Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
813개의 평가
216개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

최상위 리뷰

JR
2019년 8월 1일

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM
2016년 1월 7일

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

필터링 기준:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)의 214개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: ajay r

2017년 12월 25일

I Like How Professor Roth remains objective throughout the course without letting his personal opinions hindering his teaching in any way.Enjoyed the course Very much!Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Conor C

2018년 2월 6일

extremely informative! with both a strong historical aspect and theoretical side to the lecteurs i think it is a must for people going to further study of art, philosophy or history.

교육 기관: Susannah R

2018년 2월 1일

The lectures were excellent, and I really enjoyed the course... However:

the reading was always quoted at 10 minutes per week, when often the reading was much longer, and was complex ideas,so quite a slow read. Madame Bovary in 10 minutes? I don't think so. More like 10 hours.

Now I know that by writing essays the info really sticks, and the understanding is greater. But this is a part time interest for me. After two essays, I had had enough, so I just watched the lectures from that point forward.

교육 기관: Lynne R

2016년 5월 20일

This course is wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. BUT, it is not well monitored, the peer review process is broken and questions are not answered, making it frustrating. For example, I wrote an essay and received a non-passing grade. I re-wrote it and submitted it. The comments back were very good, but the grade remained a non-passing one. Very difficult to figure it out. I posted a request for clarification and received no response. So, course GREAT, administration of course, not so much.

교육 기관: شمس ا

2019년 3월 8일

If it is possible I would give the course 10 stars not just 5 !

I came from a very different background, I'm a pharmacist from Middle East - Egypt- where English is not my mother tongue. But this course has given me the type of knowledge I was searching for not knowing where to find it .

A very interesting to-the-point presentation for western history ... serves the different ideas in the course which covers almost the remarkable thinkers we hear about with the key ideas for them .

I think this course is a must for everyone interested in the history of modern ideas and how we became what we are .

I'm studying now part ii and looking forward to join more courses about that topic .

Special thanks for Mr.Michael S. Roth for his interesting way in lectures and mastery this topic every will.

교육 기관: Danai M P

2018년 3월 10일

Starting this course coincided with my having to stay at home due to a cold. I became so engrossed that staying in and studying was not only a palliative measure for cabin fever ennui but actually what I really wanted to be doing. As a result I finished the course well before its deadline. I appreciated having Professor Roth describe the perspectives of all these different thinkers so clearly, so simply, so intelligently. His enthusiasm was contagious. All the references to texts were really helpful. The course also gave me the opportunity to read texts I never normally would have done. I am already on to The Modern and the Postmodern Part II. Thank you, great experience.

교육 기관: cecilia p t

2018년 10월 13일

Amazing course! Professor Roth guides you through philosophy, history, literature and art in depth but also in a simple, enjoyable way!

It took me more than seven weeks to complete the course as there were some readings to be done which were quite time-consuming and having a full-time job it wasn't always easy to devote as much time as needed to this pretty demanding course, but I enjoyed every lecture and managed to always find even the tiniest bit of time to watch the videos and complete the assignments.

It's been a great experience so far, I'm looking forward to Part 2 now!

교육 기관: Jeyana M

2016년 4월 27일

Thank you for this course!

Professor Roth, I love your teaching style. Such course can easily be made boring, but I was excited and interested every minute of your lectures.

During last few month (luckily for me, the course is self-paced) I've read more of serious literature than during all my life.

The most resonating for me was Baudelaire and the "flâneur" aesthetics.

And, quite strangely, reading Nietzsche makes me happy :)

Thanks again to everyone, who was involved in creating this course.

교육 기관: Saranya F

2020년 5월 16일

Prof.Michael Roth's insight and enthusiasm sustained my interest to complete the course through the last 7 weeks. The material is engaging, the method simple and the course design is free flowing. I am convinced this will help me teach my undergraduates with a broader worldview and a better command over the subject of Modernity. I have just enrolled to Part 2 of the course. It is well worth the time and attention.

교육 기관: Jan R

2019년 8월 2일

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

교육 기관: Naman M

2016년 1월 8일

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

교육 기관: Joyce U

2019년 7월 4일

For me as an Artist; I am challenged , having to listen to the lectures several times to get it. The professor's presentations are AWESOME. The knowledge that I am acquiring is well worth it. It has been a few weeks... struggling so not being able to complete the essays; I tried to at least finish the lectures. I wasn't allowed, disappointed.

교육 기관: Ron S

2015년 9월 6일

The videos lag behind, and the readings the first one of the first week, the link was broken

교육 기관: Richard M H

2020년 10월 27일

This really is a great course. I'm an English literature academic at a British university myself, and took the course to refresh my memory about the areas covered. However, this course provided me with much more than a refresher of familiar materials. Professor Roth not only covers these areas in depth in a manner that is accessible to new comers to this area of thought, but also gives new and original insights on the material and takes the thinking into these areas. Unlike many academics, he does not treat the ideas or theories discussed as holy writ, but perspectives that themselves may be challenged. Professor Roth delivers this course with an infectious enthusiasm that is compelling.

