Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,908개의 평가
493개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 484개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Andrew C

Jul 29, 2016

Loved it!!

교육 기관: Belinda R

Jan 27, 2016

Excelent!!

교육 기관: ashlie s

Aug 19, 2018

excellent

교육 기관: Iurii G

Aug 31, 2016

excellent

교육 기관: Barbara N

Jun 12, 2016

excellent

교육 기관: Alan M F

Jan 04, 2016

Excellent

교육 기관: Hamid S

Dec 25, 2015

excellent

교육 기관: Jacob F

Sep 24, 2015

I love it

교육 기관: Rommel T M

Feb 25, 2020

exelente

교육 기관: Carolina D C

Oct 31, 2016

Amazing!

교육 기관: Richard H

Apr 09, 2018

Superb

교육 기관: Чадов К Ю

Oct 12, 2017

Super

교육 기관: Mustafa W

Jan 10, 2016

Nice!

교육 기관: Dr. J D N

Aug 01, 2020

Good

교육 기관: Synack12

Mar 09, 2018

test

교육 기관: Lingning Z

Aug 17, 2019

挺不错

교육 기관: Mohammad I Q

Jul 07, 2020

e

교육 기관: Luis A A N

Mar 25, 2016

9

교육 기관: John M

Jan 04, 2016

T

교육 기관: Linda

Nov 07, 2015

V

교육 기관: Timothy K

Mar 17, 2020

This is the longest course that I have completed thus far on Coursera. I have to say, overall, this course was a comprehensive, intriguing and informative experience. The professor comes off as very engaging and knowledgeable. I would never tire of listening to his way of explaining things. He does a great job at breaking down events in history into digestible chunks that link together cohesively. He really made me see history as a series of events and decisions that all build up on one another. One particular aspect I appreciated was his use of art as examples. He did a great job selecting art pieces and contextualizing them to the topic we were covering. It definitely gave me a deeper sense of the concept that he was addressing. Moreover, I appreciated the fact that this wasn't as Euro-centric as a lot of world history courses tend to be. He introduced me to some things I either never heard of (King Leopold's atrocious plundering of the Congo) or things that have never really been fully fleshed out for me (the slave revolts in Haiti ). He does a great job at making those key connections that help you explain why it something happened. For example, how the Louisiana purchase was not just sold by France willy nilly but that it was due to their defeat in Haiti that led them to sell the territory to the United States.

Moving on to some cons that attributed to my 4-star rating, I'd like to point out two cons. The first is that I felt there wasn't much in the course besides watching the lectures. As insightful as they may be, I would have liked more reading material to follow up on topics discussed. Additionally, I would have liked discussion prompts here and there so the learner can make sense of the information by writing it out and discussing it with others. There were times I felt it was much too passive. I know there are discussion boards for this course, but it's not the same as them appearing after lectures like in other Coursera courses. Lastly, the other con that I'd like to mention is the way the quizzes are. A lot of the questions were about overly specific dry facts like numbers, percentages and dates. I would have appreciated more concept-checking questions to see because that's what can really help in assuring the content was received well.

Overall, I thought this is a great overview of some major transitions that all seem to lead into the significant clashes of the 20th century. I look forward to taking the follow up course and I thank the professor for taking his time to make all these lecture videos.

교육 기관: Marianne

Mar 25, 2016

Very interesting and intriguing, quizzes are a bit hard because they cover so much material so if you are a working individual I feel it's almost impossible to accomplish but it's nice for general knowledge.

Two notes-

First, it would be nice if the professor wouldn't use "get yourself comfortable" in the beginning of EACH video - it is a bit annoying.

Second, on quizzes & tests it's recommended that you omit the sentence "in the presentation" that starts EVERY question/quizz/test because obviously it is based on what we are presented in the videos so it's just time consuming, in my opinion.

Besides that, great for general knowledge, awesome teacher, I really enjoyed this course, thank you!

교육 기관: Ilyas T

Aug 05, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course for how history has been uniquely contextualized by the honorable professor. The reasons behind what happened have been enlightening. I am taking one 🌟 off from the rating for maybe involuntary but obvious downplaying of tyranny of colonialism and imperialism. The devastating effects of colonial era still continue in Africa, South Asia and Latin America; apparent from these regions being poorest in the world. Other than seemingly whitening of—or making appear less dark—the white man's black acts, the course is very informative.

교육 기관: Kimberly S

Sep 20, 2016

Good presentations. Enjoyed the lectures, good information, and good illustrations and maps. I'm grateful to have this opportunity to learn about this period. Phillip Zelikow takes you through the history through time zones, while visiting various ideas and happenings around different parts of the world, and how they are interconnected. I would like to see some reading material for further understanding (not just suggested books). Overall, I would recommen

교육 기관: Ila P

Oct 12, 2016

It took a little while to get interested in the course, but by the end of first week it began to get interesting. I liked the professor and his friendly style. It is definitely an overview of the major events of history. One can always find out details about events that one wants to know more about. This course gives a broad idea about world history and in a way helps us see what the future would be like. Because history does repeat itself.