Chevron Left
The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
673개의 평가
175개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

최상위 리뷰

MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

필터링 기준:

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I의 173개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jenny P M A

Jun 29, 2019

Este curso superó mis expectativas siento una gran afinidad por el Medio Oriente y gracias bajo el direccionamiento del Profesor Asher Susser siento y se que tuve una adquisición de conocimiento o aprendizaje del mejor. Muy bueno, Excelente Gracias a la Universidad de Tel Aviv por su compromiso y su educación de calidad y por supuesto muchas gracias Coursera.

JJENNY MORENO AVELLANEDA

교육 기관: Gabriela R S F

Jun 11, 2019

Excelente. Absolutamente todo de un nivel de excelencia. Completo, dinámico, y accesible a cualquier persona sin conocimiento previo en el tema. Felicitaciones.

교육 기관: Claudia

Feb 06, 2016

A very clear, rigorous and ENJOYABLE presentation of a very complex subject. Definitely everyone interested in the roots of the modern Middle East troubles should take this primer.

교육 기관: Anna W

Jul 22, 2019

I have taken many courses through Coursera, and this one is by far my favorite. The content is easy to understand, the lectures are concise, and the professor does not waste a second of your time in his lectures. I cannot recommend this course enough!

교육 기관: dan d

May 30, 2019

Excellent all around.

교육 기관: Terhinoglou A

May 25, 2019

Πάρα πολύ βοηθητικό για μια εισαγωγική μελέτη της Μέσης Ανατολής.

교육 기관: Muhammed A K

May 20, 2019

really helpful for those who Interested to learn about middle east

교육 기관: OUDJEHANI R

May 15, 2019

Un superbe cours pour tous ceux qui veulent comprendre la géopolitique du Moyen-Orient

교육 기관: Chilan N

May 09, 2019

This course really helped me to get a glimpse of the Middle East, and the origin of the problems.

교육 기관: Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

교육 기관: Adwait B A

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

교육 기관: Mahmoud M M

Feb 23, 2019

Its carry a lot of hidden secrets about history of Middle East

교육 기관: Paula B

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic course! Professor Susser has a very engaging way of teaching history and the course materials (videos, course readings and quizzes) are very high quality

교육 기관: Beatriz m D

Feb 07, 2019

Ha sido un curso excelente,dentro de poco empezaré la segunda parte.

교육 기관: Ben G

Jan 20, 2019

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

교육 기관: Liudmyla

Dec 02, 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Yaniv B

Nov 03, 2018

A must take course for anyone that want to understand the middle east.

교육 기관: Johnny d s

Oct 12, 2018

the professor was great with him everithing was more easy, ok not that easy becouse i make my effort but a like it very much

교육 기관: Tayfun K

Sep 16, 2018

Great course!

교육 기관: Carolyn A

Sep 02, 2018

Great course with lots of information. I only wish that it was slightly longer and had time to go into some areas in more depth, but looking forward to part 2.

교육 기관: Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

very good

교육 기관: Robert A J

Aug 08, 2018

A very good course to understand the beginning of the modern Middle East. This course allows a novice to understand the important players that would shape future events and we can see the impact of the actions taken by the key figures in this course in the present day.

교육 기관: Wendy P

Aug 05, 2018

Well-told story of the modern Middle East. Professor Susser does an excellent job of providing ethnic and religious background, characterizing the many and varied groups. and weaving in foreign influence. Appreciated the even-handed presentation of difficult issues.

교육 기관: Marie-Louise I A

Aug 01, 2018

Very interesting. Enlarged my understanding of how this region became what it is today and its current day events. Links events throughout modern history. Would definitely recommend!

교육 기관: Cesar A G Z

Jul 10, 2018

Realmente estoy muy contento de haber tomado este curso. Mis conocimientos sobre el medio oriente mejoraron considerablemente.