so I can get a grade. I don't understand the deadline system. People seem to be enrolling willy nilly.

교육 기관: Elaine D d S

Jul 08, 2019

I would prefer to have a teacher's review of my material.

교육 기관: Alicia W

Jul 03, 2020

Loved the course. The assignments were enough of a challenge and very manageable. I loved that the videos have transcripts because I am hearing impaired. I found that the majority of my peers gave good, helpful and encouraging reviews. I would have preferred a more personal sharing from the instructor at some point.

교육 기관: eileen p

Aug 18, 2019

The instructor was excellent, clearly and patiently explaining key concepts; and the assignments were useful to make me think about the writing.

I am not a writer and my enjoyment and appreciation of writing have grown significantly. Thank you!

교육 기관: Alexandria S

May 02, 2020

I thought this class was very well structured and that Greg Pardlo was relatable and on point. I have listened to the lecture segments repeatedly, and I continue to learn from them. The assignments, especially the one relating your life to historical trends and events, are enlightening.

교육 기관: B R H

Jun 11, 2020

it was a good learning experience . I was really forced to think and write my bits of my memoir with emotions, understand the difference between the frame and the story. Thanks Mr Greg . I never knew that i can do justice for on line learning. but YOU made it possible.

교육 기관: Jean-Pierre C

Apr 29, 2020

I have learnt a lot. More importantly, this course has unlocked my ability to think reflectively and to better structure the narrative. Sounds weird now but I never thought about the reader before with this level of respect. I genuinely think it has changed my approach.

교육 기관: Laura F Z

Jun 30, 2020

Dr. Pardlo was really clear in his explanations of the material, and presented the material in a fresh way that I had not been exposed to before, since I'm not a poet. I highly recommend this course for anyone who wants to kick-start their personal writing projects.

교육 기관: June W

Feb 25, 2019

I audited this course to brush up on my personal essay skills. I think that's something every blogger and writer, like myself, should do periodically. I enjoyed the course and I think I'll enjoy the rest of the specialization just as well.

교육 기관: Pongitte

Jun 02, 2020

Professor Pardlo is fantastic. His video clips are effective for getting participants to consider the various aspects of memoir writing. Excellent and appropriate use of examples to make his points. I only audited but would recommend.

교육 기관: Jon K

May 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I was my first course ever done online and the pace and topics were great. I would've liked more input from the instructor on my work, but it's probably not a suitable venue for that.

Thanks again.

교육 기관: Clarissa S

Jun 17, 2020

I loved this course! thank you so much! I loved Greg's videos, which were short but very insightful. I loved the assignments, very well thought. Couldn't recommend this course enough for anyone who wants to write.

교육 기관: Margaret M J

Oct 19, 2019

Key concepts in crafting memoir are presented, explained, and followed up with dynamite exercises. I found this course extremely useful in my efforts to structure and craft a memoir of my long work history.

교육 기관: Maram A

Jun 10, 2020

This course is so important for the persons who love details in life and step by step you will know how to write well about your thoughts and stories that you faced in your life...

Very interesting

교육 기관: Susan L

Aug 05, 2019

The information was given in such a way that I found myself re-thinking all of the stories I've written, wanting to explore other options and re-write from a clearer perspective. Truly valuable.

교육 기관: Edeltraud V

Aug 23, 2019

Just started today and finished already teh first week...fantastic ...well spoken, well informed, easy to understand from someone english is a second language. Look forward to the next weeks.

교육 기관: Roxana G

Sep 24, 2019

Very practical videos, short but instructive. Nice assignments, although the instructions weren't always clear.

I really liked the teacher, and I loved the content.

교육 기관: Bibek A

May 04, 2020

Fantastic. I learned so much about writing about myself and the people around me. Greg is a wonderful mentor. Truly enjoyed and learned a lot. Thanks, Coursera.

교육 기관: Irene G

Jun 01, 2020

I am an experienced writer. I enjoyed the videos and assignments. I felt that I learned some new skills and different ways of evaluating my writing.

교육 기관: Paulo B

Jan 27, 2020

The course widened my perspective of the memoir genre and helped me get the tools to accept the challenge of writing.

교육 기관: Tom B

Dec 07, 2019

This was really a fun course. I feel much more confident that I can write an interesting memoir!

교육 기관: Filia G

Dec 18, 2019

Greg Pardlo instills the learner with the insight needed to prompt the writer in you!