Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,541개의 평가
374개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 364개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Bryan G

Nov 02, 2015

A lot of great information! This course made my teaching of World History so much better!

교육 기관: Geordie w

Jun 28, 2016

A great course on predominantly the western course of history from 1760 to 1910; one that focuses on ideas and movements that shaped the world, not a course that focuses on western history for reasons of eurocentrism alone. Where the course is eurocentric, it is so by necessity, a symptom of a well-balanced, well-structured course that strives for an approach that poses questions in an earnest and truthful manner.

The professor who runs this course is a highlight. His voice and presentation style makes the course that much easier to enjoy. I hope to later follow him and pay attention to his external writings and insights, even in my time beyond studying this online course.

교육 기관: Jennifer M

Nov 01, 2015

Great course. Interesting and engaging lectures. I enjoyed this professor's talks very much.

교육 기관: Neil H

Feb 22, 2016

Excellent course on the broad sweep of history for the 150 years up to the WW1

교육 기관: Timofey Y

Nov 04, 2015

Unbelievably cool.

Must-see for everyone who considering himself a learned man.

교육 기관: James G

Feb 07, 2016

Excellent insight, clearly understood broad presentation of ideas. Excellent communicator, this was by far the best course I have taken in Coursera.

교육 기관: M J S

Nov 03, 2016

Find informative...and with additional details/perspectives that helped me to rethink what I thought I knew.

교육 기관: Laurence G

May 20, 2018

I learned many new things from this course. I believe it will an excellent background to understanding the World Wars. I am particularly interested in World War II and the Holocaust. I look forward to the next course.

교육 기관: 黄兆镒

Dec 18, 2015

A good course with great and clear explanation of history

교육 기관: Norman I

Feb 02, 2018

My first course completed at coursera. And i really would like to recommend it to others. The informations are delivered in such an informative and interessing way.

교육 기관: Benjamin M K

Jan 21, 2016

Phil is a great history teacher!

교육 기관: Hilton B

Jan 19, 2016

Great course, very nice professor. Lots of content about one

교육 기관: Yannick K

Mar 20, 2016

Pr Zelikow is really a very fascianting professor.

교육 기관: Mustafa W

Jan 10, 2016

Nice!

교육 기관: Alan M F

Jan 04, 2016

Excellent

교육 기관: Faulkner

Jan 15, 2016

This is a tremendous course which revived my intellectual curiosity after many years out of structured eductation. I am now much looking forward to completing Part 2 of the course. My thanks to Professor Zelikow.

교육 기관: Antony J D H

Jan 30, 2016

Excellent. Thoroughly engaging, thoughtfully organized, and insightful. For anyone interested in the historical events leading to the conditions of the 20th Century, this course is a gateway to that understanding. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Claudio F

Nov 20, 2015

Really great. A big thanks to the professor for the big effort and clarity of explanations

교육 기관: Kenneth M

Dec 08, 2015

really excellent . Looking forward to the second part

교육 기관: Giorgio V

Mar 22, 2018

Really well explained and interesting

교육 기관: giovanni m

Nov 12, 2015

excellent teaching and interesting development of the history.

교육 기관: Hayden S

Dec 01, 2015

Very fun and a great teacher

교육 기관: Denisse M

Oct 05, 2015

I love this course. History is my nemesis, but right now I hold my breath in every lecture and my mind winds up with thousands of questions! Thanks.

교육 기관: Sepand M B

Sep 07, 2016

Great course.

I only wish Coursera would offer history courses on major revolutions that shaped the world as well, i.e Russia, Iran...etc.