Chevron Left
Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age (으)로 돌아가기

미시건 대학교의 Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
415개의 평가
101개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Most professions these days require more than general intelligence. They require in addition the ability to collect, analyze and think about data. Personal life is enriched when these same skills are applied to problems in everyday life involving judgment and choice. This course presents basic concepts from statistics, probability, scientific methodology, cognitive psychology and cost-benefit theory and shows how they can be applied to everything from picking one product over another to critiquing media accounts of scientific research. Concepts are defined briefly and breezily and then applied to many examples drawn from business, the media and everyday life. What kinds of things will you learn? Why it’s usually a mistake to interview people for a job. Why it’s highly unlikely that, if your first meal in a new restaurant is excellent, you will find the next meal to be as good. Why economists regularly walk out of movies and leave restaurant food uneaten. Why getting your picture on the cover of Sports Illustrated usually means your next season is going to be a disappointment. Why you might not have a disease even though you’ve tested positive for it. Why you’re never going to know how coffee affects you unless you conduct an experiment in which you flip a coin to determine whether you will have coffee on a given day. Why it might be a mistake to use an office in a building you own as opposed to having your office in someone else’s building. Why you should never keep a stock that’s going down in hopes that it will go back up and prevent you from losing any of your initial investment. Why it is that a great deal of health information presented in the media is misinformation....

최상위 리뷰

JM

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

NP

Aug 07, 2017

A very good course prof Richard has explained very difficult to understand concepts in a very simple language and made it easy for students to grasp the subject matter easily.

필터링 기준:

Mindware: Critical Thinking for the Information Age 의 100개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Saadiq H N

May 27, 2017

Excellent! A very informative course delivered in a very effective manner. I would highly recommend this course to all who have any interest at all in critical thinking.

교육 기관: Peter B

Dec 24, 2018

Excellent introduction to basic tools (awareness of some cognitive biases / heuristics, the importance of contextual factors, etc.) for sharpening our minds: It´s a must! :-)

교육 기관: Leonardo A

Apr 09, 2017

This is exactly what I needed in my field of work. Have been looking for this for several years and glad I found it.

교육 기관: Jess I

Oct 10, 2017

The professor is likable, the content is engaging and accessible, and the lessons are applicable to everyone's daily life in both personal and professional situations.

교육 기관: Javan M

Jul 29, 2019

This course is great! I recommend it to anyone who wants to be able to reason better and have more capabilities in making decisions. Thank you Dr. Nisbett and Coursera for providing this course.

교육 기관: Kavya S

Jun 10, 2019

Sir Richard Nisbett ensures an enjoyable learning experience full of anecdotes and surprising facts. This is a course everyone should do irrespective of the stage in their careers. The quizzes are the perfect difficulty level- questions are thought-provoking but not so difficult that the learner needs to rack their brains too much. They also have the perfect length of 4-15 questions which prevents quizzes from being burdens on the learner.

교육 기관: Edvardas G

Nov 27, 2018

Brilliant course and well taught by professor. Super content and given examples.

교육 기관: Narita R

Jan 10, 2019

Excellent course. Everyone should know the basics of the critical thinking especially in today's world when most of our decisions are influenced by news and social media. This course gives a new perspective of thinking critically about the big and small decisions in our lives.

교육 기관: Marc M Y

Dec 27, 2018

Extremely Insightful!

교육 기관: Mariya K

Jan 13, 2019

This is a great course which is a must-do for every modern person trying to deal with the huge amount of information and data which floods us every day. You will learn basic principles of statistics that will show you how to form expectations and how to explain some seemingly strange events. It will also teach you basic principles of logic and dialectical thinking, along with the differences between them, to help you understand not only the world, but yourself, too.

교육 기관: Hasan R C

Feb 16, 2019

Very helpful on decision making and statictical analysis.

교육 기관: Michał K

Mar 24, 2019

Terrific! I strongly reccomend for everybody who is eager to think accurately.

교육 기관: RAFAH A A

Jan 19, 2019

It was wonderful

교육 기관: Jameel C

Apr 02, 2019

A very Practical and Real life skiIls course. I found this course very well structured in terms of organising the way to use the thinking tools that I discovered in the course This is a must course for everyday thinking. Also Professor Nisbett brings a very warm and engaging way to his lectures that makes you come back for more.

교육 기관: Evangeline

Apr 04, 2019

very useful. Critical Thinking.

교육 기관: Виктория Е

Mar 04, 2019

I just finished my first week, but I already can say that it is changing my mind! These skills are extremely helpful in our lives. I am so grateful!

교육 기관: Sania N A

Jul 10, 2018

excellent course!

교육 기관: Alexandra Z

Jul 10, 2018

Great course!

교육 기관: Fernando V

Jul 11, 2018

Excelente

교육 기관: David A Q A

Jul 04, 2018

A Clear and Useful course to be a Better Decision Maker. Do you need something else? What you waiting for? Take course it's more than a nudge.

교육 기관: Alexandre Z R

Apr 25, 2017

This course was very successful in bring to light many concepts we need to carefully understand to don't evaluate everyday problems. It's based on explanatory examples that are much more acessible to everyone that complex mathematical notations. It worth to do.

교육 기관: Jacqueline A

Jun 30, 2017

This course is exactly what we all need now!

교육 기관: Sucharita R P

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent course. I learnt a lot from this course. It has changed my thinking and I hope to be able to use it in making decisions both at home as well as at work.

교육 기관: Nikhil N P

Aug 07, 2017

A very good course prof Richard has explained very difficult to understand concepts in a very simple language and made it easy for students to grasp the subject matter easily.

교육 기관: sun x

Sep 18, 2017

very useful! THX!!!