Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,552개의 평가
376개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 366개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Sandra M

Nov 12, 2019

It is a very well analyzed view of history by grouping key concepts doctrines and sets of developments that are shaping the world leaders experiences decisions as well as the evolution of their societies. Much better than a strictly chronological historic recitation. Compliments to Pr Zelikow.

교육 기관: Luz V

Oct 08, 2019

Excellent Professor and material. I enjoyed it very much

교육 기관: Germán K

Nov 26, 2019

Un gran análisis de la historia moderna que nos lleva a volver a verla de manera global. Muy interesante para ampliar lecturas sobre los distintos temas.

교육 기관: Maria F

Feb 13, 2017

Truly wonderful. I loved this course from beginning to end. The presentations give you just the right amount of information, without overwhelming you with facts and dates.

And there's Part 2, which is equally great.

I thoroughly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Alison B

Aug 21, 2019

Great course. Very informative and presented in an interesting and thoughtful way-thank you. Can't wait to get started on Part 2!

교육 기관: Vanessa T W Q

Aug 21, 2019

Informative, engaging and amusing at times, terrific content!! Crash course to Modern history. I understand colonial and imperial rule better now.

교육 기관: Qiyu T

Aug 23, 2019

Very well organized content! I love Professor Zelikow's way of teaching, he really draws the big picture of the global history and helps me to understand not only on what happened, but also why that happened. I can link what he teaches in the nowadays world. I would love to continue studying with him!

교육 기관: Federico C

Aug 22, 2019

I could stay listening to that guy for months.

교육 기관: Huda J

Sep 13, 2019

An absolutely complete and rich course carefully prepared by Professor Philip Zelikow. I feel privileged for attending his outstanding lectures. Grateful for learning such rich and complete content on World History. This course is going to make an enormous difference in my career and my life.

교육 기관: Emely S

Oct 06, 2019

Very clear, informative, useful.

교육 기관: JG

Apr 25, 2019

Philip is a god.

교육 기관: Alexandre Z

Jun 08, 2016

Very good, concise, relevant and with an excellent presentation. Gives you the big picture on history and also offers an insight in the decision making that shaped world history. Also it offers a big picture, focusing not only on Western history, but on China, Africa, India, Japan, Latin America and the Muslim world.

Excellent!

교육 기관: Michael G

Jun 17, 2017

Superb course. Loved it. Learnt so much. I was taking the "free" course on coursera and was disappointed that I could not take the exams each week. Other free courses have enabled me to do this. Otherw

교육 기관: Kjell N

Jan 24, 2018

Great course covering an important period in World history.

교육 기관: Raissa L

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

교육 기관: vincent p

Dec 29, 2016

Great course. I really enjoyed it

교육 기관: Georgi S

Jan 11, 2017

A truly excellent fascinating course!

교육 기관: nizza

Dec 17, 2015

wonderfull and very interesting course. Thanks you so much. Francois

교육 기관: ALEXANDRE P N

Mar 31, 2016

The classes are very good and objective. It helps a lot undestand the present world

교육 기관: Lazaros A

Jun 10, 2017

In the 10 years, I reckon I've spent about as much time doing courses as being asleep... I've done University degrees (graduate degree, 2 masters and a PhD), personal development courses, courses on sports and activities (sailing, long distance swimming, gliding) and, in the last few monts, I must have done about 11 MOOCs.

This course goes straight into my top 10 all time favorite courses list, and is definitely the one I enjoyed the most in 2017. The course helped me understand how societies and economies have evolved over the years, which is a prerequisite for appreciating the basis on which modern societies are built on. The course is delivering by a prominent academic who knows what he's talking about. There is a good flow from lecture to lecture and the presenter makes a solid effort to presents facts, rather than his own (or others') judgements.

All in all, I felt this is a great, eye-opening and thought provoking course, and I'd recommend everybody with an interest in politics, society and modern history to give it a shot.

교육 기관: Roman G

Dec 24, 2015

just a great course

교육 기관: Terry L L

Jan 21, 2017

I completed both parts of this course--a lot of work, but well worth the effort. My last formal history course was a two-semester sequence called "Modern Civilization," which I took as an undergraduate at UNC-Chapel Hill back in the late 1960s. It's amazing how much my perspective on history and studying history has changed over a half century.

It might be helpful for a student to have had some exposure to European and American history prior to taking this two-course sequence. A knowledge of world geography would also be beneficial. The quizzes in part 2 seemed to cover more material than the quizzes in part 1, which required me to change my study habits a bit. This two-part course, however, was well worth the time and money spent. In fact, I can't remember when I got so much out of such a modest purchase!

교육 기관: Yan D

Dec 15, 2016

It is a very useful and interesting course! Thank you very much

교육 기관: Joel R

Dec 11, 2015

Pretty good summary

교육 기관: Sheila C

Jan 05, 2018

Easy to understand