Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,539개의 평가
374개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 364개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Frances M

May 02, 2017

The course covered a huge amount of material but was presented in a clear concise way. I liked the way it pulled together so many different ideas and referred to places all over the world, giving the big picture as well as a fair amount of illustrative detail. The presenter was clear and concise in his delivery and paced it so the student could follow quite complicated material easily. I would have like to have the results of the quizzes before deciding whether to purchase

교육 기관: 吕敏

Aug 11, 2016

I think this part is great,i have learned something very heuristic.

교육 기관: Erika K

Jul 03, 2017

Great course! I really appreciated how Dr Zelikow explained context and why major world history events happened the way they did. Lots of visual aid made this course really interesting. I would make this course a must in schools.

교육 기관: Synack12

Mar 09, 2018

test

교육 기관: Charles G

Mar 17, 2017

Simply awesome! I really appreciated the professor's approach and I enjoyed the videos, always looking for the next one to come. For people who have a personal interest in history, this course is definitely a must.

교육 기관: Andrew O

Feb 26, 2018

An excellent history course and very thoughtfully presented. It doesn't rely on memorizing a bunch of dates and events but pulls it together in a story. Rather than focus on "What," "When," or "How," it focused on "Why." Its professor is a very learned and notable figure in both American Academia and Politic having lead the 9/11 commission but refusing to sanction the doctrine of pre-emptive strike. Frankly if they'd have taken his course, they'd have known why. I highly recommend this course to anyone who loves history and wants a different perspective or anyone who wants to know more or wants to pull together the facts they've had swimming around in their head for years!

교육 기관: Sean F

Nov 08, 2017

Offers an in depth look into our modern history and at many of the factors that got us to where we are today. Very compelling and interesting.

교육 기관: Ángela M F M

Aug 17, 2017

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Grazyna R

Mar 09, 2018

Very interesting course! But despite the fact that I have completed this course still I am waiting for the certificate. I hope to receive some news .

교육 기관: Shanelle T

Oct 10, 2017

good course but sometimes the video gets blocky ): other then that very good lesson

교육 기관: Aziz K

Apr 04, 2018

What an epic journey ! Thanks for this exceptional course.

교육 기관: Ahmet F G

Oct 31, 2017

Systematicly perfect and Lecturer Mr. Zelikov is a good and sympatic teacher for me. Good course! I'm really enjoying learning Modern World History.

교육 기관: Patricia C D

May 10, 2018

I would organize a little better the discussion forum because it's a little messy, though it is helpful sometimes knowing what others are asking and thinking even if its from one year ago.

교육 기관: Bryan C

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent survey of history, and I personally appreciate the amount of effort the professor put into organizing the material. He really sets the bar for online presentation, and I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in world history.

교육 기관: Aleksandr S

Feb 15, 2016

This is the way I wish history was taught everywhere.

교육 기관: Agim C

Jan 26, 2018

This is a excellent course.

To know in advance what happened during this period is advisable.

교육 기관: Adrian J

Oct 17, 2016

An important explanation of how the world transitioned to the modern, with its benefits and disadvantages.

교육 기관: Hilde K

Aug 17, 2016

Thoroughly engaging and Part 2 is even better. Not full of dates etc. just full of explanations for why things happened and why they could or couldn't have happened another way.

교육 기관: ALEXANDRE P N

Mar 31, 2016

The classes are very good and objective. It helps a lot undestand the present world

교육 기관: Beth G P

Jun 27, 2016

One of the single most interesting and useful courses I've ever taken. It definitely gave me a greater context for both history and for current events.

교육 기관: Antonios K

May 26, 2016

Excellent Professor!!! Not the same old boring history course! Prof. Zelikow really digs into history and poses the fundamental question "Why?"

교육 기관: Hilton B

Jan 19, 2016

Great course, very nice professor. Lots of content about one

교육 기관: Yannick K

Mar 20, 2016

Pr Zelikow is really a very fascianting professor.

교육 기관: Thomas P

Jun 17, 2016

An excellent overview of the subject with some fresh analysis by a top professor in the

교육 기관: Sebastian S

Oct 30, 2015

Thank you for teaching this course. It had been a wonderful experience :)