Chevron Left
Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach(으)로 돌아가기

워싱턴 대학교의 Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
11,888개의 평가
2,846개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

최상위 리뷰

SZ
2016년 12월 19일

Great course!\n\nEmily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

BL
2016년 10월 16일

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

필터링 기준:

Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach의 2,760개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Yaron K

2016년 7월 13일

The Lecturers are very enthusiastic, but I was hoping for examples and assignments based on Pandas and Skikit-Learn. Instead the course examples and assignments are based on a machine learning package called Graphlab, that stopped working when it was upgraded to version 2 (there are workarounds that enable it to work locally, but clearly it isn't "enterprise ready")

교육 기관: Charlotte E

2016년 4월 12일

I feel like it should have been mentioned a lot clearer before starting that this was simply a course in how to use the creators library. These skills are not transferable anywhere else as I would have to pay to use them in future! Would have been a lot more useful as a how to for sci-kit and pandas.

교육 기관: Florian M H

2020년 5월 12일

I am a professional SW developer (Embedded C for control units). I do not recommend this course for people who already know something about machine learning. If you want to learn the basics of ML, Stanford's Machine Learning course is a far better choice (is based on Matlab though).

This one here has far too little content.

Moreover, in case you cannot install the needed GraphLab/TuriCreate SW package (only MacOS or Unix, for Windows not always working, as for me also!) then you're basically left alone with finding a) the SW packages you need (I took scikit, numpy, pandas) and the corresponding commands (because the entire course explains ONLY commands for Graphlab, NOT for the other packages) - this is BIG extra work you need to do on your own. Now the big joke is that all other courses in the specialization are NOT based on Graphlab, but on the other packages I mentioned ;).

In addition: Literally 0 support from teachers/mentors in the forum during the course. The students have/had to handle most/all problems themselves. This is a no-go.

교육 기관: Ivo R

2019년 11월 22일

This course is very frustrating because it uses a library called Turi Create that can't be installed on Windows 10. There is no support on how to setup you local environment after three days of frustration I decided to cancel my subscription.

When I opened the forum for week one all the threads were asking the same question: "How to install Turi Create on Windows 10."

It would have been much better if the course was done with a more popular library like Skit-learn.

This course is useless if you don't use a Linux or a Mac

교육 기관: Andreas

2017년 1월 4일

This specialization is delayed for months now - very annoying! Don't give them money!

교육 기관: Iori N

2016년 1월 26일

i cannot spend $4000 per year package just to learn this course. sorry i am off...

교육 기관: Sarah S

2016년 2월 13일

Unsufficient information for the programming assignments.

교육 기관: Susan L

2018년 11월 5일

Out of date. Should be retired or updated.

교육 기관: Ken C

2017년 2월 4일

Not happy about course 5 & 6 got cancelled.

교육 기관: Brett L

2016년 10월 17일

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

교육 기관: Sam Z

2016년 12월 20일

Great course!

Emily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

교육 기관: Pooja M

2019년 8월 19일

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.

The forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

교육 기관: Wei-Zhe Y

2019년 3월 18일

在上這門課之前,其實我就具備了這堂課大多數內容所需的知識,包含這些模型的方法以及數學證明等,因此這門課對我的幫助在於graphlab的使用、各種案例的探討及實踐。

由於有一些先備知識,這門課程的部分案例及題目,是我覺得不太能接受的,例如說:雖然課程中有提到overfitting觀念,但很多題目看起來都只在表達參數越多效果越好。

另外可能是在下才疏學淺搞錯了,在一些linear regression或是logistic regression的範例中,由於案例中的dummy variable過多,造成變數之間線性相依(n維空間中有k組向量,若k > n,必然存在若干向量彼此線性相依),直覺上有無數組解都可以達到幾近0的SSE,因此縱使結果再漂亮,對那幾個case中的參數,個人其實感到相當的疑惑。類似的困惑還有推薦系統的上課實例等。

課程主要專注在案例分享及各種方法的簡介,整體順序安排相當不錯,兩位講師的描述也相當生動有趣,有很多地方讓人感到耳目一新、獲益良多。不過關於模型的限制覺得還需要更多的解釋,才不會讓人誤用了一些不恰當的方法。

교육 기관: Hugo N M

2016년 2월 7일

The course has a fundamental problem, it relies completely on a library developed by one of the instructors, which is not open source. In the end, it seems like a big opportunity of delivering a marketing campaign by the instructors then otherwise.

I definitely will not spend time and money on the other courses of this specialization.

교육 기관: Igor K

2016년 6월 18일

I can only infer that this course's target audience is rich pregnant women who care about shoe shopping and celebrities. Unfortunately I am none of those things and had to cringe my way through the examples, watching the videos at 2x speed.

