Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
611개의 평가
136개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

최상위 리뷰

JR

Aug 02, 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

필터링 기준:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)의 135개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Susannah R

Feb 01, 2018

The lectures were excellent, and I really enjoyed the course... However:

the reading was always quoted at 10 minutes per week, when often the reading was much longer, and was complex ideas,so quite a slow read. Madame Bovary in 10 minutes? I don't think so. More like 10 hours.

Now I know that by writing essays the info really sticks, and the understanding is greater. But this is a part time interest for me. After two essays, I had had enough, so I just watched the lectures from that point forward.

교육 기관: Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

교육 기관: Коныхова А Л

Jan 16, 2019

Потрясающий лектор! Очень интересный курс!

교육 기관: Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

A great and accomplished scholar presents his subject matter in a compelling way.

교육 기관: Chris P

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.

교육 기관: James

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

교육 기관: Shams

Mar 09, 2019

If it is possible I would give the course 10 stars not just 5 !

I came from a very different background, I'm a pharmacist from Middle East - Egypt- where English is not my mother tongue. But this course has given me the type of knowledge I was searching for not knowing where to find it .

A very interesting to-the-point presentation for western history ... serves the different ideas in the course which covers almost the remarkable thinkers we hear about with the key ideas for them .

I think this course is a must for everyone interested in the history of modern ideas and how we became what we are .

I'm studying now part ii and looking forward to join more courses about that topic .

Special thanks for Mr.Michael S. Roth for his interesting way in lectures and mastery this topic every will.

교육 기관: Julia P

Dec 06, 2018

Very insightful.

교육 기관: Fable Z

Apr 03, 2019

That is very good class

교육 기관: EFRIN G

Feb 19, 2019

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

교육 기관: Darren G

Nov 22, 2015

Great course with quality instruction for introduction to the material.

교육 기관: Luis L

Sep 16, 2015

Excellent course, thank you

교육 기관: Jing Y

Apr 07, 2016

Personally, this is the highest rated course so far I've had on Coursera. Selective philosophers, thinkers, writers and poets with their best works recommended, various topics about modernity and post-modernity. Every module literally helps me review my understanding of the topic and of modernity and modern man. Recommend this course to every one I know.

교육 기관: Gipsi T

Apr 25, 2016

Great course, engaging lectures stimulate and encourage interest.

교육 기관: Beatriz S

May 19, 2016

Wonderful!

교육 기관: Peter M

Feb 21, 2018

5+ Highly recommended! Interesting, informative, and very well presented!

교육 기관: Anne F

Sep 18, 2015

I love this course. The enthusiasm of the teacher is wonderful. His choice of works and their treatment are excellent. I learned a lot, even though I have an MA in Literary Studies.

교육 기관: Ana C C

Oct 03, 2015

Amazing oportunity to develop ideas in different subjects around the theme of modernity. The course covers many authors,and though never gets superficial. The best part is Professor Roth and the pieces of readings in an emotional, thrilling way. Thanks Coursera!

교육 기관: Roua A

May 29, 2017

Michael Roth, you Made this experience unforgettable, thank you!!!

교육 기관: Jeyana M

Apr 27, 2016

Thank you for this course!

Professor Roth, I love your teaching style. Such course can easily be made boring, but I was excited and interested every minute of your lectures.

During last few month (luckily for me, the course is self-paced) I've read more of serious literature than during all my life.

The most resonating for me was Baudelaire and the "flâneur" aesthetics.

And, quite strangely, reading Nietzsche makes me happy :)

Thanks again to everyone, who was involved in creating this course.

교육 기관: Cindy B

Oct 24, 2015

An excellent overview of the history of philosophy and its influence.

교육 기관: Petro S

Mar 21, 2017

Extremely well organised, breathtaking lectures. Strongly recommend to those who are interested in philosophy!

교육 기관: Nadezda Z

Aug 14, 2015

One of the best courses I ever had an opportunity to encounter on Coursera. It is an insightful, enlightening journey into the cultural and philosophical heritage of humanity. The professor opens up and talks in a most compelling way about all major ideas of modernity that you have heard about. This course is a must for anyone who wants to be an intellectual person.

교육 기관: Mike H

Oct 21, 2015

very clear

교육 기관: christophe v d

Oct 21, 2015

excellent course and great teacher