교육 기관: Katie F

2020년 8월 31일

This was a fabulous course which I thoroughly enjoyed. I particularly loved understanding the historical and socio-cultural context for each thinker as well as the major philosophical shifts. Having never studied philosophy before I found some of the concepts quite challenging (especially Nietzsche!) but overall this was an excellent way to be introduced to classical literature by writers and philosophers that I had never read before. Professor Roth is such an inspiring and entertaining tutor that it was a pleasure to watch his passionate and knowledgeable lectures; I look forward to doing more of his courses. Overall, I can't wait to move on to Part 2.

교육 기관: Arts A s

2020년 5월 10일

Excellent and interesting course! The instructor is extremely engaging and helps break down material that would otherwise seem inaccessible (to me at least), in an understandable way. I've learned new concepts and I now understand ideas and movements that were on the outer reaches of my knowledge much better. Highly recommended for anyone interested in history, philosophy, or just getting in touch with ideas and authors you've heard of, but have never taken the time to digest. I'm taking the second course as well!

교육 기관: Athulya A A

2020년 7월 13일

I took up this course just to get a background of modernism. I worried initially that wold be too boring because its history, but the way the tutor Michael S. Roth explained everything was so attention grabbing and interesting! His passion for the subject was felt even through online videos and that just keeps you so engrossed...he totally changed my opinion about online course not being able to engage students. I wish we had such amazing teachers who didn't make us dread such a wonderful subject like history!

교육 기관: Samiya K

2020년 7월 14일

Tremendous journey! Really liked the way you're organizing the course in parts, suggesting to read first module and then video, so we may get many ideas and also as Prof. Roth is putting forward some of the questions, we can get easily the context of the question also. Grading system, where each classmate is required to review, hsi/her peer assignment, basing on that our gardes are generated.

Very nice and swiftly functioning system. It seems as you have constructed the course, keeping benefactors in mind.

교육 기관: Yue-Zhen L

2016년 1월 15일

This course is very helpful in giving students a survey in the major thoughts of the modern Western world. The fact that it is carried out by Wesleyan University, a premier Liberal Arts College in the United States, ensures its quality and seminar-style coherence. I find it particularly interesting when each chapeter is started by an assigned reading task with the instructor's videos following, which is a rather typical method by which American collegiates learn humanities.

교육 기관: Debora J N

2020년 6월 6일

Very challenging course! I enjoyed the entire set of required readings as well as the video lectures of Professor Roth. The essay prompts proved to be thought provoking and required me to really synthesize what I learned through the readings and lectures. As a side note, some of the links to the reading assignments did not work. I ended up purchasing some of the required texts from Amazon. Thank goodness that I was able to link to Marx and Darwin, though.

교육 기관: rachel d

2020년 8월 19일

The course is very interesting. It gives a clear view of how literature along with philosophy evolved.

The explanations were well detailed and well structured. As a student of English Literature I would highly recommend this course to my fellow colleagues. It gives a great insight to the evolution of modernism, and this knowledge helps in understanding various other fields of literature - criticisms, theories, and new literatures.

교육 기관: Anjali R

2020년 10월 7일

This course has been a very informative and enjoyable introduction to Enlightenment thinkers and the evolution of thought since the Enlightenment to modern times. Professor Roth is a very engaging teacher, exuding passion for his subject and sharing his knowledge of the various thinkers and writers in an objective and non-judgmental way, which encourages us as students to learn and think about their writings with open minds.

교육 기관: Tinyakova E A

2020년 5월 16일

My opinion of the course "The Modern and the Postmodern" is at the highest level. I like the content hierarсhy of the course and then the logical outcome into real life. The lectures of the instructor prof. M.Roth stimulated me to deeper understanding the thinkers chosen for the course. The rhetoric and manner of prof.M.Roth's speech is wondeful! I like prof. M. Roth as a researcher, teacher and thinker.

교육 기관: Elva E S M

2016년 8월 10일

Wonderful experience for someone who has been out of university for so long. Will be spending time reading the philosophers much more carefully. I had to read too fast in order to do the writing assignments, unfortunately. It is ironic that the writing assignments are to make one reflect and learn, but they force one to read too quickly rather than to enjoy the readings. Good course, however.

교육 기관: James F

2020년 8월 2일

This course covers a lot of ground, touching on philosophy, history, art, and literature, but professor Roth shows interesting and unexpected connections between the diverse intellectual traditions surveyed. The lectures are informative and thought-provoking but also digestible, and the written assignments (three 800-word essays) encourage you to make connections between the readings.