The course itself is incredibly shallow, even for a survey course, and basically serves as an ad for one of the professors' own products -- Graphlab Create. You'll be much better off taking Andrew Ng's course, which is significantly more in depth and forces you to write your own solutions to problems instead of relying on a proprietary library.

The only reason to prefer this course is if you really dislike the idea of using matlab.

교육 기관: Nafi A K

2017년 10월 15일

the course contains misleading information about a capstone project that I discovered -by coincidence - that is no longer exists, the video introduction and the final videos is mentioning the capstone project time and again ! , I think this is a major problem bacause such project was one of the most usefull demonstration of the skills that one could acquire from the course, if I knew this before I would not have enrolled in this course, unfortunatly I discovered this when I am already in the second Regression course!

교육 기관: Dmitry V

2016년 4월 1일

I'm sorry, but this is just ridiculous. I can't recommend this course to anyone. It's all about advertizing: Emily Fox can't stop but recommend Amazon services, and Carlos Guestrin does the same for his Dato's Graphlab Create, which is might be great in general, but absolutely useless in educational purposes. The practice part of every week is just a waste of the time.

I can't say "money well spent".

교육 기관: 郑轶松

2015년 12월 27일

LIKE an advertisment!

Why not use pandas and numpy sk-learn?

Open source is more popular!

교육 기관: Arun J

2018년 9월 18일

not useful since the material covered lacks any rigor.

교육 기관: Mike L

2016년 9월 6일

Might be good for someone looking for a casual overview?

I really wanted to like this course, and was excited about the series. Very disappointing. Refunded after scoring 100% on first three weeks and watching the theory portion of week 4. I was familiar, with the subject prior to taking this course; was hoping for a deep dive.

Too many trivially short and low information density videos. Handwavy mathematics. I would have liked to get a more solid idea of the depth of the series from the first course before committing money.

Default software for the course has near-zero market penetration (per indeed.com), unless maybe you work at Apple -- not really excusable for something that purports real-world value. Yes, you can use other software, *except for the capstone*, per another reviewer: this is fatal.

Presenters just not fully prepared to lecture on the topic: the nail in the coffin was the end of the week 4 lectures on clustering: "So, at this point, you really should be able to go out there and build a really cool retrieval system for doing news article retrieval. Or any other really, really, really cool retrieval that I can't think of right now. But of course there's lots of interesting examples. So go out there and think of ideas that I can't think of right now." Really? How about: "Cut! Take two."

Many poor design choices for the presentation. Too much time spent writing things on slides that should have already been on the slides.

As of this review: no reviews on the last courses in the series, and some poor (but indicative) reviews of the other courses.

교육 기관: Jakub A

2020년 3월 16일

Definitely too little detail, too little math - for people with academic background this course may be confusing and, ironically, hard to understand because it tries to be "intuitive" - omitting the important details and formalities, in other words. The biggest downside is the TuriCreate library - it's not well known, uses other syntax than popular libraries like Pandas or Scikit-learn for some strange reason, and does not have impact when written on CV. I've known about 3/4 of the course beforehand and it was both not good for recalling the prior knowledge and for learning new things (I don't feel I understand anything new from this course). A big letdown overall.

교육 기관: Sujith S M

2020년 6월 7일

The course content is really nice however it is nearly impossible to install the turiconnect to my machine as it wont support Python Version 3.8 and i saw many people complain about the same.

I tried with Anaconda,Ubundu WSL and then i learn i need to be a programming expert to install this software and i do not think it is worth to put my whole effort just to install a software.

Atleast i would expect the instructors to give a detailed description how to install the necessary tools then it will be helpful.Hence i wont recommend this course to anyone

교육 기관: SIVA S

2020년 5월 31일

Faced too many issues during oncourse period.

Still feel the teaching is outdated from software point of view

Issues was started the moment the .zip files had to be extracted and to be fed in Jupiter notebook.

My suggestion to coursera: Kindly change the description of the course for Intermediate who have previous knowledge on coding, but not for Beginners.... We struggled alot.

교육 기관: Winston H

2020년 2월 24일

This is the most junk and worst course I have ever taken. It has been so many years, and the software recommended by the two doctors cannot be installed at all. Now the most popular numpy and pandas are not mentioned at all in the course. All the videos are related to the junk-like software. I don't know why such quality courses can still be put on the coursera platform.

교육 기관: Nils W

2019년 9월 19일

The course could be great, if it won´t depend ob Python 2.7 and graphlabs (because scikit isn´t scalable). Also some quiz questions are so hard, that it is impossible to answer only with the material. So they use forum posts to answer how you can find a solution to the quizzez. So in total more a waste of time.