Chevron Left
The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I(으)로 돌아가기

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I, 텔 아비브 대학교

4.7
661개의 평가
171개의 리뷰

About this Course

This course will review the emergence of the modern Middle East from the fall of the Ottoman Empire, at the end of the First World War to the present. We will discuss the Ottoman legacy in the region and the Western imperial impact on the creation of the Arab state system. The course will review the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. We will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that there is a second part to this course which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-2/home/info)....

최상위 리뷰

대학: MP

Sep 11, 2016

I really like the professor and his narration, quite engaging and interesting course. The only suggestion I have is to improve the quizzes with more analytical rather than fact-based questions.

대학: TP

Apr 30, 2016

An excellent introduction to the formation of what we know as the Middle East. This course offers great insight and context into this area, its peoples, cultures, economy, and politics.

필터링 기준:

168개의 리뷰

대학: Muhammed Ashiq K

May 20, 2019

really helpful for those who Interested to learn about middle east

대학: OUDJEHANI Racim

May 15, 2019

Un superbe cours pour tous ceux qui veulent comprendre la géopolitique du Moyen-Orient

대학: Chilan Nan

May 09, 2019

This course really helped me to get a glimpse of the Middle East, and the origin of the problems.

대학: Gary

Apr 14, 2019

Informational and inspirational, the course was clearly illustrated by Prof. Asher Susser. In this first part, the history and establishment of every country in the Middle East are explained meticulously. I was amazed by Prof. Susser's comprehensive knowledge and sources of citation, and interested even more in every aspect of the Middle East.

대학: Adwait Bhushan Athawale

Mar 31, 2019

Brilliant depiction of Modern Middle East. Definitely going to cover second part too.

대학: Mahmoud Mohammed Mostafa

Feb 23, 2019

Its carry a lot of hidden secrets about history of Middle East

대학: Paula Barrios

Feb 17, 2019

Fantastic course! Professor Susser has a very engaging way of teaching history and the course materials (videos, course readings and quizzes) are very high quality

대학: Beatriz merchan Diaz

Feb 07, 2019

Ha sido un curso excelente,dentro de poco empezaré la segunda parte.

대학: Ben Grinyer

Jan 20, 2019

Very well explained and hugely interesting. I highly recommend to any history enthusiasts.

대학: Liudmyla

Dec 02, 2018

Before taking this course I had rather preliminary understanding of what the Middle East is, how come the Ottoman Empire managed to last for four centuries, why were there some many continuous conflicts in the post Ottoman countries in the XXth century, etc. So many questions I have answered. Thank you for the well-tought lectures and well-structured material.I higly recommend this course.