Chevron Left
The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,550개의 평가
376개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

최상위 리뷰

MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

필터링 기준:

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910의 366개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: rodrigo a m

Oct 26, 2015

Fantastic!!!

교육 기관: Joseph W

Dec 13, 2015

Very good course - ties many disparate threads together to make a cogent explanation of how and why the modern world came to be.

교육 기관: Ana C C

Oct 03, 2015

The course covers an extensive important period of time and in a very organized way. You never get lost. The quizzes are of remarkable level, very well-thought and never superficial. The way things get related and start making sense helped me get to another level in my knowledge of history. I will never study any subject without making reference to other important events that happened elsewhere. And will always refer my readings on this theme to what I learned in this course. Great chance to watch Professor Zelikow's classes from Brazil. Thanks Coursera!

교육 기관: Gabriel O M

Jan 08, 2017

This is a terrific course, amazing prevention,

but it does lack reading material that Virginia's full online course has,

it would be nice to have a deeper engamente with the subjects.

교육 기관: Freddy S

Oct 25, 2015

I found the course to be well structured, and striking an appropriate balance between insight and detail.

Well done.

교육 기관: Lazaros A

Jun 10, 2017

In the 10 years, I reckon I've spent about as much time doing courses as being asleep... I've done University degrees (graduate degree, 2 masters and a PhD), personal development courses, courses on sports and activities (sailing, long distance swimming, gliding) and, in the last few monts, I must have done about 11 MOOCs.

This course goes straight into my top 10 all time favorite courses list, and is definitely the one I enjoyed the most in 2017. The course helped me understand how societies and economies have evolved over the years, which is a prerequisite for appreciating the basis on which modern societies are built on. The course is delivering by a prominent academic who knows what he's talking about. There is a good flow from lecture to lecture and the presenter makes a solid effort to presents facts, rather than his own (or others') judgements.

All in all, I felt this is a great, eye-opening and thought provoking course, and I'd recommend everybody with an interest in politics, society and modern history to give it a shot.

교육 기관: Lisa S

Aug 01, 2016

I just audited this course for the fun of it with an interest in seeing patterns from the past in order to understand our present. I enjoyed the presentation and the professor's thematic approach and his relaxed conversational presentation style. I feel like I got exactly what I hoped to get out of it. I particularly found his use of images from the various countries and time periods helpful and memorable.

교육 기관: Nelson N

Jun 24, 2018

Still trying to make myself comfortable with so much insightful information.

교육 기관: Trevor W

Jan 01, 2017

Great course. Awesome professor.

교육 기관: Marina S

Nov 01, 2015

Excellent and very interesting course, professor Zelikow is great at explaining things systematically.

교육 기관: Aleksandr P

Sep 02, 2017

Awesome course an

교육 기관: Alexander Z

Sep 27, 2015

Great lecturer!

교육 기관: Aleksandr S

Feb 15, 2016

This is the way I wish history was taught everywhere.

교육 기관: Agim C

Jan 26, 2018

This is a excellent course.

To know in advance what happened during this period is advisable.

교육 기관: Adrian J

Oct 17, 2016

An important explanation of how the world transitioned to the modern, with its benefits and disadvantages.

교육 기관: Hilde K

Aug 17, 2016

Thoroughly engaging and Part 2 is even better. Not full of dates etc. just full of explanations for why things happened and why they could or couldn't have happened another way.

교육 기관: ALEXANDRE P N

Mar 31, 2016

The classes are very good and objective. It helps a lot undestand the present world

교육 기관: Beth G P

Jun 27, 2016

One of the single most interesting and useful courses I've ever taken. It definitely gave me a greater context for both history and for current events.

교육 기관: Antonios K

May 26, 2016

Excellent Professor!!! Not the same old boring history course! Prof. Zelikow really digs into history and poses the fundamental question "Why?"

교육 기관: Hilton B

Jan 19, 2016

Great course, very nice professor. Lots of content about one

교육 기관: Yannick K

Mar 20, 2016

Pr Zelikow is really a very fascianting professor.

교육 기관: Thomas P

Jun 17, 2016

An excellent overview of the subject with some fresh analysis by a top professor in the

교육 기관: Sebastian S

Oct 30, 2015

Thank you for teaching this course. It had been a wonderful experience :)

교육 기관: Barbara N

Jun 12, 2016

excellent

교육 기관: Robert-Jeroen V

Apr 27, 2016

Excellent course. Good overview of history, well taught, and very much worth the time and the effort.