Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910(으)로 돌아가기

The Modern World, Part Two: Global History since 1910, 버지니아 대학교

4.8
755개의 평가
209개의 리뷰

About this Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part Two begins early in the twentieth century, as older ways of doing things and habits of thought give way. What follows is an era of cataclysmic struggles over what ideas and institutions will take their place. The course concludes in the present day, as communities everywhere are transitioning into a new era of world history. Again we work hard to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? Again we are drawn to pivotal choices made at key moments by individuals and communities....

최상위 리뷰

대학: MN

Sep 24, 2017

excellent course for those who have not studied history as part of their academic curriculum. Course is slightly from American(USA) perspective of world events but nevertheless is highly informative.

대학: RM

Dec 08, 2016

This course is enlightening in so many ways. This course not only answers the "What" about history, but also "Why", "Why not" and the overall perception, feelings of people of each era being taught.

필터링 기준:

209개의 리뷰

대학: Dimitris Syropoulos

May 11, 2019

Just like the sunbeams sneaked inside your office during the last minutes of your last presentation ...your arguments sneaked in our minds enlighting aspects of the human route and endeavour during the last two centuries. I'm so grateful.

대학: Ritwik Awasthi

May 01, 2019

Excellently informative course.

대학: Shambhavi Mishra

Apr 30, 2019

great learning experience

대학: JG

Apr 30, 2019

Best course I've taken, by far.

대학: Ayush Varshney

Apr 17, 2019

was easy to understand

대학: Simon Griffiths

Apr 04, 2019

Fascinating course, Professor Zelikow is great.

대학: Liya Xie

Mar 20, 2019

This is an awesome course that not only taught me global history but also inspired me to think more deeply

대학: Jane Elisabeth Kuriakose

Mar 05, 2019

An excellent course for History fanatics!

대학: Aya Kouider

Mar 02, 2019

Thank you very much for your lectures on history

대학: Karthik Nair

Mar 02, 2019

The lecturer was slightly monotonous and really has missed out on key factors such as Weimar Republic etc in this course. Moreover, the course seems very opinionated and ends of the wars seems to be just glossed over into economic terms rather than historic facts. Battle of Okinawa, death of Hitler, battle of somme and verdun seem like key parts not tackled efficiently. Quizzes rely too much on rote knowledge and the lecturer's opinion rather than what one should take away from the presentations. Also, coming from India and also having stayed for long in the Middle East, the entire picture given by the lecturer of these regions seem to be quite flawed as the picture is very narrow.