Chevron Left
Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
12,641개의 평가
3,027개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

최상위 리뷰

PM
2019년 8월 18일

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.\n\nThe forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

BL
2016년 10월 16일

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

필터링 기준:

Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach의 2,947개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: john p

2016년 5월 13일

No Open Source Libraries, this course is not educational; it is a sales pitch to use their expensive software. Good luck having an employer pay this amount of money for software when they can hire employees that can use free open source libraries.

교육 기관: Christopher W

2015년 10월 15일

The fact that the class uses GraphLab instead of pandas/numpy/sklearn should have been stated up front

The course felt like an advertisement for the professor's toolkit

It was very disappointing that the equivalent standard workflow was not supported

교육 기관: Amirhossein f

2020년 3월 14일

The instructors need to specify that you can run this course specialization using MAC or Linux only. I have wasted my time for the past 3 weeks trying to figure out how to run the Sframe or Turi using windows and could not find any solution.

교육 기관: Natalia Q C

2019년 7월 24일

The instructions to download GraphLab don't work and even when you sign to use the AWS platform the instructions are also old and I haven't been able to start any of the assignments because of that! I want MY MONEY BACK!!!

교육 기관: Alejandro

2016년 6월 13일

Shame that it was not possible to progress with this course without using graphlab which the creator of this course himself created. Please see the course as just a training sales promotion for his ML application.

교육 기관: Toma K

2019년 6월 11일

Warning! I paid for the specialization and now it tells me that the course ended 2 months ago!! i can't complete quizes which is why i paid!!! no options available to contact support.... no refund available....

교육 기관: Pablo S

2019년 7월 22일

I should have read the negative reviews before wasting two full days trying, and failing, to install the required software. I urge anyone reading this to avoid this course and look for alternatives.

교육 기관: Xing W

2016년 7월 3일

I was expecting to solve problems using more open-sourced package. Unfortunately, I feel this series of courses are more of an advertisement for the instructor's software company.

교육 기관: Eduardo R R

2015년 9월 23일

This course rely on commercial library. I am sorry, I don't believe the convenience of a commercial library is good for your learning. You may end up locked in.

교육 기관: Dmitri K

2016년 5월 26일

The whole course based on some proprietary software. In general, it seems that the main goal of the course is promote that software.

교육 기관: sravan

2016년 10월 13일

there is no proper documentation.

at least there should be some clear instructions for first program

교육 기관: Mario L

2015년 11월 24일

I dont like the tools they used, it seems like a promotion for their company.

교육 기관: Lester L

2020년 3월 21일

Not made for Windows, you need a linux or mac VM to apply this course.

교육 기관: Tim B

2019년 6월 4일

Complete waste of time until it is written using open-source packages.

교육 기관: Phillip B

2015년 9월 25일

Would have greatly preferred if open source tools were used.

교육 기관: Chandrakant M

2016년 9월 6일

I felt that I paid for demo of the Dato/Turi.

교육 기관: Nitin K

2019년 9월 12일

Not good support to learning process.

교육 기관: Anton M

2018년 2월 12일

Very interesting course, many thanks to Emily and Carlos.

The approach in explaining materials was exactly what I was looking for in order to understand both applications and implementation of AI.

교육 기관: Nafi A K

2017년 10월 15일

the course contains misleading information about a capstone project that I discovered -by coincidence - that is no longer exists, the video introduction and the final videos is mentioning the capstone project time and again ! , I think this is a major problem bacause such project was one of the most usefull demonstration of the skills that one could acquire from the course, if I knew this before I would not have enrolled in this course, unfortunatly I discovered this when I am already in the second Regression course!

교육 기관: Vishok

2020년 10월 12일

IF you are a beginner who would like to take up a job in a Data Science related field, read on:

The packages used here are not listed in a single job requirement in Angel, Glassdoor, etc. I know they said use the tools you want to, but most people taking up courses like this or similar are people with none or limited experience in Machine Learning. Rather than promoting tools created by the professor (Turi; Read the Wikipedia page, it seems like an advertisement) they need to use tools that are widely used in the industry.

(Though Turi has been acquired by Apple, the scope is very limited)

Furthermore, due to lack of proper support and solutions on sites like Stack Overflow, it gets harder for a person who lacks programming experience to debug if any problems arise

**THE BIGGEST ISSUE: Turi is NOT SUPPORTED on Windows!** I had to use a virtual environment in Ubuntu Terminal. (I may be wrong with the exact wording) For finding out how to use the package read this:

https://blog.usejournal.com/installing-turicreate-on-windows-10-534e147a4792

(Funny thing, the author of the page actually wrote "If you are taking the Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach", meaning someone would rarely use it for anything else IF they do)

Concept Explanation was good, but the above point was a major disappointment because I had to learn packages like Pandas and Scikit-Learn (Any job listing on Machine Learning using Python would list these as a MUST requirement. Besides, the support available on Stack Overflow is huge) after learning a package I would never use in my job.

So my suggestion is if you don't mind learning Turi and would like a surface level explanation of the concepts, go on.

교육 기관: Mihir I

2020년 5월 13일

Extremely disappointed with the quality of the teaching content. There is a major disconnect between the materials presented in the videos and quizzes. While there is a warning that there has been a shift from graphlab to turicreate, there is no way to assess the impact on additional effort required to fill in the gaps. In fact, one of the instructions in the week 2 programming assignment is outright wrong so you will be able to pass quiz. The discussion board is tough to navigate because of the subject heading are cryptic e.g. Need help, Error, etc. As a result one has to sift through many post to get an answer. Compared to other offering on Coursera, It is not worth paying for this course.

교육 기관: Peter F

2020년 3월 30일

This course would be okay if it weren't for turicreate, a Python package that's supposed to simplify things. If you have Linux or a Mac, it will do just that, but if you have Windows steer well clear of this course. The lecturers haven't considered the possibility that anyone might not have Linux or a Mac. All the faffing around getting turicreate to work (I did it once and I'm not doing it again) wasn't worth my trouble so I ended up guessing the answers to the quiz questions (you're allowed three attempts every eight hours) just to get this course out of the way. I'll use something actually accessible for the remaining courses, namely R.

교육 기관: Rithik S

2020년 5월 26일

The files that are given in readings are unable to open and turicreate cannot read that files also. I cant complete my assignments without reading those files. They haven't given any detailed explanation about how to read those files. In videos they had explained through csv files but in assignments they had given sframe file which are unable to read

교육 기관: Yakubu A

2020년 12월 23일

The learning tools and environment is not friendly. The use of graph lab seem outdated since python 3.7 does not seem to support the module. I suggest the course be reviewed. Python 2.7 seem to be going out of the system so something should be done about this

교육 기관: ye

2021년 1월 31일

The course is limited to use special package - turicreate, sframe, no detailed explanation of how to install that. Packages used are very out dated