Chevron Left
The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
588개의 평가
130개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

최상위 리뷰

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

AR

Dec 25, 2017

I Like How Professor Roth remains objective throughout the course without letting his personal opinions hindering his teaching in any way.Enjoyed the course Very much!Highly recommend.

필터링 기준:

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)의 133개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Susannah R

Feb 01, 2018

The lectures were excellent, and I really enjoyed the course... However:

the reading was always quoted at 10 minutes per week, when often the reading was much longer, and was complex ideas,so quite a slow read. Madame Bovary in 10 minutes? I don't think so. More like 10 hours.

Now I know that by writing essays the info really sticks, and the understanding is greater. But this is a part time interest for me. After two essays, I had had enough, so I just watched the lectures from that point forward.

교육 기관: 성수민

Jul 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, professor! you have the perfect sense of humor!

교육 기관: Joyce U

Jul 04, 2019

For me as an Artist; I am challenged , having to listen to the lectures several times to get it. The professor's presentations are AWESOME. The knowledge that I am acquiring is well worth it. It has been a few weeks... struggling so not being able to complete the essays; I tried to at least finish the lectures. I wasn't allowed, disappointed.

교육 기관: Martín S F

Jul 04, 2019

Very interesting course and bibliography.

교육 기관: Serkan B A

Jun 04, 2019

It might be one of the best courses I've ever taken online. There were some minor errors in English subtitles, and to be honest, I hate peer-review system, but overall, it was great! Would definitely recommend it.

교육 기관: Lewis H

May 02, 2019

Fantastic course. I really appreciate the instructor's attention to detail and narrative ability. The topics covered in this class were diverse and interesting. I will certainly be signing up for the second part of this course.

교육 기관: Fable Z

Apr 03, 2019

That is very good class

교육 기관: Shams

Mar 09, 2019

If it is possible I would give the course 10 stars not just 5 !

I came from a very different background, I'm a pharmacist from Middle East - Egypt- where English is not my mother tongue. But this course has given me the type of knowledge I was searching for not knowing where to find it .

A very interesting to-the-point presentation for western history ... serves the different ideas in the course which covers almost the remarkable thinkers we hear about with the key ideas for them .

I think this course is a must for everyone interested in the history of modern ideas and how we became what we are .

I'm studying now part ii and looking forward to join more courses about that topic .

Special thanks for Mr.Michael S. Roth for his interesting way in lectures and mastery this topic every will.

교육 기관: James

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

교육 기관: EFRIN G

Feb 19, 2019

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

교육 기관: Chris P

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.

교육 기관: Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

교육 기관: Warren C

Jan 25, 2019

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.

교육 기관: Коныхова А Л

Jan 16, 2019

Потрясающий лектор! Очень интересный курс!

교육 기관: Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

A great and accomplished scholar presents his subject matter in a compelling way.

교육 기관: Julia P

Dec 06, 2018

Very insightful.

교육 기관: Малахов И В

Nov 08, 2018

The course is very good. Thank you.

교육 기관: Fogan A

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

교육 기관: Cecilia P T

Oct 13, 2018

Amazing course! Professor Roth guides you through philosophy, history, literature and art in depth but also in a simple, enjoyable way!

It took me more than seven weeks to complete the course as there were some readings to be done which were quite time-consuming and having a full-time job it wasn't always easy to devote as much time as needed to this pretty demanding course, but I enjoyed every lecture and managed to always find even the tiniest bit of time to watch the videos and complete the assignments.

It's been a great experience so far, I'm looking forward to Part 2 now!

교육 기관: Mohammad A

Oct 06, 2018

Very well-structured and brilliantly taught. If philosophy/sociology/cultural studies interest you but you've never had a chance to learn it in a progressive, structured sequence, then this course is for you. This will help you make wholistic sense of ideas and place them in reference to one another.

교육 기관: Elif S

Sep 11, 2018

Excellent course! Very motivating and inspiring lectures. I am more than glad to have found this course and i will be continuing with Part II for certain. Thank you!

교육 기관: Wang Z

Jul 10, 2018

A very comprehensive introduction about modern philosophy, etc.

교육 기관: Tammy H

Jun 13, 2018

Love the course so much. I've already known a little bit about every thinker and writer mentioned in the course but haven't noticed how they are related to each other. Now everything makes so much sense! :D Although it's a bit hard to catch up since my mother tongue is not English, I'm very happy to learn many new words. Thanks for everyone who makes the course online! :)

교육 기관: Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

교육 기관: Calvin E

Mar 20, 2018

Very interesting subject matter, and the course was well organized and accessible. Would recommend taking the course to those interested in late Western philosophy.