Chevron Left
Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
2,027개의 평가

강좌 소개

Welcome to Understanding Memory. Someone once said that memory is fascinating because sometimes we forget what we want to remember, sometimes we remember what we want to forget, and sometimes we remember events that never happened or never happened the way we remember them. I want to show you how memory works, why it sometimes fails, and what we can do to enhance it. Based on my recent book – Memory and Movies: What Films Can Teach Us About Memory (MIT Press, 2015) – I will provide an introduction to the scientific study of human memory by focusing on a select group of topics that hold widespread appeal. To facilitate your understanding, I will use clips from numerous films to illustrate different aspects of memory – describing what has been learned about memory in a nontechnical way for people with no prior background in psychology. Many of us love watching movies because they offer an unparalleled opportunity for entertainment, even if entertaining films are not always scientifically accurate. Still, I believe that we can learn a lot about memory from popular films, if we watch them with an educated eye. Welcome once more. I am looking forward to showing you what movies can teach us about memory. John Seamon Professor of Psychology Emeritus Wesleyan University...

최상위 리뷰

RD

2020년 7월 31일

The material is presented in an easy to remember and understand format. Information is repeated several times during a lecture. The videos chosen enhanced understanding and engagement in the lectures.

MS

2021년 2월 6일

This is a great course.I'm a film lover and a psychology student.This method of learning [learning through movies] more effect than the usual learning. Hope to see more courses like this in future.

필터링 기준:

Understanding Memory: Explaining the Psychology of Memory through Movies의 616개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Cédric P

2018년 7월 14일

Amazingly structured class, John Seamon's lecture is fluid and, together with the carefully chosen movie excerpts, even powerful at times. I initially took this class randomly and found it as profoundly informative as I found it enjoyable.

교육 기관: Zahabia A G S

2020년 9월 1일

Respected Sir / University of Wesleyan, This course was extremely informative and beautifully brought together. It was simple and could understand everything taught even though I am not from the Psychology field. Once again, thank you.

교육 기관: Jesús M

2016년 12월 6일

The course was entertaining, didactic and emotional. This was my first experience in Corsera and I am thankful to Professor John Seamon for his didactic quality and for his humanity in dealing with such sensitive and dramatic subjects.

교육 기관: Jo-Anna E

2018년 1월 28일

Excellent! Although I study psychology at university, (and have studied memory in detail), it is great to watch and learn about memory through the cinematic lens. I feel that my perspective is broadened. Well done and many thanks.

교육 기관: Shambhavee G J

2021년 1월 30일

it clarified a lot of doubts I had regarding memory, amnesia, and dissociative disorder and gave some valuable additional information and references to books, movies, reading materials, and published works of scholars in the field.

교육 기관: Guilherme D

2020년 9월 2일

Great introductory course to many aspects and concepts of memory. The fact that they're illustrated with movie clips makes them even more undestandable and easier to grasp. The teacher is very calm and explains everything clearly.

교육 기관: jane b

2017년 7월 12일

This is a wonderful course. I really enjoyed the presenter and have purchased his book so I could continue learning. I love movies and I love to learn to it was a perfect combination. A very fun course with a wealth of knowledge.

교육 기관: Marisol B M

2017년 3월 28일

Buen curso, es exactamente como su nombre lo indica, a través de películas explica cómo funciona la memoria y también aclara que algunas películas no muestran lo que en realidad sucede en nuestro cerebro en casos como la amnesia.

교육 기관: Ms. M Q

2020년 9월 20일

It was an exceptional course especially if you are fascinated with memory and how it actually works. The course was one of the bests here on coursers. Well put together content, easy to understand and never let's you get bored.

교육 기관: Silvia I A

2020년 10월 28일

This was an excellent course! I learned a lot and I saw interesting parts of films that explain the topics of memory. The teacher has a wonderful teaching skills and has prepared excellent material for this course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Sanjukta S

2019년 12월 27일

Very well explained concepts which were easy to grasp as the movies helped understand each topic. An interesting course that I would definitely recommend to others. Thanks you Sir for sharing these excerpts from the book.

교육 기관: Jarrent T

2017년 9월 15일

I learned a lot from this course. Indeed, the use of movies in studying and exploring the various concepts about memory is effective in contextualizing the ideas. Also, the lecturer is excellently discussing these concepts!

교육 기관: Denis C

2021년 1월 12일

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was very captivating and explaining it through memories was entertaining and insightful. Huge thanks to the lecturer, John Seamon, for making the coursework so captivating and memorable.

교육 기관: Ananya C

2016년 5월 29일

Its an amazing course. I am studying psychology in my high school and memory and learning are the topics which made psychology really interesting. The way everything is explained is really interesting and understandable.

교육 기관: Helena K

2019년 2월 3일

Extremely interesting course, perfect way to understand memory thru film. Also, makes you learn and think about things and ideas that you wouldn't think that could come up in this kind of course. Very much enjoyed!

교육 기관: Meryem H

2022년 3월 27일

I learned several informations from the Professor , the course was very informative and also the professor was good at keeping me concentrated with his words, a big thanks to him and to coursera for their efforts!

교육 기관: Gary M

2021년 2월 15일

I loved this course. It was informative, easy to follow, interesting and the way movie clips were used to demonstrate the reality or false impressions of memory - related cases was great and quite moving actually.

교육 기관: Damián L

2016년 5월 24일

Excellent course, excellent lecturer and test material. I will likely buy his book as the topic initially interested me, and interests me even more after this engaging and educational course. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Lewis R

2016년 2월 16일

This was an outstanding course. I am a qualified psychologist and lawyer but enjoyed the unique take on this topic. I was particularly fascinated by the warm, engaging lectures. Thank you for a great programme.

교육 기관: Ermanno G

2016년 5월 15일

Very interesting and intriguing way to show, by movies, how much our memory ability means in our everyday life. Thanks to have share it. For me is first of all a stimulating way to train my english fluency

교육 기관: Sreya v s

2020년 8월 1일

I loved this class. The way of teaching is appreciable. By attending this class some misconceptions about memory-related disorders get cleared. It was very informative. Thank you for this amazing course.

교육 기관: AKSHITA S

2020년 7월 14일

The professor was amazing and explained things with ease. It was a course filled with fun and knowledge. I love to know a thing and love watching movies so, this course was some sort of a blessing to me.

교육 기관: reine r r

2017년 12월 10일

professor seamon is a remarkable teacher,. linking memory function to movies is a brilliant idea because it allows us to relate the technical to what we can easily apprehend : popular culture. thank you.

교육 기관: Ana L F C

2017년 12월 13일

El curso me encantó. Se me hace excelente la manera en que se describen los conceptos relacionados con la memoria desde una perspectiva teórica y éstos se ejemplifican con películas e historias de vida.

교육 기관: TÂNIA M D S L

2021년 10월 20일

the first course and a teacher who can hold the attention and easily make us understand the course proposal. I am very happy for the opportunity that when the course ends, I have as a privilege. Thanks