Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,542개의 평가
374개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 364개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Ana C C

Oct 03, 2015

The course covers an extensive important period of time and in a very organized way. You never get lost. The quizzes are of remarkable level, very well-thought and never superficial. The way things get related and start making sense helped me get to another level in my knowledge of history. I will never study any subject without making reference to other important events that happened elsewhere. And will always refer my readings on this theme to what I learned in this course. Great chance to watch Professor Zelikow's classes from Brazil. Thanks Coursera!

교육 기관: Gabriel O M

Jan 08, 2017

This is a terrific course, amazing prevention,

but it does lack reading material that Virginia's full online course has,

it would be nice to have a deeper engamente with the subjects.

교육 기관: Freddy S

Oct 25, 2015

I found the course to be well structured, and striking an appropriate balance between insight and detail.

Well done.

교육 기관: Lazaros A

Jun 10, 2017

In the 10 years, I reckon I've spent about as much time doing courses as being asleep... I've done University degrees (graduate degree, 2 masters and a PhD), personal development courses, courses on sports and activities (sailing, long distance swimming, gliding) and, in the last few monts, I must have done about 11 MOOCs.

This course goes straight into my top 10 all time favorite courses list, and is definitely the one I enjoyed the most in 2017. The course helped me understand how societies and economies have evolved over the years, which is a prerequisite for appreciating the basis on which modern societies are built on. The course is delivering by a prominent academic who knows what he's talking about. There is a good flow from lecture to lecture and the presenter makes a solid effort to presents facts, rather than his own (or others') judgements.

All in all, I felt this is a great, eye-opening and thought provoking course, and I'd recommend everybody with an interest in politics, society and modern history to give it a shot.

교육 기관: Lisa S

Aug 01, 2016

I just audited this course for the fun of it with an interest in seeing patterns from the past in order to understand our present. I enjoyed the presentation and the professor's thematic approach and his relaxed conversational presentation style. I feel like I got exactly what I hoped to get out of it. I particularly found his use of images from the various countries and time periods helpful and memorable.

교육 기관: Nelson N

Jun 24, 2018

Still trying to make myself comfortable with so much insightful information.

교육 기관: Trevor W

Jan 01, 2017

Great course. Awesome professor.

교육 기관: Marina S

Nov 01, 2015

Excellent and very interesting course, professor Zelikow is great at explaining things systematically.

교육 기관: Aleksandr P

Sep 02, 2017

Awesome course an

교육 기관: Alexander Z

Sep 27, 2015

Great lecturer!

교육 기관: Ricky P

Jan 04, 2016

An absolutely great course.

교육 기관: Arjun S

Apr 20, 2018

Wonderful Course. It helped me develop a much better world view and understand issues by thinking about the "why".

교육 기관: Amr A W

Dec 28, 2015

It was amazing course.

교육 기관: Cynthia d V

Oct 25, 2015

Very interesting! Scholarly lessons presented in a fluid candid manner that's very stimulating.

교육 기관: Alan M F

Jan 04, 2016

Excellent

교육 기관: Faulkner

Jan 15, 2016

This is a tremendous course which revived my intellectual curiosity after many years out of structured eductation. I am now much looking forward to completing Part 2 of the course. My thanks to Professor Zelikow.

교육 기관: Antony J D H

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent. Thoroughly engaging, thoughtfully organized, and insightful. For anyone interested in the historical events leading to the conditions of the 20th Century, this course is a gateway to that understanding. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Giorgio V

Mar 22, 2018

Really well explained and interesting

교육 기관: Neil H

Feb 22, 2016

Excellent course on the broad sweep of history for the 150 years up to the WW1

교육 기관: Timofey Y

Nov 04, 2015

Unbelievably cool.

Must-see for everyone who considering himself a learned man.

교육 기관: M J S

Nov 03, 2016

Find informative...and with additional details/perspectives that helped me to rethink what I thought I knew.

교육 기관: 黄兆镒

Dec 18, 2015

A good course with great and clear explanation of history

교육 기관: Keyla K R P

Oct 14, 2016

Excelent course! Quality in knowledge and presentation. Plenty of visual materials, helpful maps and global connections to the history covering the whole world.

교육 기관: Aleksandr K

Jun 13, 2018

This course extended my knowledge of history. I have not found any political propaganda and I really enjoyed it! Week's quizzes are challenging enough.