Chevron Left
The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
459개의 평가
100개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

최상위 리뷰

MK
2018년 7월 30일

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

FA
2020년 5월 7일

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH WAS MOST ENGAGING THROUGHOUT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE CONFLICT IN THE MIDDLE EAST THAT IS STILL VERY MUCH ONGOING.

필터링 기준:

The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II의 100개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Zidane Z E A

2020년 9월 19일

¡¡¡¡Excelente curso!!!

교육 기관: Raymond C W

2016년 2월 13일

Outstanding course.

교육 기관: David M

2019년 8월 8일

excellent course!

교육 기관: Arjun B

2017년 3월 30일

Very good course.

교육 기관: Barry C

2019년 4월 29일

Excellent course

교육 기관: Solomon Z

2018년 3월 14일

great brief info

교육 기관: Liang W

2019년 5월 21일

Very helpful!

교육 기관: Ioannis M

2019년 1월 16일

Excellent!!

교육 기관: Paloma M

2020년 6월 15일

Loved it!

교육 기관: Mahmoud E

2018년 8월 7일

very good

교육 기관: kasite U

2017년 3월 29일

great!

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 9월 23일

good

교육 기관: Kyong H K

2019년 2월 6일

V

교육 기관: Tom L

2021년 2월 19일

I find the course comprehensive and balanced. However, when the lectures are in English, which is not the instructor's native tongue, the result can be a halting delivery. While this does not impact the video so much, I find the transcripts can be difficult. When the instructor pauses to order his thoughts and words, the transcript all too often shows a period, creating a disjointed narrative; among other things, there are words misunderstood ("designer's" for "the Zionists"); the dreaded apostrophe ("it's" for "its"); words missing (so guesswork is required to maintain continuity), when a little more effort may fill the gap. I feel some editing to produce a more readable version (though not a verbatim copy) would benefit all.

P.S. I found similar problems with "Russian History: Lenin to Putin".

교육 기관: Zakaria G

2019년 9월 25일

it was nice seeing things from the other side's perspective (the way Israelis see it) as opposed to being bombarded by the same ideas all arabs (governments and individuals) promote...a necessary step if people really want to form an objective opinion about this long lasting conflict, even more important for those directly concerned if a peaceful solution is sought (dreamy but who knows) just wish of the MENA region universities (other than israeli universities) had the decency to make such an objective course available...would help a lot

교육 기관: AEH

2015년 12월 27일

This course is wonderful, and does not seem biased. My one complaint is that for so so much information, there are only two quizzes. I would prefer to have a test at the end of each weekly lesson, especially since the quizzes are so short. The material and videos themselves are wonderful! I learned a lot :)

교육 기관: James H

2020년 9월 23일

This is a very good course, and Professor Susser is a very engaging speaker. The course is inevitably biased towards the Israeli perspective, and misses out the development of several states in the region. Yet what it does cover, it covers fairly impartially and is sympathetic of other perspectives.

교육 기관: Kamil K

2016년 5월 21일

Very well made course, although I wish to see more on other countries, because Egipt, Israel and Palestine were making most of lectures.

교육 기관: bethany l

2017년 9월 29일

The quizzes are fact based - they do not check understanding, only how well you rote-learned some parts of the lectures.

교육 기관: John M

2016년 6월 23일

Good background and enjoyed delving into the detail of the Middle East.

교육 기관: Michael R P

2021년 5월 9일

more quizzes would help information retention.

교육 기관: Donna B

2021년 6월 11일

VERY GOOD BUT A GREAT DEAL OF MATERIAL

교육 기관: zachary r

2016년 12월 6일

Not nearly as good as Part 1.

교육 기관: Faisal B K V

2020년 7월 30일

Thank you

교육 기관: mubarak A G

2020년 2월 17일

lie